Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corvallis Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Norwalk

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $250,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,560.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2011

This school has outstanding, amazing, wonderful teachers. I am a student who graduated 2010 and just would like to say that I am speechless to how Corvallis has helped me in so many ways. I am thankful to have gone to this school that has made me better prepared for the rigors of high school!


Posted September 2, 2009

This year we have a new principal. Mr. Easton. He is from another NLMUSD middle school. We will be working hard to raise scores this year. We will need the help of all our parents by supporting students with opportunities to work at home in a quiet area, making sure they get plenty of sleep and nutrition. We have breakfast at the school so get them to school in time for it. We offer afterschool help, that's needed to get our students' grades back up to par. Please arrange for help at these times so they aren't left behind. When they get into trouble, help them make better decisions in the future. They don't come with a manual. They are still young adults under construction. I love teaching at Corvallis and I look forward to meeting you.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2008

Corvallis is a great school. There is a music program which my son loves, the teachers are great they keep me up to date on my student progress. Corvallis teachers are great at motivating students. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I'm a student at Corvallis Middle School, and I have to say that this is the best school I've ever been too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

Before I enrolled here in Corvallis,I thought that the BEST school that I have ever been to was South Ranchito Elementary School. But fortunately,Corvallis Middle School has proven me wrong.Even though if I have stayed here for only one year...THIS is the best school that I've ever been to!By the way,my name is Anne...and if it wasn't for Corvallis and all it's teachers,staff,and students...I wouldn't have had amazing friends and a very strong education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2006

I was a student at corvallis middle school last year and I have to say that I love it. I went there for three years and those were one of the best years of my life.There are a lot of things that students could do to get involved. When theres a problem the counselors take care of it. Because of this a lot of fights were stopped.The school has wonderful teachers. I was left in tears the last day of school I didn't want to move on to high school. when you go in the school you right away feel welcomed.Teachers do more than teach they become your family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2006

Since my daughter started at Corvallis I have seen and increase in the standards of the students, falcuty and school's campus. This year the PTA has had the wonderful support of our new principal Mr. Fraijo which has enabled the parents to participate more actively in the school and provide better resourses to our school, students and partents. I have truely enjoyed my experience at Corvallis and although my daughter will enter into High School next year, I will continue to be an active parent & community leader so that the children of this community will continue to improve in their academics and community involvement. We have a great bunch of kids and we have a terrific group of parents who truly care about the students and their educational needs. We must invest in our kids today and we will receive the benefits in the future. sincerely, L. Perri
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

I am a proud parent of a Corvallis student. The attention and the school education that my daughter has received is more that I and my child had expected. The daily homework that my daughter had contributed to exceptional grades and good test scores. I want to thank the teachers and staff for all of the valued time they take to improve the lives of the future generation!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 23, 2005

Corvallis a good school. The principle cares greatly for the students and the staff. There is a music program, along with sports activities such as basketball, and soccor. The parents are rather involved.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2004

My son came home today telling me the encouraging things Corvallis MS is doing to motivate them to do well on the Testing. He was motivated to try his best and that made me feel good. Thank You Corvallis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

My child has nothing but good things to say about Corvallis Middle School. We just moved here from Los Alisos because they have no academic foundation. My daughter thinks thats the best school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

This is the best school ever!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

753

Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

753

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
24%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
41%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
9%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females55%
Males33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant education47%
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students27%
Females32%
Males21%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability28%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only28%
Migrant education18%
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate19%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students81%
Femalesn/a
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females58%
Males48%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant education57%
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students43%
Females45%
Males41%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant education27%
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students58%
Females60%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate51%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females47%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students21%
Females28%
Males16%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Non-economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disability4%
Students with no reported disability26%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only23%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate19%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students45%
Females44%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant education36%
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students43%
Females41%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant education27%
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 87% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Black 4% 6%
White 3% 26%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bob Easton
Fax number
  • (562) 863-4755

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11032 East Leffingwell Road
Norwalk, CA 90650
Website: Click here
Phone: (562) 868-2678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT