Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas Aquinas School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Monterey Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $409,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

Not sure about the previous negative review. They probably weren't involved. Proud parent of my child. 3rd year in a row and wouldn't have him anywhere else. The principal is amazing. She is very educated, caring, and shows great leadership for the school. She greats everyone in the morning and after school by name. She remembers every child and parents name (my nephew's school,the principal doesn't remember his name). The office staff is very informative and courteous to every parent or visitor that comes in. Each teacher is outside in the morning and afternoon and takes the time to answer any concerns. My son's first year, he was struggling and right away the teacher offered to tutor herself. Nothing was charged extra. She just didn't want him to fall behind. They are up to date on technology. The computer lab is available and is offered as a class on certain days. Each grade is currently working on iPad's. They are able to look up books (library) or material for reports and discussion(with teacher's supervision of course on appropriate material). As long as you are involved you enjoy every minute. If not. Don't worry. There are parents ready 2 help & lend a hand
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

I luv the school. The principle and staff are great! Love the small community the school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

I have two children at this school and have been pleased with care and support I've received from their teachers. I love the small community atmosphere and it feels like family when I interact with the school community. Glad I made the choice to send my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

As an educator, I hold a M.A. in Education with credentials and pursuing a K-12 Educational Leadership Ed. Doctorial program. THE FACTS FAMILIES NEED TO KNOW...The school lacks in the following: 1 no support/tutoring services when students struggle in a subject 2 many non-credential teachers 3 no traditional library and computer lab 4 a large number in teachers/students turn around 5 goal next yr. is a 1:30 teacher: student ratio 6 large amount of students are not at grade level in Math, Science and Reading. 7 Both elementary and middle school have lunch and recess together and share the same restroom. 8 principal rationalizes the poor education quality. Teacher quality based on a classroom observation: 1 instructions and goals were unclear and rushed. 2 teacher lacked subject knowledge. 3 students unengaged. 4 1 Ex: My son raised his hand to seek help on assignment, teacher's response was "oh yeah you are on the right track" then walks away. 5 poor class rm. management. Also. 5 70% of classwork/ HW are not graded 6 Teacher communication is little and unclear. Because the principal and teacher have made a negative impact on my son's life, my family will not return to STA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

I'm in the eighth grade and we went to Washington D.C. - it was awesome!! STA has brought many new things to the school - IPads, smart boards, interactive programs for us to use in the computer lab and on our iPads. My sister is in the fourth grade and her teacher has her write a lot using the computer lab and her ipad. We also do our science projects using our iPads, laptops or computers - since the school has us use computers it has been great to come to school


Posted March 10, 2013

We made the decision to send my daughter to STA at 4 years old. It was between a preschool elsewhere and Transitional Kinder at St. Thomas Aquinas. My very shy 4 year old. Is the school too big? Is she still too little to go from 8am to 3pm? I was confident they would prepare her for Kindergarten. But what about everything else? What if she was too shy to ask to go to the bathroom? Would they make sure she ate her lunch? And my kid doesn't nap. Will she be okay? I have to share this - SHE LOVES IT! I had worried so much for nothing. She comes home and talks about her teachers and the friends she has made. She is always singing what she has learned in Music class. And the families here are so nice and helpful. It really is a wonderful community and the environment we want our family to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

This school has changed my life completely, I'm curently in 7th grade here at St. Thomas Aquinas. I love the staff and the people. We all no each other and are always talking to one another, i have learned so much of the 8 years been here (since kinder). If you send your children here then im sure your will be completely and abosalty happy. LOOK NO MORE..SEND YOUR CHILDREN HERE(:


Posted February 19, 2012

I love this school i also love the 7th grade writing teacher he's cool yes he is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted January 31, 2012

My child is currently attending STA and based on the quality of teachers, level of academics and moral leadership she will be very prepared for high school and the challenges ahead that our children will face in a competitive world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

St. Thomas Aquinas has been a great experience for my two sons. I really like that STA is a school that maintains a strong academic curriculum in a small school setting (avg class size is 22 students). I know that each of my sons receives the attention that he needs to effectively learn and develop. Such an attentive environment would not be possible in the overcrowded classrooms found in the surrounding public schools. Also, as a parent, I ve had the opportunity to interface with the principal and various STA staff. All of them are very approachable and are always interested in improving the curriculum and developing new enrichment programs. For example, STA has recently added an after school Drama Club and Cheerleading and will be adding more academic programs as a result of the move to a 200-day school year. I would really recommend attending one of STA s open house events or make an appointment to see what STA has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

Definitely a cut above others schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Activities are fun and easy to enjoy! I enjoy my writing class.


Posted November 9, 2010

Excellent! Friendly environment! I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Wonderful community setting. STA students are aware of moral values and decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

I like St. Thomas Aquinas school because it's close to where we live and I want my children to learn about catholic religion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

St. Thomas Aquinas in located in a great/safe area of Moterey Park. The kids here are a great big family. They not only grow academically but also religiously. The teachers and adminitrative staff are always available to assist and answer any questions that arise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

One child at STA. I am happy with its teachers, the programs and the principal. When one considers the alternatives: public school (no thank you), St . Stevens (cut backs & teacher lay offs no music or P.E) and St. Teresa in Alhambra has closed; this school is right on target. There is always room for improvement, but all in all I am pleased with the results. My kid tests consistently in the 98% percentile . There is no school that can force your kid to learn. A parent MUST take an active role. I find that allot of parents at this school as in other schools expect the teachers to do it all. It is totally unrealistic expectation. If you want exceptional results, be exceptional with your child!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

I have had one child graduate from this school, she is now taking honors course, we are so pleased on how prepared she was for H.S. I have two more kids at this school and they are doing good. My son likes sports and knows that he has to get good grades to be on the team. My youngest likes her teacher and is very happy, I feel my children are save and are learning. I will continue to keep my kids at this school as long as I afford it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

I enjoy this school the teachers are nice but the students not so much
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2009

My child is currently a kindergarten at STA. they hold a class of 18 ( not too sure if that makes my money worth spending at STA or not) but I do know that my childs experince there has been exceptional. Her Kinder teacher is great! my child is reading, writting, problem solving, is working on fractions, knows her prayers. I pay for my child to learne anything else is extra. As long as my child is learning and growing in a exceptable maner then if the lunch program is not that great or if the parents are snooby or if the classes are 2 to 3 children over..that makes no difference to me. Parents if you are involved in your child school and get to know your childs teacher as much as possible then I believe you will be satisfied...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 91%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6%
Asian 2%
White 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 South Atlantic Boulevard
Monterey Park, CA 91754
Phone: (323) 261-6583

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Meher Montessori School
Monterey Park, CA



Repetto Elementary School
Monterey Park, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT