Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Christian School

Private | K-8 | 27 students

Our school is best known for our community service projects.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Oakley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $197,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

This school had brought so much happiness to my son. He never wanted to go to his other school, now he never wants to come home from Legacy. We have seen so many positive changes in him. I respect that they don't charge $1,000 just because there a private school. The teachers make you feel so welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Legacy Christian school is an amazing school and stands out from all the rest of the schools around. The teachers really have a heart for the children, they take the time to get to know each student and find out who they really are and how the learn best. The teachers have a passion to teach. This school is one of a kind. They not only help to educate children but they go out into the community to make a difference. From convalescent homes to helping to feed the hungry. They truly do it all. The teachers and students all work together which brings great unity into the community as well. This school is a tremendous blessing in our lives!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

best school ever hands down!And the best teachers in the east bay highly recommend to everyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

VICTORIOUS! This was the word that my son used when asked to describe how he feels about himself. This is a huge reflection on the work and self esteem that the teachers help to achieve in the kids there. My son is 10yo, and a few years ago he attended a local school and felt like a number. He was put in the back of the class and his weekly reports were negative, all the things he couldn't do right. He went from prior honor roll to D's & F's quickly. He came home and my bright, happy boy was lifeless and he told me he was a failure. The next day I enrolled him at Legacy. Within a few weeks his inner light came back. His reports were about his accomplishmnets and merits earned. He felt pride and loved, not like a number. My son now sees himself as victorious...I think that says it all about what the staff at LCS can do. Empower kids...that's what they do! They have small rooms and limited supplies, but the kids are the priority and they know it. And isn't that how it should be when you you leave your children in the hands of someone for 6-8hours a day/week?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Legacy Christian School offers a unique learning environment where teachers genuinely love and nurture their students. At Legacy, helping students build a personal relationship with Jesus is foremost. This is a school where students are encouraged to serve each other, and to serve their community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2013

So blessed that my children are a part of Legacy Christian School! I would highly recommend this school to any family in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Legacy Christian School has an amazing staff that love to teach! The students are learning to serve their community and getting an outstanding education. So glad that my children attend Legacy Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

Legacy christian school is an excellent school. The teachers are 150% dedicated to their students spiritual growth in the Lord,and prepare the kids academically to the fullest with the best curriculum.I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. James Urias
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (925) 684-4835

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Heritage High School
Freedom High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4246 Empire Avenue
Oakley, CA 94561
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 684-4628

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT