Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 53 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


83 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Corona Del Mar High School 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
I love CdM, because it's a community school, and living in Newport Beach, the kids that I've grown up with on my street are the kids in my classes here. Sports are a big enough deal to be really fun if you're interested, but there are lots of other ways to get involved, like clubs (Best Buddies!) and the four leadership groups. Academics are good, but not great. Freshman year is pretty rough. It goes uphill from there, but the freshmen and middle schoolers generally get stuck with the bad teachers. And insider tip: if you're planning on taking honors bio, try and get in with janet dichiro - over 90% of the class does her study group, and it fills up really quickly! You'll want it, because the teachers have no clue what they're talking about. Most of the classes are pretty good, but there are little tips like the honors bio study group for everything. If you put in the effort, you can get what you need. That said, you can also skate by pretty easily if that's your objective.

Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
i think this school gets a superficial rating based on it's location. I warn parents of children entering from many of the really solid elementary schools into this program. the touting of their academics is based on a philosophy of teaching by fear rather than teaching by encouragement. This may be a wonderful school if you have a child with disciplinary issues however if you have a child that generally follows rules and behaves they will be subject to the harsh scare tactic methods. The teachers are sub-standard and the students are generally out of control.


Corona Del Mar High School 2

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
I graduated from this school, and now my daughter is entering 9th grade, after 2 years of (same campus) CdM Jr.Hi. academically, it is great, however a child's "education" is not all about grades. the school is RUN by parents who are wealthy & as spoiled & undisciplined as their kids. There have been numerous scandals (check the news) resulting in NO (or minimal) consequences for the serious offenses committed by popular or athlete students. teachers who are expect discipline & accountability are bullied by the parents, while lazy ones lauded. We just had BOTH the principal & VP give notice, in the same week. you need to seriously weigh your priorities before choosing this school...

Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
We have never been so disappointed by a public school before. We have lived in many different states and thought that Newport Beach, California would offer our daughter a decent education. We were so wrong. Please note that we are talking about the Middle School here. The teachers are uncaring and unprepared. The principal never responds to our issues, despite endless letters and e-mails of complaint. From the very first day at the school, Ms. Bloomfield (Algebra) was purposefully unhelpful and unkind to our daughter. It was such a negative experience for us at CdM that we withdrew our daughter before the end of the year was over. Not only that, but we've all decided that she is not ready for high school and so we will do 8th grade all over again (with a mix of homeschooling along the way). By trade I am a public school teacher and I have never been so confused by the actions of the majority of adults at CdM. Let's just say that they are all too happy not to be able to help you in any way. A grave mistake we made choosing CdM. Would not recommend it for any Middle School aged child.

Corona Del Mar High School 4

Posted May 08, 2011
- a community member
I really enjoyed this school socially speaking, because of the large student body, there was a group of friends for every student to join and eat with during lunch or break. The education quality was also not too shabby, to say the least. My only gripe with this school was the bullying I experienced throughout.


Corona Del Mar High School 3

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
CDM is a great school for high achievers but misses the mark when it comes to children with learning disabilities. Some of the very teachers (RSP) who specialize in helping the children actually create more disadvantaged students. There are some teachers that shouldn't be allowed to teach children with disabilities because they either don't know how or don't care. Also, when a child with learning issues is put into the general population the teachers seem to be unaware unless the parent contacts every teacher and is constantly reminding them of the situation. The social culture at CDM is also very cruel to teenagers who don't fit the mold. I think the school needs to address the bullying and harassment more. Too many rich and popular kids get away with heinous behavior at the expense of others and it needs to stop.

Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted June 30, 2010
- a parent
The social environment at CdM is frightening and this has been demonstrated by several different events over the last two years. Sex education is severely lacking, and the community there (including the PTA) does not support or even protect students.

Corona Del Mar High School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Because the teachers, coaches and all staff are really into the students, their education and want to make it is fun as posible while still learning!


Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted February 11, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Corona Del Mar High School 2

Posted November 13, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corona Del Mar High School
2101 Eastbluff Drive, Newport Beach, CA  92660
(949) 515-6000
Last modified Corona Del Mar High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Corona Del Mar High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 83 reviews.