Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,854 students|Palo Alto Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
With so many international students, especially from asia... indeed grit is practiced. Sometimes there is an abundance of pressure academically. One or more students have hurt themselves... due to - presumably - stress. The counseling dept has specifically been working on this with $$ from the PEN (private foundation to help PAUSD).

Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
When you work so hard and achieve, learn so much... you indeed do feel proud of yourself.


Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
Again... the new counseling program has a mindfulness, and yoga section in PE as well as a weekly "health" or values class.

Henry M. Gunn High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
New and focused counseling programs are more "whole child." Teachers are respected by both parents and students.... my daughter is often critical, but she does love the whole school.

Henry M. Gunn High School 5

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
We moved from overseas and have always gone to private Independent schools. Gunn High School in Palo Alto is a private school education in a public school setting. Academically rigorous, socially tolerant and accepting with a fair amount of elective choices. Counseling programs are vast and diverse. Most students go to the University of THEIR choice. Many teachers are really stars... some kindly and more traditional... Our daughter is a freshman there and really loves it.


Henry M. Gunn High School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a student
Counseling here may be a little lacking, but overall, Gunn is a great school to be in. It has a rigorous academic program, and a great performing arts program. Gunn has not dominated in most sports, but they are for the most part, good. I am a currently a rising sophomore here at Gunn, and I am proud to say I learned a lot this year, and all of my teachers were highly educated, and had a lot of knowledge on the subject. I really look forward to my next three years at Gunn. GO TITANS!

Henry M. Gunn High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Thanks to Gunn high School my son back to love his studies, in one year that he was in other HS he didn't like his class, but now in Gunn HS he loves his class, thanks to all teachers at GUNN

Henry M. Gunn High School 4

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
Gunn is a very large school, and has more of the atmosphere of a community college in terms of the numbers of courses, the rigor of the coursework, and the amount of initiative and self-reliance required of the students. Students who have trouble are taken care of, the high-flyers have the coursework they and their parents require, but the middle-of-the-roaders are mostly ignored. The guidance department and the teachers are fairly overwhelmed with the number of special snowflakes they must accommodate. As a whole, the Math, Science, and Fine Arts departments are the best in terms of teacher quality, and the English, Social Studies, and Foreign Language departments are the weakest. The English and Social Studies departments, except for a few standouts, have some weak/borderline incompetent teachers. I would suggest that this is a good school for the aspiring doctor, rather than the aspiring novelist.


Henry M. Gunn High School 2

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
Moving in PA with extra $1M loan burden plus $25K property tax, realized most students entering Stanford are faculty children. If house price doesn't go up with at least 3% per year for next 15 years, It's much more worth to put kids in Harker or Bellarmine being focused on more leadship.

Henry M. Gunn High School 5

Posted December 29, 2011
- a parent
Gunn is recognized as a top high school by colleges (including Ivy League schools), which helps considerably in college admissions. My son graduated recently - ranking at about the 30th percentile in GPA - and went on to Columbia; his Gunn education prepared him extremely well. In his four years at Gunn, all his teachers were stars except two! Extracurriculars are also plentiful and fabulous; the huge choir (no tryouts required) consistently wins top honors in national and international competitions, and gives concerts both locally and abroad. The theater program is open to performers at all levels, and the "crew" is well-taught and well-regarded. My son made many of his closest friends through extracurriculars. The academics are definitely challenging; AP math, science, computer science, English and US history classes are especially wonderful. Kids learn to think at Gunn, not just to regurgitate facts. Before we moved to Palo Alto, I heard lots of scare stories about competition, but in 7 years here, we experienced the opposite. Kids readily help each other, and root for one another. Teachers encourage teamwork. All in all, Gunn is one of the best schools in the USA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry M. Gunn High School
780 Arastradero Road, Palo Alto, CA  94306-3827
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (650) 354-8200
Last modified Henry M. Gunn High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top