Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

369 students|Newark Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John F. Kennedy Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
Really like the new school Principal and teachers. There is tremendous parent involvement. Both my kids really like this school.

John F. Kennedy Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
My nephew's teacher was positive and encouraging and helped him to be excited about school.


John F. Kennedy Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2012
- a community member
The pricipal spends her time wandering around or watering plants instead of doing her job. She is incompetent and should be replaced.This used to be a good school, when my children went there, but not any more. They do not teach phonics in kindergarten, but expect a child to be able to read when they start first grade. They will not follow a 504 plan for a child with a learning disorder, or give them extra help. Be prepared to hire a tutor if you want your child learn and have some self esteem.

John F. Kennedy Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is been going to this school since Kindergarten and we absolutely love it here! Our son will be starting this coming year and we're very excited about it!

John F. Kennedy Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
Kennedy is a wonderful school and we've been so happy there. There are always improvements that can be made and as others have said, stronger leadership from the principal is needed. That being said, considering the terrible state that our schools are in and the lack of funding that seems to get worse with each new year, this school does a LOT with very little. Our children's needs are being met in the classroom, there is fantastic parent involvement and there are so many extra activities for the kids and families to attend. We were worried when we first entered the public school system, but have been more that satisfied and happy with our experience with Kennedy.


John F. Kennedy Elementary School 3

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
strong agree, the main reason we movedout because the Principal's poor leadership and bulling. The principal no skills, no displine for these problems.

John F. Kennedy Elementary School 2

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
Great parent involvement and good teachers. Lots of nice kids and families in this community. Very poor leadership by Principal. No discipline program in place. Test scores are dropping every year. Big problems with bullying on playground. High teacher turnover. District needs to replace the principal if they want to turn this school around.

John F. Kennedy Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
I love this school!!Its SOOOO cool!!All the teachers are nice especially Mrs.Valerie Smith.She always pushes her studens to do their best and never give up!!I look up to her!She is my role model!


John F. Kennedy Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2008
- a parent
My child has attended Kennedy since the third grade and I am extremely happy with each and every teacher she has had. Her 3rd grade teacher won honors as teacher of the year from the school district. All the teachers care about the students and make them feel proud of their accomplishments. The school seems very safe and all the kids look to be very happy. Kennedy involves families in many aspects such as productions, book faires, book making, walk a thon, winter treasures, harvest festivals and more. It's a wonderful place to send my child.

John F. Kennedy Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2007
- a parent
Excellent programs, especially for young kindergarteners. I have had 2 of my children start kindergarten at this school and it really developed them quickly to adapt to school. Great music program and lots of fun extracurricular activities. Parent involvement is great. When attending field trips, dont be surprised if every single parent shows up..

Nearby schools

John F. Kennedy Elementary School
35430 Blackburn Drive, Newark, CA  94560-1312
(510) 818-3400
Last modified John F. Kennedy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top