Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Newcastle, CA
Students enrolled: 176

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newcastle Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
We are in our 3rd year at this school. We LOVE it. I work in a school within our local district and I still choose to charter my kids in to Newcastle. We have a new AMAZING principal this year and so many amazing teachers. Low class size is a huge thing here as well as communication. All students are treated great, and the older students really take care of the younger ones. Sports is building with our amazing athletics director and I cant wait to see all the wonderful things that are yet to come! Really that small town, everyone is welcome kind of place. MANY MANY families charter in from outlying areas, even Sacramento and Colfax just to be at our amazing school.

Newcastle Elementary School 2

Posted July 18, 2011
- a community member
The superintendent is ruthless. She forms so called committees and steers the decisions her way. Some of her clones actually think they contribute to things she has already decided. Morale has been down since her first year and the Board of Trustees does nothing about it. They are not receptive to staff complaints as she has them in her pocket. Come on people, listen to someone other than the Superintendent and her hand picked click.


Newcastle Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
. Newcastle School consists of exceptionally dedicated, talented, diligent and compassionate educators. The school's standards of academic instruction, discipline policy, follow through, community involvement, and fairness toward all students are excellent. Most educators today can "talk the talk" of implementing practices that are current, highly effective and fair. Yet, it is only at Newcastle that we have experienced educators actually "walking the walk" of providing a truly outstanding education for all students. My daughter has internalized the importance of striving to improve in all areas, and the hopefulness that comes from being part of a school that values fairness, equality and opportunity, no matter who your parents are. There is absolutely no bullying of any sort permitted, ignored or denied at Newcastle Elementary School! She can now move into high school as the best that she can be as far as her morale and her preparation are concerned.

Newcastle Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
We just completed our first year at Newcastle Elementary School and we love it! Parent involvement is fantastic. The PTO does a great job of trying to do one big fundraiser, rather than nickel and diming us to death. There is a wonderful dad s volunteer group that helps out too. The teachers and administration are very proactive. I have had great communication with my son s teacher, she will even email me with updates. The support for technology is fantastic, which is especially impressive in light of the financial pinch the state has put them in through increased regulations and deferment of funding. In response to earlier reviews (many are out-of-date): Safety has been a big focus in recent years. There is a lot of new security both inside and outside of the school. Great attention is given to current threats, such as cyber-bullying and drugs. Educational events are sponsored for parents too. The school fosters a great community spirit, through local field trips and community service graduation requirements. This is an excellent place to send your students, and we wouldn t go anywhere else.

Newcastle Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2011
- a parent
This school has a great enriched enviroment! Coming from a private parochial school enviroment, we were not sure what to expect... What a great change to excited teachers and teaching enviroments. My children came in far behind in Math, writing skills and reading. Their grades went from being C-D students to Honor Roll Students within the first year! The teachers and staff went above and beyond to help them catch up and to make sure their adjustment went smoothly! And in this very tight educational budget. recessive economy, it's wonderful to have a principal that goes after every dime, grant, and funding she is able to apply for! Mrs. Daugherty takes the time to get to know this children and is also a presence in their classrooms, she is not just an administrators! They also have a very strong anit bullying atmosphere and problems are addressed immediately! With wonderful communication between, teachers, staff and administrators!


Newcastle Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Newcastle Elementary School 3

Posted January 13, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Newcastle Elementary School 1

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
Principal: she will pick and choose student/kids depend on your income. Teacher quality is great. Safety: is big issued to this school for so many years.


Newcastle Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
Newcastle is a wonderful school. We have been there 2 years and love it. I went to the open house before we attended and couldn't get in the classroom because there were so many parents. My son loves the school. There is outstanding parent participation and constant efforts to communicate with the parents. keep

Newcastle Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2007
- a parent
Due to the influx of students who do not live within the school district boundaries, Newcastle is not the 'small town' school we had hoped it would be. I believe they are inheriting problem students from other districts.Also, there seems to be a lot of teacher turn-over.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newcastle Elementary School
8951 Valley View Drive, Newcastle, CA  95658
(916) 663-3307
Last modified Newcastle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newcastle Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top