Advertisement

St. Lawrence O'Toole Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 163 students

Our school is faith-based, academically challenging, with a great sports program

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $283,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

This school is great! The Tuition is affordable. The Principal and the teachers really care about their students. The Kindergarten Teacher, Mrs. Lynnae Tasi is great with her students. My son loves the way she teaches. She has a lot of hands on learning activities and projects. Her demeanor to teach is perfect for her students. She is peaceful, loving, kind and firm. I am glad that my son is attending SLOT. What a great way to start his education. My son has grown spiritually and academically. I can totally see my son attending this school for 8 more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

We love it here! We had to move our Kindergartener from a public charter school mid-semester and SLOT has welcomed us with open arms. It is simple and academically challenging. Aftercare could be more developed, but it is inexpensive, safe, and the aftercare teachers really care. The Kindergarten teacher is everything a K teacher should be. So kind, loving, and patient. It is apparent that she loves God and the kids. The principal, is so welcoming and very personable. The parent group is awesome and raises a lot of money to keep tuition down. Come to an open house, this school midght be a good fit for you too! Our student has grown by leaps and bounds academically and loves her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

Excellent School! St. Lawrence O' Toole Catholic Elementary School is the perfect environment for our son. The Kindergarten Teacher Mrs. Lynnae Tasi is a gentle, yet firm woman of God who believes that God has called her to teach. Mrs. Tasi has the perfect demeanor to teach and develop male children who can at times be very active and curious! Our son enjoys attending Mass and Chapel on a weekly basis and was very excited to be the "prayer leader" for the week! St. Lawrence O' Toole nurtures children academically and spiritually in a loving environment. SLOT offers sports, music lessons (after school) and Spanish instruction for Grades K-8. I highly recommend SLOT to any family seeking a well rounded, family like atmosphere for their child. SLOT graduates go on to attend the high school of their choice and are often times placed in AP/Honors classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

I am the parent of a 7th grader who first went to SLOT in kindergarten. After a terrible 6th grade year at Redwood Christian School, I was eager to find a place where my daughter felt like she belonged. SLOT has proven to be just the place for her. Many of her kindergarten friends were still at SLOT and were very welcoming to her even though they hadn't seen each other in 7 years. Everyone from the school Administrators right on down to the students themselves have been so warm, welcoming and positive. My daughter is thriving at SLOT! There is a lot of parent involvement and a true sense of community at the school. My only regret is not sending my daughter back sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

I first came to this school two years ago when my son was having a VERY difficult time at one of the OUSD elementary schools. It was a bad fit for him and a very stressful time for us. SLOT welcomed my family with understanding and reassurance that it was going to be ok. My son has grown so much since being there both academically and spiritually that I am eternally grateful. All the teachers know the students and make you feel connected when simply walking down the hall. I now have two children there and would reccomend this school without reservation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I really do love this school! St. Lawrence O'Toole is like a second home for our family. Our child has grown academically and spiritually in this nurturing environment. It is a warm and welcoming place. I feel assured that my child is safe, cared for, and challenged academically at this school. It has been a great experience so far and we look forward to four more year at SLOT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

My son is a 2nd grader this year and has been here since kindergarten. His father is an alumni and we absolutely love St. Lawrence O'Toole. My son was fortunate to have the amazing Mrs. Sabina Burns as his 1st grade teacher last year. She was also his father s 1st grade teacher when he attended. We can not wait to enroll our other son when he is ready for kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

Moved our child to SLOT from one of the top rated OUSD schools last school year and are very happy. The small class size and instructor interaction is a relief. SLOT addressed academic issues and straight away developed an individual plan to tackle them head on. I am relieved to say I have a student that is engaged in their studies, spiritual growth and team sports activities. We are back on track and no longer behind the curve! Love the proactive approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Are kids are on their way to attending this school, and coming out of a high rated local public school. Our tour of the school was very impressive, and the students here seem to be very on track. The school seems to encompass all aspects of a positive learning environment, while keeping up with effective advancements in education. Class size is smaller compared to public classes, teacher involvement seems much greater, and children seem happier and more FOCUSED. The principal is very accommodating with an extensive educational background. We look forward to our kids attending here. PLEASE disregard comments that are one star and make no sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

My daughter is now in 5th grade, has been here since kindergarten and loves her school. Art is integrated into the curriculum, they have a dedicated science teacher, a music program and of course, computer education. Class sizes are small. Sports programs are offered for all grades K-8. We have been very satisfied with her teachers and progress, she ranks well above average in all subjects. The atmosphere is safe, friendly and encouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have been attending St. Lawrence O' Toole since Kindergarten. The school is progressive and moving forward in a positive direction. The children are encouraged to be leaders, scholars and athletes. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Excellent school! Not sure of the last comment. Sorry you feel your child is on the first grade level in the eight grade. But overall - excellent school that is determined to have your child excel in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

terrible my child is at first grade level but is a eighth grader. im planing on leaving slot for a better suitable school, for example st.leo. also most of the teachers are seniors and no respect advance minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Small community, great student teacher ratio, teachers truly CARE about the kids and want to develop them academically and morally. We are happy with our son's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

Our daughter has been a student at SLOT since kindergarten and is now in the 8th grade. She is now getting ready to graduate and go on to high school. She has been accepted by all the private schools she has applied to. Her test scores have always been far above the local and national averages. We attribute this to the very good teachers at St. Lawrence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

My daughter is in 5th grade and she 's in the school since Kintergarden. She loves the school and so do I. Visit the school anytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

My son is in 6th grade. He has been attending the school since kindergarden. He loves the school, his friends and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

Our daughter started Kindergarten this year and she loves it there! She comes home talking about all that she has learned, her friends, and how wonderful her teacher is. She enjoys doing her homework and can't wait for visits to the school library. SLOTS is very diverse, which was very important to us. Agreeing with another review, Kindergarten has WEEKLY trips to the library and computer Twice a week, they have music and PE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

This is a wonderful school. My child is in kindergarten and I am so pleased with the teacher and how much he is learning. They have music, computers, PE and much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

This school has grades combination, 7/8, more than half the students dropped this school the first half of the year. It's very inconsistent, don't provide any information to the families they serve untils report card comes home. The teachers overwhelmed the students with homework. Students are assigned homework without prior instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 62%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 13%
White 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sally Douthit
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (510) 530-6875

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations

Homework Club (after school program)

About the program
  • Tutors help students complete homework and offer academic enrichment.
Types of activities
  • Academic
Operated by
  • Michelle Collier
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 3:00 pm
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
  • Visit website
Website
Phone number
  • 510-530-0266

St. Lawrence O'Toole Summer Academy (summer program)

About the program
  • Academic remediation and enrichment are offered three weeks each summer, grades k-8.
Types of activities
  • Academic
Operated by
  • Cynthia McIntyre
Dates offered
  • July 7, 2014 - July 25, 2014
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 8:30 am
End time
  • 11:30 am
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
Before / after care
  • Neither
Phone number
  • 510-530-0266
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
32
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
56
Students typically come from these schools
Betty's Children's Academy
Chatham Preschool
Pilgrim

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop O'Dowd High School
St. Mary's College High School
St. Joseph Notre Dame High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3695 High Street
Oakland, CA 94619
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 530-0266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT