Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoia Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 391 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Our daughter has been extremely happy at Sequoia and truly enjoys going to school every day. This is a testament to the teachers who are inspiring in their dedication and a testament to the Principal who creates an environment where the teachers can thrive. The community involvement at the school is also amazing. Their involvement allows for many of the enrichment offerings at Sequoia, but also provides a example and model to the kids regarding community involvement and the value of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Sequoia is special for many reasons, but the parental support here is great. My son is a 2nd grader. We participate in Bike Day, the Back to School picnic, harvest festival, and many other community events. There are great opportunities to learn here. The parents value learning, reading, and math, which in turn supports the kids and teachers. We highly recommend Sequoia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Sequoia is a wonderful school with a diverse parent, student, teacher community. There is strong parent support and fabulous teachers. Our family has enjoyed Sequoia for the past 3 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Sequoia school has been a total dream for my family. It is our neighborhood school, so we just lucked into it, and I count my blessings all the time. I have 2 quirky daughters (one is already in middle school but went to Sequoia from kinder to 5th) who have both thrived there. There is a balance of academic rigor with creative pursuits. The art program is amazing. The student body is very diverse. Principal and teachers are very accessible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

We ended up at Sequoia because my child is in TK. Sequoia wasn't even on my radar, although I had heard good things about it. We ended up loving it so much I wouldn't dream of moving schools. I used to only look at test scores but there is so much more to a school than that. To really get a feeling for a school you have to spend time on campus but I will list the things I like about Sequoia. There is an excellent principal and excellent teachers. The parent involvement is great. There's a wonderful sense of community. It's very diverse, meaning there is not one dominate group, ethnically, culturally or socio economically. The enrichment programs are so impressive. The kids learn African drumming with the greatest teacher. Every month the kids perform at Sequoia Sings where they sing and play drums. It's literally the coolest, greatest and most special thing I have ever seen a school do. The kids are taught their core values (like a school motto) of compassion, honesty, respect, and responsibility. They have art, PE, garden, drumming, music, science. It's a special, inclusive, nurturing place to attend school. Go Sequoia Squirrels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

I and my wife are grandparents of three Sequoia students: a fifth grader, third grader and a TKer (transitional kindergarten). We pick up the kids after School and know teachers, parents and Principal. I have been involved as a volunteer at the School for 5+ years as a reading tutor, classroom helper and helper at various fund-raisers. I know a great number of parents and all the Teachers and the (relatively new) Principal. The Teachers are dedicted and very expert in their profession.There is not a bad Teacher some, being excellent. . I am in the process of recommending the TK Teacher, Ms. Love, for special recognition as she is truly special - keeping her very young students captivated and learning. Since we have been in contact with the School there have been three Pricipals with the first one excellent, the second not as good and now an excellent Principal again. Parents are very involved with volunteering with fund-raisers (very successful), helping out with classroom activities, after-school activities, etc. In my opinion, Sequoia School is an excellent Elementary School


Posted March 23, 2014

Sequoia is a well-rounded elementary school that our kids will always remember as a place that loves to celebrate. We love that Sequoia encompasses many things that we love about Oakland- strong community ties, cultural/racial and socioeconomic diversity, teachers that care deeply for student growth and comfort, Principal that cares about the big picture, and supportive parental involvement. There are negatives, as there are with any school- not enough playground supervision and lack of resources or programs for children that are performing at a high level (in short, not a challenging curriculum)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Sequoia has an incredibly warm and inviting community that inspires a strong connection among the students, the teachers, and the students' families. There is a high level of willing family participation - there is never any pressure to be involved, but families are drawn in by the inclusive and welcoming environment. Students are proud to be a part of the Sequoia community, and it's reflected in the overall atmosphere of the school. It's a place where people really take care of each other. I've seen many examples of children rushing to help and comfort a child who has fallen or who seems upset. I've also seen older kids include younger kids when playing on the playground after school. The supportiveness is also present in the classroom. We've only experienced one teacher so far, but she has been incredible. She recognizes that different kids have different strengths, and she finds ways to engage and challenge each individual. I occasionally help in the classroom, and it's touching to see how excited and proud the kids are when they've learned something new or accomplished a tough task. In some magical way, our teacher finds ways to bring that out in every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Sequoia is all around excellent. My grandson reads third grade books as he enters Spring time in the 1st grade. Teachers and leadership top notch as well. Play experience outside is pleasant and well supervised.


Posted March 22, 2014

Folks- Sequoia Elementary completely ROCKS! Yes it's Oakland Unified, but I'm here to tell you that as the parent of an African American son with borderline special needs it has completely exceeded my wildest dreams. The principal and his teachers have worked with me and with my son. I talk, they listen and respond as well as listening and responding to my son-incredible! In addition to very motivated and excellent staff (they have amazing teacher retention) another astonishing strength is their diversity, and friends: this is the real deal tire meets the road diversity, not the diversity lite or diversity in theory that other schools claim to value and have. For instance in my son's class of 24 there are: 4 families with queer parents, 2 transracial families of adopted children, four asian, two latino, five white, seven African American and 6 biracial kids. His afterschool program 'Healthy Start is great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

New to Sequoia this year, and we have been blown away. This is a wonderful neighborhood public school. Starting first grade knowing no one, I feel that our child has been warmly embraced by the other kids at the school. We feel a true sense of community. Teachers are supportive, pragmatic and no-nonsense. The staff is friendly, knowledgable and always helpful. And the parental involvement is outstanding. We could not ask for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

