Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Glenn is a great kindergarten teacher. My daughter is very shy but has opened up so much and never wants to miss a day of school since she started kindergarten. Great principal and all staff are awesome.

Shannon Elementary School 4

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started Kindergarten this year, so far so good. Her teacher Ms. Glenn is great! she keeps the parents informed and makes sure every child is leaving with a familiar face at the gate instead of just letting the children run out. My daughter is also learning so much, she loves to come home and show me what she can do. I also really like that it is a small tight knit school. Seems like everyone knows each other, except us of course because we transferred in! (hahaha) The only thing that I would want to change about this school is the fact that they don't have an after school program :(


Shannon Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Kindergarten homework packets are fair. not too much, but not too little. I am not sure of how the other grades hand out HW.

Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
Shannon School had an amazing Winter Program this year, wow the teachers, students and staff performed so well. Great job Shannon School, us parents had a ball !

Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a teacher
This year working at Shannon School has been a real pleasure. As a new employee, the principal and staff has made me feel part of the team very quickly. The small family environment has made it easy to get to know the kids and see how much the kids interact with the staff on a level that I have not seen in other schools I have worked in. The kids seem to be happy and as a staff member, they have made me feel welcome to be here also. As the year has progressed, I have seen the parents coming in saying with pride that they are also Shannon graduates. This neighborhood school has been under new principal leadership the past couple of years and the kids seem really be genuinely interested in being here in a learning environment. Student engagement is high, and they show respect and a sence of ownership of the school, which exhibits the student's pride and high morale here at Shannon Elementary.


Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2011
- a community member
The principal is horrible.. very impatient with kids... The school needs a better principal... otherwise the school is great... But it is sad that this school will close down :(

Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a community member
nice enviroment for children, a lot of improvement with a lot of parents participation and wonderful teachers and principal

Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2008
- a parent
What a wonderful and caring school! The staff is friendly, the Pricipal actually listens to the parents & students to get extra help at the school for those in need. A wonderful calm campus, hard working PTA members, flexible staff members who work with parents. Fun events by the PTA but they can use extra help. The Principal could be a professional singer. My kids love everything about the school.


Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
I have a child in 1st grade, and a child in the 6th grade at Shannon Elementary. I find the school to be exceptional and the educational standards and expectations are high which enables the children to perform well.

Shannon Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
I have a third and fourth grader that go to Shannon and they have been there since Kindergarten and all the teachers thay have had have been great ! It is crowded but that is because they had other transfer students from a different school come in last yr. But overall great teachers , and principal . He is very much involved with parents and students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shannon Elementary School
685 Marlesta Road, Pinole, CA  94564-2899
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (510) 231-1454
Last modified Shannon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top