Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
408 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Harbor Day School is hosting a Community Open House on Saturday, October 22 2016 from 9:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m. on the Harbor Day School campus. Meet faculty, administrators, students, and parents as you tour the campus and learn about Harbor Day School’s innovative programs and student life. Visitors will watch a robotics demonstration, create an art project, and participate in Makerspace activities. This event is for the entire family! Please register at www.harborday.org/openhouse.
June 02, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harbor Day School
no rating

Posted June 02, 2016
- a school leader
Harbor Day School is hosting a Community Open House on Saturday, October 22 2016 from 9:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m. on the Harbor Day School campus. Meet faculty, administrators, students, and parents as you tour the campus and learn about Harbor Day School’s innovative programs and student life. Visitors will watch a robotics demonstration, create an art project, and participate in Makerspace activities. This event is for the entire family! Please register at www.harborday.org/openhouse.

Harbor Day School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
After an extensive amount of research on local schools, we applied to Harbor Day, St. Margaret's and Pegasus for our kids. I believe that each of the three schools has a lot to offer. We ultimately picked Harbor Day. I'm glad to be able to say that we have been extremely happy with the decision and never once looked back on it. We have three children ranging from grades 1 - 6 at Harbor Day. The academic education that they are receiving is stellar, from the reading and writing program, to the newly implemented Singapore math curriculum, to the technology offerings, to the new STEAM design course, to all of the art/music/library/woodshop/PE classes that are the icing on the cake. I feel that they are receiving a very well-balanced, well-rounded education delivered in a way that is appropriate for them as individuals. The class sizes are small (22 students per class with a lead teacher and assistant) and I have been impressed by how close our children feel to their teachers and the "above and beyond" efforts I have seen from the teachers. The faculty is fully engaged and we have found them to be excellent across the board. Harbor Day offers a very rigorous curriculum and we have seen both the workload and the demands increase substantially on our 6th grader. She and her classmates were well prepared for the challenges of 6th grade, however, as with each increase in grade level the demands and requirement of the student are increased (in a very measured, supportive way). But most importantly, the school instills a real love of learning (something that I feel as a parent is perhaps the most critical thing that I can try to give to my child) and my kids are happy to go to school every day. The character education program is a big part of their lives and we have been able to take advantage of a number of opportunities for volunteer projects with classmates. The blue/gold competition, Harbor Day families, after-school sports, programming/app making competition (which Harbor Day has won three years in a row), student council, Maker Space activities, musical performances and other traditions have given our kids the opportunity to explore many different areas of interest. They have made good friends and so have we. We feel grateful to be a part of such a warm, supportive, friendly community and I highly recommend the school.


Harbor Day School 5

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
I wanted to write this review, as just a year ago when we were starting the school application process for elementary schools, we felt somewhat overwhelmed in making the right school choice with so many different and good options in the area. And frankly, I felt a duty to others going through the evaluation process, since some of the prior reviews on this site do not reflect the experience we have had so far at Harbor Day School. We have been really happy at HDS. The current Head of School is very thoughtful. She has a long history with the school and makes those new to the community immediately feel part of the family through her warm and welcoming demeanor and interactions with the children and families. The school is excellent academically, yet the work load we've seen so far in the lower school still feels age-appropriate. Standards are high, but the joy in learning is emphasized. The workload does ramp up as the children get older and they enter high school very well prepared. We have found classes like art, STEM, foreign language, technology, music, library, ample playground and PE periods create a nice balance and an enriching curriculum each week. Another important element for us has been HDS' focus on creating a family atmosphere for the kids. We have appreciated how kind and supportive the upper school students are to the lower school students, and in turn how the lower school students look up to the older ones as role models. In addition, we live in the Newport Beach area and we assign a huge value to our child attending a school that is part of our own community, and it also means it is easier for us as a family to be involved and present for school activities. And we have met many great and down to earth families, many of whom are very involved in the school through volunteer opportunities. Harbor Day has quickly become a big part of our family life and our daughter is thrilled and excited to go to school every day. It offers excellent academics, a small, close-knit environment that weaves traditional values and innovative teaching together. We highly recommend the school.

Harbor Day School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted December 17, 2015
- a school leader
Character development is seamlessly integrated into the curriculum by focusing on the Six Pillars of Character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and good citizenship. Its consistency of language has helped our students and faculty internalize each pillar. Every few weeks a new pillar is discussed and lived out. Modeling and reinforcing are constant objectives. Giving students these tools will equip them with the knowledge and power to be productive citizens in the future. The study of character and its pillars has taken on many forms kindergarten through grade eight.

Harbor Day School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My two children graduated from Harbor Day a few years ago. Sending them to HDS was the best decision we've made. They both feel like they learned more at Harbor Day and had better teachers there than anywhere else. They developed great communication and study skills, and built a good foundation in all of their subjects. In high school they felt much better prepared for the challenges of AP classes than their classmates because they knew how to stay organized and study effectively. They made lifelong friends at Harbor Day School, and they still communicate with some of their Harbor Day teachers. Harbor Day School is certainly the best in school in the area.


Harbor Day School 1

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
Harbor Day has practically ruined my child's life. It's uneffective methods of imposing character traits on their students does just the opposite of what it's meant to do, which is produce kind, compassionate, and bright students. Harbor Day does none of that. If I hadn't already paid tuition, I would never have my child step foot in that school again. Overall, Harbor Day is an awful place to send your children.

Harbor Day School 1

Posted March 20, 2014
- a teacher
The people who go to Harbor Day, stand by it with conviction because of the over $20k price tag per child. This validates them. Putting money aside, if HD is going to attempt to compete with the best private schools back east, which they claim they can, then they should hold their students accountable for their character...just like back east. Meaning, high tuition = personalized curriculum, excellent moral and character building of the students, and elite educational opportunities. None of these happen at HD. The children leave at the end of 8th grade with a chip on their shoulder; certainly not sweet nor unassuming. These children are bread from day one to compete not within themselves, but with their peers, creating a cut-throat mentality and vibe. Girls are ostracized and segregated from day one, as taught by their Mommies, and boys are programmed to be an athlete....even at the expense of needing to be tutored 4 days a week because they are struggling, at least they are an athlete. We pay for the culture, not just the academics at a private school. One the 8th graders wrote with her grad picture that she wanted to be an OC housewife when she grows up. Need I say more??

Harbor Day School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
I love Harbor Day. It is a warm, welcome environment where everyone and everything quickly becomes familiar. The academics are unbeatable for those who want a challenge, but they also have an incredible art program if academics aren't as much of a focus. I loved knowing that at Harbor Day, the education was the best there is. Especially the English and Foreign Language programs are incredible and easily give all HDS students a one or two year head start on kids from public schools.


Harbor Day School 5

Posted November 04, 2012
- a parent
Harbor Day is an amazing school! The teachers are so caring and passionate, the class sizes are fairly small so the students get the special attention, their English Department is probably what I'm most satisfied with. The way they teach, especially in writing massively helps the students grow as writers. Everyone is so friendly, they offer some great electives as well as outdoor education/field trips for each grade!

Harbor Day School 3

Posted September 07, 2011
- a parent
Harbor Day could be a great school if it wasn't being dragged down by the alumni. I don't consider teaching to the middle exceptional. ...It's lazy. Harbor Day needs more young, bright, excited, creative teacher! Kids should be inspired by the teachers and staff....A true lack of leadership. HDS needs to go bak and re-read it's own mission statements.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harbor Day School
3443 Pacific View Drive, Newport Beach, CA  92625
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (949) 640-1410
Last modified Harbor Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top