Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Moraga, CA
Students enrolled: 60
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Orion Academy 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
My son has thrived during his 4 years at Orion Academy. With the guidance of teachers, psychologists, staff and administrators, my child will enter college with the academic, social and advocacy skills he needs to succeed as an Aspergers adult. Orion Academy has been life changing for our son and our family.

Orion Academy 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
This is amazing school. Our son has been at the school since he was in eighth grade. (Super 8 program). He is currently a Jr. and has found success here when all other private and public schools have failed him. Administration is very approachable and community is warm and close knit.


Orion Academy 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
My son will be successfully graduating from Orion Academy in May and attending college in the fall. Orion combines strong academics with social and life skills and the curriculum meets all requirements for any University. THere are psychologists on staff that meet with student groups on a daily basis and teach social skills and self regulation techniques. Classes are small, 4 - 8 students, and very structured. The PTO is strong and parents are able to be involved planning family and student social events, such as Prom, Bowling night, Speaker night, Graduation, and an annual family picnic/auction. Students learn independence and upper classmen are required to cook family meals, get to and from school using public transportation, hold a summer internship that is arranged and monitored by a staff "transitions" psychologist, go through the driver's permit process, write college application essays, write a resume and participate in mock job interviews. Orion has prepared my son for life after high school, and given him the tools to be successful in life.

Orion Academy 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
My son is very happy at Orion. I was worried that the classes might be dumbed down. This is not the case. The small classes really facilitate learning and he has made significant improvement in his writing skills. The teachers are fantastic and he responds to the personalized attention. Social activities are not numerous but everyone is included and valued and he participates as much, if not more, as he would at any other high school. Parents are wonderful, eclectic and very welcoming. A truly caring environment for students and parents alike with high character and academic expectations.

Orion Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
Orion Academy has been a life-changing experience for our daughter. Your program has allowed her to come out of the shell that she crawled into during middle school. Her social confidence is improving; she enjoys school again, is academically challenged, and values the friendships that she has made at Orion. She has also learned to accept and to appreciate herself as someone with Asperger s and is learning to value the strengths that her unique skills offer. She adores all of her teachers and comes home with funny and interesting stories about things that are happening at school. We are so fortunate to have moved to the Bay Area, where our daughter can attend a school where she is understood and valued.


Orion Academy 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a community member
Orion is the best school by far of any program serving spectrum teenagers - creating a community, providing education that is more than just classes, challenging kids to push themselves. The Dog class, Personal Projects class and the new Seminar class are all examples of innovation at a school that continues to look for more for our kids.

Orion Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
Orion Academy provided an excellent learning environment for our son. The program is structured and well organized. In addition to the academic experience, Orion goes above and beyond to prepare students for higher education and the work world with their innovative Transitions Program. Students social skills and life skills are increased by having them participate in many activities such as the "State of the School Day" and the Senior Challenge, just to name a few. They also learn to use public transportation, to shop, to cook, banking, and many other life skills to facilitate their independence. We were involved with our sons education through Community Meetings every six weeks. On these days we observed his personal project presentations and attend parent/student meetings with his teachers, the psychologist and director to evaluate his progress. Our son thrived during his four years at Orion Academy which in turn changed our families lives for the better. He went from a struggling High School student to a confident young man and college student.

Orion Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
My son attended Orion Academy for four years and it was the best money we ever spent. Orion is structured to totally support and complement the learning style of students with Aspergers, NLD and other similar disorders. That coupled with the wonderful community provided for the students AND the families made it the perfect place for us. My son flourished and continues to do so in college. Thank you thank you thank you.


Orion Academy 1

Posted October 26, 2012
- a community member
Administration is intimidating, and difficult to communicate with.While a good school for some, there are way better schools out there for students with Aspergers and NLD.

Orion Academy 5

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
My daughter loves Orion and for the first time has real friends and less anxiety about school. We couldn't be happier. Just wish she could stay here for college!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orion Academy
350 Rheem Boulevard, Moraga, CA  94556
(925) 377-0789
Last modified Orion Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Orion Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top