Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (7 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 118 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Claremont Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
To get a straight answer from a pre-teen or teen is very hard. I've been to many middle schools and I have to say the kids do look out for each other at Claremont or at least try too.

Claremont Middle School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I love how the school is diverse, in many different was. This is the real world, teachers are willing to help the students. They have a new principal , Mr Mayor is doing a great job.


Claremont Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mr Mayer for your persistence, grit and compassion. The ways in which you're leading the school are showing strong and positive results in our student. We appreciate you!

Claremont Middle School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My son went from St. Paul's to Claremont in the 6th grade. He's now in 7th and LOVES this school. There's a wide range of kids, not the "pretend" diversity of the private schools, and the range of what's "acceptable" behavior for kids is more like real life, some real great and some not so. The teachers, many of them are young and some are newer, seem to really believe in the school and what they're doing. Mr. Mayer, the new principal since last year, is a genuine, thoughtful and exceptional person. We're very happy with our decision, and most of all, our son is thriving there academically and socially.

Claremont Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Fortaleza for her vast care and personal attention to each individual student, creativity in presenting the material through interesting assignments. I felt so grateful for her dedication to her teaching and effort to develop caring and trusting relationships with her students.


Claremont Middle School 5

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
My son is 7th grade and loves his school. He said he likes Claremont "way more than Peralta" (his elementary school) which to me seemed like a hard act to follow. He is engaged in his classes and likes all of his teachers. Last year, he started also to blossomed there musically (Jazz Band) and athletically (Cross Country Club and Basketball team lead by the fabulous family of Doubley coaches). I find the instruction and academic level pretty high and love the sense of community at the school. Also the After Spot ( after school program) provides great variety of activities such as Skateboarding (hope Sailing is offered again next year). The school has great leadership , great teachers and great PTA. We are also in the process of planning and building new cafeteria and gym.

Claremont Middle School 5

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
I have two kids who are very challenged and happy at Claremont (sixth and seventh grade). They both care deeply about academic achievement and adore their teachers. They have a great group of friends, and they manage themselves very independently, walking to and from school together and participating in after-school enrichment programs that require no parents driving them around! The whole family loves it!

Claremont Middle School 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter started 6th grade this year, and she (and we) couldn't be happier. Her teachers are all incredibly engaged, committed, and creative. Although math is her most challenging subject, it is our daughter's favorite class, because of Ms. Thacher. The enrichment programs (zero period Spanish, rock-climbing (on actual rocks in N. Berkeley!), jazz ensemble, theater) are amazing. The student community is diverse and respectful. Highest recommendation!


Claremont Middle School 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
My son is in sixth grade at Claremont, and he is having a great time there, both academically and socially. His teachers range in experience from veterans to relative newbies, but they are all talented and they share a passion for the job. My older child attended Claremont for the last three years, when there was a lot of transition going on; it's amazing to see how much positive change Principal Mayer and Asst. Principal Coleman have brought about since Aug 2014, in terms of school climate as well as quality of instruction.

Claremont Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Our 6th grade son started this Fall at Claremont, and so far we are having a TERRIFIC experience! We enjoy the smaller school size (around 400 kids) and we love having our former Chabot Elementary principal, Jonathan Mayer, at the helm! The staff are a delight, and Mr Mayer has done an excellent job attracting and managing great teachers. The computer lab is state-of-the-art, there is a new and robust afterschool enrichment program, and overall our son is both challenged and happy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Claremont Middle School
5750 College Avenue, Oakland, CA  94618
(510) 654-7337
Last modified Claremont Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Claremont Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 118 reviews. Top