Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walter Hays Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Yes, but during lunch there are few people watching the kids and the lunch guy was always a bit rude to my kid. They hardly have any time to eat.

Walter Hays Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Great school culture for the most part. Sometimes there is a bit of a stepford vibe going on though.


Walter Hays Elementary School 4

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Walter Hayes is a good school. In California. You have teachers here who are well compensated and very accomplished. In my opinion, that doesn't exactly translate to being awesome. We went to this school from 1st grade to 5th grade. I have family in public schools in Texas that frankly put this school district in the average rating. But in California, where public schools are not super well funded, Palo Alto is considered one of the best. The dollars per student are quire high considering all the private funds that flow into the school. The hype around the district is that you are in a very high per capita income neighborhood and of course this attracts super professional track educators. There are a lot of well educated and successful people who live in the district. Sounds like a perfect world, but in our experience, the results and the experience was good to average. We came from a private school and in retrospect we wish we had stayed in private schools. But you are talking minimum 25k a year for private elementary schools here, so you are talking like 150k or more for your kid's K-5th. Sometimes I felt that the administrators and teachers get a bit of an ego boost because they work for such a prestigious district, I know that several teachers approach or exceed 100k a year in income (happy for them, but sometimes there is just a bit of a snobbish or stand-offish vibe). In this community the first thing anyone asks you is where you work. Not what your kids are into, not where are you from, just straight up, where or what do you do for a living? It's an awkward part of living in Palo Alto for me, where so much emphasis is put on your employment vs who you are. There _are_ some amazing educators and some really good people here, but in all reality, compared to a school district like Cinco Ranch in Katy, TX (with brand new buildings and stellar national ratings) PAUSD is just good. And if Walter Hays was without all the private funding and very well to do and educated parents from tech companies, the super old buildings and average to good performance would be just any other average school in the US.

Walter Hays Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2007
- a teacher
I love teaching at Walter Hays. Everyone is truly vested in the child's individual education and each child is valued for himself/herself. Differentiation is the key to meeting each child's need.

Walter Hays Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2006
- a parent
Walter Hays is a wonderful public school with excellent teachers. The curriculum is broad and well-balanced, integrating visual literacy, music and performance in teaching basic academic subjects. The facility is charming. The principal leads well and openly. This all became especially clear to us when we moved to Illinois, to a city known for its 'top schools' that in no way compare to Walter Hays.


Walter Hays Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2006
- a teacher
Walter Hays was great for my child and had wonderful teachers!

Walter Hays Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2006
- a teacher
This is a wonderful school, and it really prepared my child for middle school!

Walter Hays Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2005
- a parent
A high quality school with hardworking, dedicated teachers. The emphasis is on overall development of the child and not strictly test scores.


Walter Hays Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2005
- a parent
This is a very good school, with very high academic expectations and achievement. The parent community is extremely involved. The teaching is creative and rich for the most part, with a lot of very good teachers. There is a fair amount of art, outside science classes, drama and music although most of these programs are slowly shrinking because of diminishing funds.

Walter Hays Elementary School 4

Posted December 17, 2004
- a parent
This school has very high parent participation in terms of time and financial support. As a result, this school has been able to finance additional classroom aides. The kids seems to benefit from the extra help and score well in state-wide standards tests. On the flipside, some may view that the school is unduly influenced by a small, core group of parents, making it difficult for other parents to become involved in the decision making process.

Nearby schools

Walter Hays Elementary School
1525 Middlefield Road, Palo Alto, CA  94301-3353
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (650) 322-5956
Last modified Walter Hays Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top