Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,897 students|Palo Alto Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Henry M. Gunn High School 2

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
An old low class chemistry teacher said F* word during a class. Principal ignored our complain. Took the assistant principal a while to respond. My son was the victim. He will never have a chance to succeed in this culture.

Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
With so many international students, especially from asia... indeed grit is practiced. Sometimes there is an abundance of pressure academically. One or more students have hurt themselves... due to - presumably - stress. The counseling dept has specifically been working on this with $$ from the PEN (private foundation to help PAUSD).


Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
When you work so hard and achieve, learn so much... you indeed do feel proud of yourself.

Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
Again... the new counseling program has a mindfulness, and yoga section in PE as well as a weekly "health" or values class.

Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
New and focused counseling programs are more "whole child." Teachers are respected by both parents and students.... my daughter is often critical, but she does love the whole school.


Henry M. Gunn High School 5

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
We moved from overseas and have always gone to private Independent schools. Gunn High School in Palo Alto is a private school education in a public school setting. Academically rigorous, socially tolerant and accepting with a fair amount of elective choices. Counseling programs are vast and diverse. Most students go to the University of THEIR choice. Many teachers are really stars... some kindly and more traditional... Our daughter is a freshman there and really loves it.

Henry M. Gunn High School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a student
Counseling here may be a little lacking, but overall, Gunn is a great school to be in. It has a rigorous academic program, and a great performing arts program. Gunn has not dominated in most sports, but they are for the most part, good. I am a currently a rising sophomore here at Gunn, and I am proud to say I learned a lot this year, and all of my teachers were highly educated, and had a lot of knowledge on the subject. I really look forward to my next three years at Gunn. GO TITANS!

Henry M. Gunn High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Thanks to Gunn high School my son back to love his studies, in one year that he was in other HS he didn't like his class, but now in Gunn HS he loves his class, thanks to all teachers at GUNN


Henry M. Gunn High School 4

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
Gunn is a very large school, and has more of the atmosphere of a community college in terms of the numbers of courses, the rigor of the coursework, and the amount of initiative and self-reliance required of the students. Students who have trouble are taken care of, the high-flyers have the coursework they and their parents require, but the middle-of-the-roaders are mostly ignored. The guidance department and the teachers are fairly overwhelmed with the number of special snowflakes they must accommodate. As a whole, the Math, Science, and Fine Arts departments are the best in terms of teacher quality, and the English, Social Studies, and Foreign Language departments are the weakest. The English and Social Studies departments, except for a few standouts, have some weak/borderline incompetent teachers. I would suggest that this is a good school for the aspiring doctor, rather than the aspiring novelist.

Henry M. Gunn High School 2

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
Moving in PA with extra $1M loan burden plus $25K property tax, realized most students entering Stanford are faculty children. If house price doesn't go up with at least 3% per year for next 15 years, It's much more worth to put kids in Harker or Bellarmine being focused on more leadship.

Nearby schools

Henry M. Gunn High School
780 Arastradero Road, Palo Alto, CA  94306-3827
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (650) 354-8200
Last modified Henry M. Gunn High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top