Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chabot Elementary School 3

Posted February 05, 2016
- a student
As one reviewer expressed, grades K-2 are amazing for students. My child is now in the 3rd grade and my feelings and views have dramatically changed. The principle is neither engaging socially with students or parents. This is based on my observation as well as feedback from other parents. Academically my child is being challenged and thriving. What concerns me is the lack involvement from the principle when it comes to physical and dangerous situations involving students at Chabot. I have been in conversations with parents and they've expressed frustration with the schools lack of action when it comes to certain students being physically aggressive with others. Situations like this create an unsafe environment for students. This school lacks diversity and empathy for students of color.

Chabot Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Yes it does do that. Sometimes it's not a positive thing. Chabot students do play a lot of sports. There is a field right behind the school.


Chabot Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Bullying would not happen if the students had self respect for them selfs and respect for others. Comes down to the parents at chabot to teach there kids respect for others.

Chabot Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The make up of the school tends to be upper class. The empathy and compassion is out the door at this school. To many managers not enough workers.

Chabot Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My kids where picked on. There is no fairness at chabot ,or integrity. It's been going down hill slowly.


Chabot Elementary School 2

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
It's great for k to 2 grade, but when you get into the higher grades some of the kids get left behind in there academics. Also no accountability for bad behavior in the school. I have three kids that have went to the school. My son was constantly picked on at the school, my daughter's have been hit numerous times. I'm glad my fifth grader will be out soon. We have been going to chabot for over ten years, and the feeling of community they use to have is gone!

Chabot Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
Chabot offers a postitive, kid-centered environment for learning. Our children have had needs distinct from one another, so we've observed different approaches to offering kids ways to engage in academic subject matter, challenges, and participation in a community. I couldn't have designed a better environment for our kids.

Chabot Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Anthony Chabot Elementary is a great place for children to grow and learn. The teachers and the administration are engaged, caring, and creative. I am amazed at the amount of effort and time everyone puts in to make this a memorable and fulfilling experience for our children.


Chabot Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
This school is beyond words. The staff are engaged and engaging with the students. My son loves it there. In his previous school, he would just sorta hang out with his friends, but he didn't really enjoy learning. At Chabot, he has really started enjoying learning to read and write and do math. And once that enthusiasm has been kindled, he's becoming a regular lil learning monster. I LOVE IT! The principal is also very involved. You'll see him walking around in the mornings, talking to parents or students, looking over the road crossing brigade, checking out the kids playing on the play structure. He is very in touch with what's going on "on the ground" and does not just hide in his office. Overall, Chabot Elementary has done wonders for my son, and there's no other school I'd rather put my boy in!

Chabot Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Best school! Friendly, responsible, caring principle, staff and community! 2 kids attending, 1 in future.

Nearby schools

Chabot Elementary School
6686 Chabot Road, Oakland, CA  94618-1641
(510) 654-4884
Last modified Chabot Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top