Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

International School Of The Peninsula

Private | K-8 | 414 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Palo Alto

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $355,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,405.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2007

We have two children at the school, and we couldn't be happier in the peninsula! This school offers not only a bi-lingual, high-level academic curriculum, but also an environment of understanding and tolerance in a multi-cultural community. We love the fact that subjects that are discounted in public, as well as many private schools, such as music and art, are an important part of the student's lives. The school works hard to communicate and involve all the families in the many activities they have throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

I will not send my child back to this school. Aftercare is not even at a minimally acceptable level of safety or supervision from my perspective. Teachers and administrators just don't appear to be interested in new family input.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

This is the only real option down in the Peninsula, and the lack of competition shows in the way the administration runs the school and 'works' with the parents. Paying $16,000 a year, we expected to have a quality all-around education for our child, however, in reality, it was an uninspired year (e.g., little creativity, no differentiated teaching, little individualized attention). It's too bad, because it would be great to see bilingualism offered at all schools - one would think this school would want to be a model school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

If bilingualism is your first priority, then International School of the Peninsula could be the right fit. If you are interested in high-caliber academics (e.g., Challenger, Palo Alto public schools) or the Whole Child (e.g. Keys, Ohlone), then this is not the place for you. Administration communications/feedback with parents could be improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

This is an excellent school for families interested in multi-lingual and multi-cultural exposure. In elementary school, the kids learn either French or Madarin through immersion. They quickly become fluent. What's more is the cultural exposure. Parents are international in spirit and often background. This rubs into the culture of the school and on the children. There is also an extraordinary art teacher. The school is at times disorganized. If you seek a great deal of structure, this may be a problem for you. Overall, it is an exceptional school focused on teaching kids to become global citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

Both my kids attended istp, and we love it. Main positive points: * immersion school. Classes are taught in french or madarin chinese. The kids quickly become fluent regardless of language spoken at home. * Strong sense of international culture. Families are from all over the world. This creates an incredible inter-cultural exchange which rubs on the kids but also on the parents. * Strong community and strong arts program too. * Small classes, attention to each individual kid. * Good teacher/admin communications w/ parents. On the down side, we have had a couple of years where academics were weaker than expected, when we felt the kids were not pushed to do their best. But these two years were the exception. Overall, the teachers are dedicated and the entire school very cohesive and engaged with the families. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2005

The Chinese program is at its beginning stages. The language curriculum is good, but other areas such as science, math, music and art are loosely tied together. The administration is unorganized. It was a disappointment for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Concerning ISTP, the school, in spite of the title 'International' is a French/American school. While there is a Chinese/American track, for the entire 9 years of its existence, it has not come up to meet the quality of the French track. Any parent who desires a first rate education for a child should choose the French track. If a parent is interested in a Chinese immersion program, look to other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 26%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Francois Guedenet
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

151 Laura Lane
Palo Alto, CA 94303
Phone: (650) 251-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hope Technology
Palo Alto, CA


Emerson
Palo Alto, CA


Brentwood Academy
East Palo Alto, CA


Stratford School
Palo Alto, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT