Advertisement

St. Anthony School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

Don't judge a book by its cover. Don't judge a school by its price tag. Some may think that St. Anthony might be better because 'you're paying for your kids education....or... you're paying for your kids to succeed.' Sorry, wrong school here! St Anthony did not prepared students for HS. Moreover, materials that are taught in 8th grade should classified as 5th grade level work. Students spend unnecessary time on things such as "Thank you cards" when they should really be working their butts off. The kids are very disrespectful! I noticed many of them form 'teams' where they include/exclude certain individuals and just start gossiping (teams are formed by race, grades, gender, etc.) Not a good environment for kids to learn to be more accepting of others' differences. I graduated over 7+ years ago, most of the friends that I graduated with went to CSUs, 1 or 2 went to UCs, and I remember a few of them actually got married because he/she got a baby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

I have graduated from this school 3 years ago and I don't believe that this school prepares you for high school the teachers let the students do whatever they want. I personally did not like the teaching style of Ms.Cohen she gets angry easily and yells at the students as If they were grown I wish I had not gone to this school and don't know where the parents get their information about this school from because they're reviews are false.


Posted May 27, 2012

I was a student here. This school does not prepare you for high school at all. It is one of the WORST schools in Oakland. Most of the school is Latino/Hispanic or Vietnamese/Chinese. The children there teased my friend for years because she was white and spoke proper English. I don't understand where all these reviews from "parents" are coming from. They are mostly first generation students most of their parents could barely say hello in English let alone type a review on the computer. I would not recommend this school to anyone that actually wants there child to have a future.


Posted June 22, 2010

i like saint anthony's because the students in it are very respectful and considerate of other people they learn about respect and how to make good choices in their life. I really like all the teachers in the school exept the 5th grade teacher Ms.Cohen she screams to much at kids and thinks that by screaming kids are going to learn. She also seems very racis because she lets Vietnamese kids speak their language but not Latinos or Mexicans. I think she is defenitly not a good teacher , I think they should fire her.


Posted March 30, 2010

St. Anthony is a great choice for kids; it is getting better all the time. The staff is continually looking for ways to improve the program, and there is a wonderful family feel that makes up for not having all the bells and whistles of schools in more affluent areas. Loyalty to this school runs deep, and the kids who graduate come back to visit and volunteer all the time. That speaks volumes. Many are also getting into the most competetive private high schools. For a safe, nurturing place with a free after school program, don't overlook it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

I graduated from this school two years ago, and I would like to say that I do not regret going here. Teachers here prepare for high school and they DO care for your education. I can tell you that students who go to this school are being prepared to be successful in high school. I love to visit this school whenever I get the chance to because of the great memories of the place. I remember my favorite English teacher, Mrs. Wilson, had us worked all hard when I was in 7th and 8th grade. I thought she just likes giving us work at first, but when I entered high school, I figured that she was preparing me for it. This isn't just a school, it is a loving community and family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

i like St.Anthony school because my teachers spend extra time to help me understand the lessons . This school is a great comunity. We are all good friends and there is hardly any fighting between students. The teachers and staff get along very well and they are all great teachers. I like the school too because there are extra activities such as spelling bee, oratorical contest,after school sports program, and next quarter the upper grades will have a science fair. Our principal Sr. Barbara Flannery works very hard everyday to make St. Anthony a great school for all of us. This year our principal has received gifts of new chairs, new desk, new carpet andalso received donations to fix the girls bathroom. Most of our graduates go to Catholic schools. I fully recomend this school to all the families that want their children to be successful in high school. GOOOO TIGERS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

St. Anthony's Catholic School is a great family environment. Sister Barbara, the school principal is very personable and cares for all the children of St. Anthony's. I just heard that they also have a new web site coming soon: http://stanthonys-ca.org


Posted December 31, 2008

I don't like this school, the people that works there always talk about money..And if you can't pay, or have a payment delay, they would not serve you until you fully paid it.. And the classes there aren't changeling the ones that are willing to learn. Besides that they waste a lot of times doing 'unnecessary' things, such as making a thank you card, painting, preparing things for the church, and parties.. Overall, I don't think that this is a good school, for achieving students who are willing to learn and tried to be sucessful in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

This school is a wonderful, family- like school with a strong Catholic focus. It is a diverse group of students and teachers. Teachers are excellent, committed and care deeply about the educational and emotional needs of the children. It's not located in the best neighborhood but it is truly a hidden gem.


Posted February 5, 2008

This school is like a breath of fresh air. The Teachers and Principal are like family. The children are happy and are not caught up in the worries of the world. I find it to be a very loving and safe enviroment for my girls. Try going to public school in the LA Area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

St Anthony's is a wonderful school and the teachers are very knowledgeable. Everyone knows one another; it's a big family. I encourage any parent to enroll their child/ren at St Anthony's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

My kids are currently going to St.Anthony school and me and my family think it's a very good school. The kids get along like brothers and sisters! Everyone is very helpful. Everyone is open to helping. I think it is a very good school because it is true that the school isnt in the best area in town but we make the best of it. The important thing is that the kids are not only learning but are making friend and having as much fun as possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

I have been in this school for 7 years. So far this school has changed my life physically and mentaly.This school does prepare you for high school or any grade that you child is willing to graduate from.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2007

I am a teacher at St. Anthony Year Round School. Here are some facts about our school which might be of some help to parents: 1. Teachers are certified and some have Masters' degrees. 2. Class sizes are small. The biggest this year is the 7th grade class with 22 students. 3. A reading consultant has been hired to help with the school's reading and language arts program. 4. Some students with difficulties in reading and language arts are helped twice a week by a teacher under the Title I program. 5. Last year the faculty participated in a monthly on-campus workshop on the teaching of reading.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2006

The school is a bad school. There are to many kids in one class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

This school is a very unrecommendable. The school is in a very bad neighborhood there's not that many extracurricular activities for the children to join. St.Anthony's needs more teachers to teach the kid and perpare them for the next level. Maybe if the school made a little more improvement, I would recommend it but until then no way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

This school is absolutely horrible. Many students learn from incompetent teachers, which prepare them to do nothing but be the worst. I went here from K-8. It pushes all children into a general mold. It focuses on helping the sub-intelligent while neglecting those with gifts. The resources are absolutely pathetic compared to many public schools, let alone other private schools. This school does not prepare children for high-school level work. Both in the two core subjects, English and Arithmatic. Not to mention every other subject. Their disciplinary system is even worse. Allowing children to associate with gangs, and promote gangs in school. They do not care for the mental state of their students. Allowing other children to do unacceptable and disrespectful things to others. This school, in my opinion, is highly unreccomended.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2003

My son went here for his k-3 years and it really helped prepare bim for higher levels. there needs to be more sports and other activities. the school is like a small community. The school is also non-violent dispite of the place it's located. The principal also is a great leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 71%
Asian 25%
Black 3%
Two or more races 1%
White 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 East 15th Street
Oakland, CA 94606
Phone: (510) 534-3334

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Beacon Day School
Oakland, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT