Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 64 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


68 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


La Mesa Elementary School 2

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
This schools reputation is not deserved. There is a large population of military children that stay for a short time and boost the school's test scores. The higher scores are consistent year to year as every year there are new students that came from better schools. Local parents that value their children's education transfer their children to this school expecting great things. Almost immediately it is obvious the high test scores and good reputation are fluff. The class sizes are large. The teachers are hit or miss. Lunch time is a negative experience due to poor time management, overcrowding, and warnings that recess will be taken away. Their funding has been cut. They do not have a school nurse. Communication is poor. Orientation was three weeks into the school year and children were not allowed to attend. This school is right in the middle of a military neighborhood. Military.... That means they do not have grandparents that live nearby to watch the kids. The school completely ignores the needs of the military and local community. Sad.
1 person found this helpful

La Mesa Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
An open house where children are not welcome. That should tell you a lot about this pretentious, pedantic school. The first and only communication from the school at the start of the 2014-2015 year was a recorded phone call reminding parents that school started at 8am the following day. No class lists were posted until the morning school began. No chance to meet the teachers or look around the school grounds. THREE WEEKS after school started, they scheduled a back to school night for parents to meet their student's teacher and learn about classroom policies. But every flyer, recorded phone call, and note about it make it clear that the night is for parents only and children are not welcome. With a child in 4th, one in kindergarten, and a preschooler at home, we chose to skip it. The 1st parent teacher conferences are scheduled for one week after this back to school open house. The teachers are pedantic and overworked. A math sheet without a single problem wrong came home marked with a 0% and a giant F because apparently a correct answer doesn't count unless commas are in place. Who cares if the problems are solved correctly? NOT THE 4TH GRADE STAFF.
1 person found this helpful


La Mesa Elementary School 2

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
We moved into La Mesa for this school and have been sorely disappointed. Classes are huge (28-31) with one teacher. You will notice the school's issues as soon as you speak with the front office staff...every interaction was with rude ladies who made us feel like an inconvenience. Getting time with a teacher is next to impossible as is trying to communicate with them. The overall attitude is to get the kids through and if you are a parent raising issues you are ignored. There is a high turn over of students due to the military population being here for very short periods of time. Overall I do not at all recommend La Mesa and wish we had been warned before moving in the neighborhood for this school. stints. Overall the issues we expeetienced were

La Mesa Elementary School 4

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter had a very positive experience at La Mesa for 4th and half of 5th grade due to two superb teachers. Despite large class sizes (over 30 kids) and varying levels of academic background among students, these teachers managed to challenge all children appropriately. The teachers were caring and respectful and provided opportunities for students to do special projects (mission project, book reports, historical and biographical research, dioramas). One of the most exciting opportunities for 5th graders is the week long overnight trip to science camp in the Santa Cruz Mountains. The science lab program is a hidden gem of La Mesa. The instrument program was a big disappointment, starting in 5th grade and being very weak. The art program thrived due to parent volunteers helping out with the Art Docent program. The PTA does an amazing job trying to recruit volunteers to participate in fundraisers that pull in large amounts of the school's budget (e.g., the At&t Pro-AM). However, communication was lacking, and volunteers pleas were often last minute. This school deserves kudos for evolving in the face of constant student turnover.

La Mesa Elementary School 1

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
The principal should keep in mind that she is no longer a queen bee she used to be and that type of Californian valley girls that come out of her very often is just appalling. At her age and her level she should have gone around other States to see how well behaved educated ladies act and talk. Grow up for crying out loud!


La Mesa Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
We have been here for over 2 years. If you get a good teacher that cares about education then your ok. However I feel that a lot of the teacher have the mentality that they are kids and they should spend the day playing. I've been told that most teacher plan the curriculum for the day while the kids are on the playground, or at lunch. I have a second grader and they sometimes go all day without writing a sentence. How is that possible? They are on the playground or doing artwork more then they are in the classroom doing work. I'm very concerned that my kids will behind when we move from here.

La Mesa Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
It is a wonderful school with its teachers and staff personnel . My son is so happy with being a student of this school. Thanks

La Mesa Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
La mesa is wonderful. I am very happy with my daughter's kindergarten teacher. The parent involvement is also incredible.


La Mesa Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2013
- a parent
The school as well as the teachers and staff are wonderful. The teachers are willing top work with you.The PTA is great. So you have music, art, science lab and PE unlike most of the county. The PTA raises the money so that these extras go to our students. I recommend you get involved. So that LME can keep them. We were there 2 1/2 years and really enjoyed the time at LME. Class sizes are normal for CA and the academics are the best in the county. If your moving to NPS and are going to be in La Mesa Village LME is a great school!!

La Mesa Elementary School 2

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
La Mesa is just an overcrowded school, so much so that I'm not even sure if my daughter's teacher really knew her academic shortfalls or even her name. It was not academically challenging or stimulating enough; for the first time my daughter started vocally expressing how she disliked school, that it was boring, and not fun. We pulled her out and moved her to Stevenson. Big Big Big Difference!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Mesa Elementary School
1 La Mesa Way, Monterey, CA  93940
(831) 649-1872
Last modified La Mesa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
La Mesa Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top