My children have attended Sequoia since 2007. Educationally speaking Sequoia is average. Another post commented on the lack of a challenge in the work given their child. Which I too have encountered. Although there is no perfect school, it all comes down to consistent parental involvement working in conjunction with the Administration to ensure a successful school experience. I would advise existing and new parents alike to be aware of the bullying currently happening on Sequoia's campus - of which my child has been one of the recipients of. To my knowledge, it is just occurring with the upperclassmen. Nevertheless, it should not be occurring at all. In light of that information, make an informed decision of whether you want your child(ren) to attend this school. This issue is serious and given my children's long tenure at this school, I am fighting to eradicate this issue...not only for my children's well-being, but for all who attend and/or hope to attend this school. Bullying is unacceptable behavior and need not be swept under the rug for the sake of not tarnishing Sequoia's image.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

My Son School is great!!! I am so happy to have him here since 2nd grade. This school is great for parents support , when you call, when you in person, when you need to talk to the principal, they always there for you and your child. I like everything in the school, teachers, principal, office personal, location, parents is just a BEAUTIFUL SCHOOL AND ENVIROMENT FOR KIDS. My son look very happy on his 5th grade and with his teacher, sadly this is his last year in this school. I do encourage every parent to enroll your kids in Sequoia elementary school, your kids will love it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

We are 5th-year parents of two girls at Sequoia (our default neighborhood elementary school) and have been consistently impressed with the teachers, the administration, and the strong sense of community with other Sequoia families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

This is our second year at Sequoia and we truly love it. The teachers, administration and community of families are wonderful, inclusive and engaging. If you are considering Sequoia, please try to attend one of our many fabulous events to see for yourself what a fabulous, nurturing school it is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

We love Sequoia! We've been here for four years, and thought we moved out of the assignment area, we are keeping our children at Sequoia, no question!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Are your trying to decide between sending your child to a public or private school? Sequoia has an extremely nurturing environment, my daughter loves going to school there, the reading specialist is excellent, girls (as well as boys) are encouraged to get excited about science, and math. In 2006, the National Education Department did a large scale study comparing private and public school and concluded that the statistics showed public schools generally performed as well or better in reading and mathematics than comparable children in private schools. The Oakland Unified School District has been named the most improved school district in California for the last 5 years. Sequoia is a school community where children thrive and where parents have many opportunities to grow by taking part in a caring Community. If you like being involved with your children s studies and believe in a strong Community, Sequoia is a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Sequoia has not only met all of our expectations for quality elementary education for our daughter (1st grade), but has exceeded them. From the extremely competent principal to the high-quality teachers to the engaged parent leadership, the school has so many strengths. We look forward to sending our second child there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

My son started Kindergarten at Sequoia this year and we are thrilled with our experience. The school has so much to offer! My son enjoys using the library, drumming class, motor skills exercises, PE, art class, garden class, and more. His teacher is excellent and he has truly thrived under his care and appropriately challenging instruction. He has made many friends, as have we- the parent community is strong and wonderful. The principal is an amazing leader who really has her finger on the pulse of what makes the school successful. Though we were lucky to have a good school 2 blocks from our house, we instead chose Sequoia for all the obvious reasons and are SO happy with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

My daughter attended from K-5th grade. We absolutely love this school. She has fond memories and still talks about her experience here. The Principal at the time was fabulous! Since then, there have been two more principals appointed to this school. Still, the teachers at this school are extremely nurturing. The students have tremendous respect for each other. The art program and choir teachers are amazing! There is so much diversity and richness. Parent involvement is spectacular and welcoming. Additional: GATE class, art, music, after school help from teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

828

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

828

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females54%
Males66%
African American65%
Asian42%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner32%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state59%

Math

All Students67%
Females62%
Males75%
African American53%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner63%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females65%
Males50%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females61%
Males62%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females77%
Males63%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state76%

Math

All Students72%
Females67%
Males79%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females80%
Males50%
African American67%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented69%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state66%

Math

All Students57%
Females72%
Males39%
African American46%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented60%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Science

All Students60%
Females64%
Males55%
African American50%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented60%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 30% 7%
White 20% 27%
Hispanic 18% 51%
Asian 17% 11%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Academic Excellence Award (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Katia Hazen
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (510) 531-6611

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • AC Transit lines 11 and 21 serve our school.

East Bay Agency for Youth (after school program)

Types of activities
  • Academics
  • Arts
  • Athletics
  • Life skills
Operated by
  • East Bay Agency for Youth
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:00
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
Website
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • Sequoia is a vibrant, diverse community of learners who strive to embody our four core values of Responsibility, Respect, Honesty, and Compassion. Our parent group raises money to fund art, music, science, and garden programs for every student. Sequoia's Dad's Club, established more than 50 years ago, puts on fun events like the Variety Show, Fall BBQ, and Movie Nights. This school is beloved by the community and it shows in the care and attention each Sequoia student receives. Our staff of largely veteran teachers constantly collaborates to create rich learning experiences for children that rival those of the best schools, public or private. We are proud of our campus, beautified by a student-created tile mural over 300 feet long, productive classroom vegetable gardens, and numerous brightly painted murals. Sequoia is a happy, safe and colorful campus full of curious, interested children who are both challenged to be the best they can be and supported in their individual learning needs. One thing that makes Sequoia so special is our Autism Spectrum Full Inclusion program that places children on the spectrum in classrooms with support. All children receive orientation on individual learning differences through this program and become more compassionate individuals as a result. Our well established school climate of acceptance, kindness and sensitivity benefits all children. We welcome visitors to our monthly Sequoia Sings assemblies, held on the first Wednesday of each month, when we come together as a school to hear news and raise our voices in songs related to our four core values. You will hear the African drums as you approach; they are the heartbeat of Sequoia.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3730 Lincoln Avenue
Oakland, CA 94602
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 531-6696

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Jarlath School
Oakland, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT