Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pleasant Hill Adventist Academy

Private | K-12 | 150 students

Our school is best known for developing leaders - also known for our music.

 
 

Living in Pleasant Hill

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $357,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

TOTALLY OVER RATE. The reason this school has high rating cuz they're all 7day adventist. every students i know in school mostly don't even wanna be here, so please don't send ur kids here.There's a lot of good Christian and adventist school out there,but not this one


Posted April 11, 2013

I went to this school from eight grade to twelfth grade. I hated half of the time I was there, but was ok with the other half of the time I was there. At the time, I hated the school was that I was treated by many students as an outcast for not growing up there. But now that I look back, there were good things about the school. The teachers were great, and I learned a lot about God. Students get a lot of homework, and it is all usually due the next day. The teachers truly care about your performance in school. There are people of different religious viewpoints there. The school encourages vegetarianism. Tuition is expensive. The teachers are strict on attendance and participation. There is a parking lot for junior and senior high school students that drive. The school goes up from kindergarten to high school. They have day care. The locker rooms are decent, but I wouldn't use the showers. The food is ok. Every Friday, there are meetings in the chapel, which are fun. Parents care about helping their kids. There are many school functions, but sadly, the music program has been cut back. All of the teachers know their material well, but some can't explain their material.


Posted April 23, 2010

This is a great Christian school. The most important thing to me about a school is what kind of teachers are there, so when we started at PHAA with my first child 3 years ago, I was happy to see how dedicated the teachers are at this school. They are very caring, knowledgeable individuals who bring their own style into the classroom. The teacher to student ratio in my children's classes are low and there is a strong emphasis on Christian living. There is a good, affordable after school care program and a vegetarian hot lunch offered daily. We enjoy the diversity of the families who come from all over the Bay Area to have their children attend this school. We are very thankful for such a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

It is a wonderful Christian k-12 school. I enjoy the low teacher to student ratio. They have a great sense of mission to the immediate community of parents and also to the local community surrounding them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

I have two children that attend Pleasant Hill Adventist Academy, a 5th grader and a 1st grader. Over the past six years I have truly come to appreciate the teachers to the entire staff at PHAA. Their dedication and commitment to each and every child, academically, socially and most important, spiritually has help my spouse and I know that while we are both at work, our children are getting the most out or their educational experience. The small class sizes, typically 15-20 students per teacher, the after sports programs are strong emphasis in music has really created an environment for our children to excel. If you are looking for a Christian school for your child to attend, I would highly recommend that you visit Pleasant Hill Adventist Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

My children attended PHAA for the 05-06 school year and it was wonderful. The environment is very much God centered. My kindergartener had a patient and fun-loving teacher. The teachers were open and honest reguarding the growth of my children academically, physically and emotionally. All parents are encouraged to visit their children in their class whenever you pleased. In turn, I met many parents with the same interests as myself, to be highly involved with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

First of all I would like to say I am a proud student at what is now pleasant hill adventist academy! This school is a great school! Everyone learns to adapt and love the school and the people in it! Everyone at the end of the school year always had a wonderful relationship with others. The sports teams here at phaa are great. If your looking for that kind of funn come to this school! great team work, and lots of fun! Music is like wise! Our school is knowen to sing all over! Parents get really involved too! They usually help out here and there and get to know that there child is safe and in great hands, getting a great educations and the child is having fun & learning! The teachers are great too! Come and see! Its great here! You'll love it! Please come!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2004

I love the fact that there is a small amount of students in each classroom. The teachers are very-well educated and personable. The education is beyond my expectations and I have been thrilled at the rate my son has been learning. I highly recommend the parent participation to be involved in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 32%
White 32%
Hispanic 27%
Asian 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 22% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 75% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation La Sierra University
Pacfic Union College
State Colleges & Universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:10 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Alexis Emmerson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email or Phone OK
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-Day Adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (925) 934-5871

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cycling
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cycling
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Pathfinders - Coed Scout type
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
La Sierra University
Pacfic Union College
State Colleges & Universities
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 22%
4 year college - 75%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

796 Grayson Road
Pleasant Hill, CA 94523
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 934-9261

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Creative Play Center
Pleasant Hill, CA




St. Thomas School
Pleasant Hill, CA



Sequoia Elementary School
Pleasant Hill, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT