Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Pacoima, CA
Students enrolled: 891
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Haddon Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2015
- a teacher
I am a substitute teacher who has been working at Haddon Ave. Elementary School this school year. I was compelled to write this review because I am so impressed with the staff , students, and principal Mr. Ramos. This is a great school to work at. Mr. Ramos is a hands -on principal who truly cares about a high quality education . He knows many many students by name. You can always find him out on the yard interacting with everyone. I watched him actually take the end of a jump rope , and stand outside during P.E. time, turning the rope for at least 20 minutes with the students. They all love him. Haddon Ave. School has a very positive climate. I love going there ! I found out that Mr. Ramos is a new principal at Haddon. I don't know what things were like before he came, since this is my first year at Haddon, but I do know that under his leadership the children are flourishing. The teachers are excellent , and I wouldn't hesitate recommending Haddon Ave. Elementary to anyone !

Haddon Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted December 05, 2012
- a teacher
Haddon has made positive changes. Their CST score is now 788! They Have a new valet drop off program for students in the morning. Teachers are passionate about teaching and the making the community and school a better place to live and learn. The new permanent principal is actively working with parents and the community to make the school better. The Office staff is very attentive to parents questions and needs. Haddon also has many community agencies collaborating with the children and families to make the school more succesful especially in the areas of safety and helping the children become more aware of college and the hope that they can attend a university.


Haddon Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted September 23, 2012
- a community member
Was doing great when school went up 44 points...then teachers that were used to doing what they wanted and were not accountable put a plan in place and got principal ousted...too bad for the Haddon children they have the worst leader now, seems young with zero professionalism or knowledge. She was sent away from Lankershim ES and Oxnard ES. She is rude, does not know instruction, plays school doesn't lead the school, and has made very poor administrative decisions since coming in. Lots of great employees have left that saw her style. Too bad for this community seems its true, Pacoima seems to get all the , why do they keep recycling trash that's no good. Time to give these kids what they deserve

Haddon Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
Haddon needs to raise the CST score. There is a TA that works in Haddon and since a few years ago this TA doesn't give respect to the children until now. A lot of parents want to change the principal because she doesn't work hard.

Haddon Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted November 16, 2011
- a community member
the teachers were great when i was attending now my youngest sister is in 5th grade and her teahers seem really cold hearted, her fourth grade teacher wouldnt share her tissues because they were "hers". her kindergarden teachers stare was painful, the people in the office have been there and have no respect for students on one occasion one of the ladys was on an inappropiate website while a student was there waiting to get picked up to go home. on the phone theyre really rude the new principle is worried about what theyre eating outside of school instead of watching whats coming out of the school cafeteria, peanut butter and jelly isnt a meal


Haddon Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted June 26, 2010
- a teacher
I love the energy and warmth of the new principal and am hopeful that this upcoming school year will be great one!

Haddon Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Love what the new pricipal is doing to this school. Love IT!

Haddon Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted November 23, 2004
- a parent
Staff at haddon avenue elementary school are somewhat helpful but tend to lack warmth and compassion towards its students.In addition, many of the playground staff that help to organize students every morning when the school bell rings, often use a high tone with children when not needed, rather than to use positive reinforement to correct minor infractions by students. On more than one occassion it has become evident that 'some' teachers and school staff members may benefit from participating in child development courses in order to better serve its population.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haddon Avenue Elementary School
10115 Haddon Avenue, Pacoima, CA  91331
(818) 899-0244
Last modified Haddon Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Haddon Avenue Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top