Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Katherine Finchy Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
Just wanted to state that this school is K-5. Not sure why this is listed as K-6, because it isn't.

Katherine Finchy Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
Katherine Finchy is a great school with wonderful, caring teachers and a supportive Principal (Mr. Arnold). My daughter has flourished here and I'm so grateful. Her CST results improved so dramatically from last year and I attribute that in part to her teacher and the school's dedication to the students.


Katherine Finchy Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2010
- a parent
Katherine Finchy is a good school with excellent teachers. The new Principal, Mr. Arnold is not nearly the Principal that Ms. Boring was. He is condescending and doesn't seem to understand that the students are human beings with emotions and sometimes with problems at home that effect their learning. He sees students as test scores and blames teachers when their students are not proficient or advanced. He understand that you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink. Some people are more intellgent than others and everyone is different. If everyone were proficient or advanced then we would all be Scientists, Lawyers, Doctors etc. That is not a realistic concept for anyone to have let alone a principal;

Katherine Finchy Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a community member
Katherine Finchy has always been a very progressive school. It was the first in the area to offer Special Ed classes, and many students who would have been left behind are doing well in the world now. I love Katherine Finchy Elementary!

Katherine Finchy Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers Principal is geat safety also is great


Katherine Finchy Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of a child new to Katherine Finchy Elementary at the start of the 2008-2009 school year. My child's academic performance and overall interest in school and learning has increased substantially. I am extremely impressed with the faculty and administrative staff at Katherine Finchy. I would also like to mention that the structural architecture and layout of this school's campus is amazing.

Katherine Finchy Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2006
- a parent
Katherine Finchy Elementary is an excellent school. The Principal, Staff and cohesiveness of this child oriented, acamedically sound school are extraordinary. When parents visit from classroom to classroom to 'pick a teacher' it is an awkward position for students and teachers. All schools in the PSUSD district follow the same state,federal and district mandated standards and higher only highly qualified teachers and administrative staff. Ms. Boring is an outstanding principal and has bent over backwards accomodating the students and KFPFO(Parent Faculty Organization) She is Principal of the Year for the 1005/2006 school year and Katherine Finchy Elementary is very, very fortunate to have her and every teacher on the faculty.

Katherine Finchy Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2004
- a parent
Katherine Finchy is a very child oriented school. The Faculty and Staff have the best interest of the children, they motivated each child, and they help children if they need extra help in any subject. I have nothing but the highest remarks for this school and I would recommend it to anyone at any time.


Katherine Finchy Elementary School 1

Posted January 20, 2004
- a parent
I was relocating and wanted to look into the schools and evaluate where would be a location regarding education. When I called to request an appt. w/ her to see what this school could offer towards education and possible sit in on a class. She was immediately upset at my request. She so rudely told me 'I don't agree with what you are doing. It is like you are shopping for schools.We are a public school'. I was shocked that a principal would discourage parents of playing an active roll in their childs education and involvement.

Nearby schools

Katherine Finchy Elementary School
777 East Tachevah Drive, Palm Springs, CA  92262-4903
(760) 416-8190
Last modified Katherine Finchy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top