Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anna M. Glazier Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Dixon she is amazing! She is well educated and she is patient with students. She had faith that the kids will improve just fine. She knows how to handle each students uniqeness.

Anna M. Glazier Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
I like that the principle is determined to encourage parents & students to get more involved!


Anna M. Glazier Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
I love this school! I have 2 children attending this school, by September it will be 3 kids. I heard through family members that this school was average and "not good enough" for their kids. I completely disagree! The principle us sweet, and she interacts with ALL the children and parents. There is a sense of community between the parents which is important because everyone looks out for eachothers kids. Everyone knows eachother. The kids like their school. The two issues have though are somethings that can be "fixed". First, theres a tall lady, cant recall her name, never smiles, she seems like shes in a bad mood 24/7. Shes been at this school for years; ive seen how she interacts with students and shes very rude! The way she speaks makes us feel dumb. They should have someone else who actually loves their job there. Lani & Rosemary are so sweet! I trust these ladies with my kids!! The last issue is the substitutes; one in particular, she is also a parent at Glazier. She has long hair with the meanest stink face. She isnt friendly and stand-offish. The kids in class cant make a sound without her writing them up. If she dislikes being a sub I dont see the point in her being there. Every single time she subs i get a complaint. We need new subs please! Overall, Glazier is a great school it has improved greatly!

Anna M. Glazier Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
i am extremely satisfied with this school my kids learned so much from their great teachers

Anna M. Glazier Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
I currently (year 2010) have two of my kids attending Glazier Elementary school, and teachers are amazingly great with all their school programs and activities. My oldest son, for example, who is a fifth grader has been attending many field trips and well as my first grade son. Both of them started Kindergarten there. My oldest daughter, who's in High School student, also went there for two years. With her, I had exceptional devouted teachers. Prior to having her attend Glazier, she went to two different elementary schools before I settled down in Norwalk. Based on I can see the difference in the level of education quality. The LAUSD Hobbart Middle school has an outstanding preschool program. The Reseda Middle School were OK. But Glazier has the best teachers and their field trips are great. I myself have gone with my daughter and sons to a few. Great school.


Anna M. Glazier Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
I went to Glazier school it was fun I remember all my teachers. They all had their own uniqueness. My daughter attended there and I was involved as much as I could be for a working mother. Now my grandaughter is there! (She has some of my daughters teachers), Three generations and all wonderful experiences with the teachers and office staff! Thank you Glazier School

Anna M. Glazier Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2007
- a parent
I have two children attending this school. I volunteer here quite often and find the teachers and staff to be wonderful. Someone here mentioned we have a new principal and I believe she is doing awesome and the children love her. The PTA was also mentioned and I know it's had it's share of problems but it needs more parent involvement so those parents that complain about it should not just join it but remain acitive in it. There are so many different opportunities to help out with and the more people to help the better. Everyone has to remember we are doing it for the kids and not for each other. I encourage everyone to get active in the PTA.

Anna M. Glazier Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2007
- a teacher
Many things have changed over the years. Glazier has many parent volunteers doing various things in the school. The teachers are great and the office staff is very friendly and helpful. The principal is new this year 2007-08 and she has been great working with everyone. Glazier to me is a family school which means that we have had past students come to enroll their children or grandchildren. It's nice to see that they still live in the area. The District wide Literacy program is great and students are really understanding what they read. Glazier is on an alternative calendar (a little different than the traditional). Students have 4 weeks in the Winter, 3 weeks in the Spring and only 6 weeks in the Summer (instead of a 2 and 1/2 months in the summer). The calendar is really good.


Anna M. Glazier Elementary School 4

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
I attended this school from K to 7th grade. Now my children are attending this school. I have had great teachers for my children. My only concern as well as for other parents is the PTA. I stopped participating because it was out of control. With the new principal it looks like things are being more fare now.

Anna M. Glazier Elementary School 3

Posted April 01, 2007
- a parent
I had a good experience before my youngest went to this school. I had a very hard time getting them to take the assessment test on my child, he has ADD, and I feel they wasted 1 1/2 years of my child educational years, by not taking my request seriously, now 2 years later we still straggle, not by the special education team, great teachers, or my involvement in this challenging road we have to face, but the little assistance they have from the district, district wide, special education kids did not meet their goals, extra curriculum activities have been focus in many occasions on kids that could be 'well behave' in such activities and not on the assistance they desperately need. I hope they reconsider and give our special kids an opportunity to develop fully. Need more art, music, better food and another recess many teachers volunteer their own time afterschool.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anna M. Glazier Elementary School
10932 East Excelsior Drive, Norwalk, CA  90650-4631
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (562) 863-8796
Last modified Anna M. Glazier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top