Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
110 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


RLS Christian Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic Christian teachers given the ability to teach in a small class setting. Most grades about ten students, allow for true one on one teaching time.

RLS Christian Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
It is a loving caring environment so learning to succeed is done with support and kindness. A very positive place to learn.


RLS Christian Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
One of the nice options at Ramona Lutheran is the homework club. Monday through Thursday kids can go to the club and have the teacher on duty help them with their work.

RLS Christian Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
There is a strong outreach mindset at the school. The children help make meals for the homeless, write letters to the shut ins and seniors, help the Lutheran Braille workers, support the orphan grain train and much more. Chapel service on Wednesday supports the character development of the kids through the Word, including empathy, compassion, love and more.

RLS Christian Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
My children are in first and third grades here at Ramona Lutheran. They have been attending since pre K and have been taught not just strong academics but Christian values. I am so pleased with the results. There is a pad or Chromebook (age dependant) for each student. They have writing class, Mad science, music, band Spanish, computer class. There is much more than just the math and reading you find in public schools today. The classes are all small each grade only being around 12 students. This gives my children the time they need with their teachers. Wednesday chapel service teaches not just about Jesus but how to apply those vakues into becoming a great kid. Truly a gem of a school in Ramona.


RLS Christian Day School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school! Small class size allows the caring teachers to spend time with each student. Technology is current at this school with Chromebook or tablets for each child. Besides regular classes students take Spanish, writing, band, computer and more. Truly a peaceful environment with Christian values as the baseline for all they do. My children have been there for preschool, kindergarten prep and elementary, with excellent results. So happy we found Ramona Lutheran Christian School.

RLS Christian Day School 5

Posted August 03, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended RLS for 10 years, pre-k through 8th grade. I always felt that she was in a safe and caring environment. It is a small school which allows you as a parent to know all the teachers and the principal and feel comfortable discussing your concerns about the school, curriculum, or student issues. My daughter has excelled in school both at RLS and as she transistioned to the High School. There are some drawbacks to going to a small school (no sports teams for example), but the benefits far outweigh the lack of bells/whistles. I was very satisfied with the education my daughter received and recommend this school to others. It is a safe, caring and Christian environment that you cannot get at a public school.

RLS Christian Day School 5

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
We enrolled our son @ Ramona Lutheran School (RLS) for the school yr 2008-2009 in Kindergarten.He has remained there.Our concern in the public schools was the classroom size & the "thugs" that have been mentioned in a previous review.This campus is VERY safe!Our experience has been very good.Parents are heard & involved in school activities.The curriculum is more than up to standard.The staff well qualified & very caring.The class sizes remain small for a positive learning environment.Our son has excelled well beyond our expectations.RLS has been money WELL spent for our son's education. After all, they only get one chance for an outstanding education.Extended Care, home work club,field trips-the list goes on.Visit the campus & see for yourself just what a GREAT school it is!PARENTS - you will not go wrong by enrolling your child @ RLS. Hot Lunch-$3.75/lunch Extended Care-$4/hr Education/Tuition - PRICELESS


RLS Christian Day School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a teacher
I've been teaching at RLS for 12 years and would not want to teach anywhere else. Other staff members are caring and supportive to colleagues and well as parents and students. The curriculum is challenging and expectations are high. Peacemaking skills are taught in chapel and followed in the classroom and on the playground. This small, nurtuting environment is the perfect place for any child to grow academically and spiritually. The school has been running an exceptional preschool through 8th grade program for over 30 years and is currently the only Christian school in Ramona.

RLS Christian Day School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Every teacher has a vested interest in making every child succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

RLS Christian Day School
520 16th Street, Ramona, CA  92065
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (760) 789-4804
Last modified RLS Christian Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top