Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rudecinda Sepulveda Dodson Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rancho Palos...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $843,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

I went to this school from 2009-2012, which is not too long ago and my opinion can still be pretty up to date. I really loved coming to this school because it's a school where everyone feels welcomed and you get support from some. As I was in 6th grade, I was in the SAS Gifted program and I loved it! It was great. Then 7th and 8th grade I was switched into the Magnet Program and it was pretty good, too. I learned a lot in school, but not enough to go into high school. I was doing poorly when I got into the Magnet Program. I not only was bullied in those two years(I always went to my counselor to speak about the bullying but nobody ever heard me!!) but also my counselor told me that because of how poor I was doing, she didn't think I would graduate high school. That really made me lose hope and I stopped trying completely in school. Overall, I loved this school because of the amazing teachers, especially the choir teacher Mrs. Pelletier. Dodson is a great school, but it does have its flaws.


Posted March 29, 2014

I am an alumni student from Dodson and I also was bussed in from Wilmington. I went on to graduate from HS and college with my BA and now my daughter is a 7th grader at Dodson. I chose to not have her bussed in. I make the drive everyday before and after school because I didnt want her to be labled as a WILMINGTON kid as I was. Because of that I did experience some problems with the kids from Pedro. So to those who say the Wilmington kids are bad Im here to say Pedro has bad apples too! Matter of fact my cousin who attended Dodson with me was a Pedro student and she was the one who chose to ditch and by the way got caught. I on the other hand never ditched. SO with that I am here to say its not the school who produces bad students. Its the parents. If us parents dont instill in our kids a passion to learn and if we dont motivate and encourage them, then how can we expect them to get good grades, choose not to ditch, and succeed. Teachers are given a classroom of children that are products of us parents. My daughter is in Magnet, straight A's, involved in leadership and she has friends from both Wilmington and San Pedro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Dodson is an AMAZING SCHOO. I am an eighth grader (class of 2014) and honestly this school is a great fit for me. Yes, some kids being bussed cause problems, but not all. There are problems at all schools. In comparison to my home school (Curtiss middle school) Dodson is completely safe. I totally disagree with the comments on the kids from the housing project. The teachers are very effective. The ONLY thing i didn't like was the physical education was mainly based off of running. I would DEFINITELY recommend this school. - Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2013

First of all, the comments in reference to children from Wilmington or from the housing project are ridiculous. My son is fortunate to know students from various areas of the South Bay. If you are a parent that is fully aware of your child's schedule, activities your child will do well (isn't that what we do anyway). Dodson teachers use technology to enhance learning - thank goodness. That is a trend that is isn't going away. I personally am proud that my son is exposed to subject matter he gets now, instead of when I got it in college. Allow your child to be challenged now. Middle school does not count towards college (sorry it doesn't - don't tell your child), Prep for high school in organizational skills is what they will primarily get. One big negative is the principal needs more experience in developing a relationship with parents. I want anticipatory guidance regarding my child's academic experience. I want to be called when it is appropriate. Perhaps if they developed a web based general question message board on the home page. There access to frequently asked questions/concerns - a parent could start a dialog with their child to enhance the middle school expeience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

First and foremost, this school is completely overrated! It is a beautiful- looking school in a nice/quiet area, but one of the problems is too many"badly behaved" kids from areas such as Wilmington and other areas being bused into the school. Additionally, project housing is within walking distance and there are quite a few "badly behaved" kids that attend from there as well. I know that not all kids are bad from these areas. The (new) Principal severely lacks in experience, people skills, teaching knowledge, vision, and seems to have obtained the position based on connections. When fights do occur at this school, they are minimized and put in hush mode( as if they never happened) instead of having assemblies to combat them. The assistant principals are good and there are some good teachers, but there are some that need to leave the profession, due to lack of concern/care for students and using constant "drill seargant" teaching methods. It seems that only the gifted program is the only thing lifting up overall test scores...API, etc. Beware! A completely overrated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

this school is really good my child came here and she never had problems good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

I graduated from this school in 2007. At the time I thought it was a lame school but once I went to a really bad high school, I realized how awesome this place was. Not only is the surrounding area quiet and nice, but the staff is good too. I think the only problem are some students that come from Wilmington or other areas, they don't take much seriously. The drama program is one of the best, every play we put on was a success, but our teacher was very.... out there. This is a good school though, and the magnet program is the best. It's a real challenge, I got more work here than I did in high school.


Posted August 22, 2011

Some of the teachers are qualified, but most just talk a good game. Administration doesn't care too much about the students as long as they don't cause a stir.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I didn't like Dodson at all! I had trouble there alot , i tried asking the counselors for help and they NEVER helped me. There are way to many fights and to many people smoking weed on the field. I couldnt even finish the wrest of my 7th grade year there! People think it's the best school cuz its in RPV but it's not. The sixth grade teachers are very very nice but not the seventh and eigth. I do not and will not recomened Dodson to anyone. I feel sorry for all my friends still there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

The gifted program stresses more on quantity of work rather than quality or challenge. Sixth grade was an enormous work load of busy work; nothing much gifted about it. Excellent drama program, just have to deal with an overly dramatic teacher. Seventh and eighth grade settle down a bit in terms of work load. Excellent trip to Yosemite in the winter for a week.Administrators have a difficult time dealing with students with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Dodson has had the most positive impact on my life. The magnet program is amazing and it really taught me to be independent. It's beautiful campus and remarkable, experienced system was a surprise to me. I didn't want to go to this school, but i can't imagine how my life would be like if i didn't. I'm overly grateful for Dodson's existance and I really don't know how dumb i would be if I went to my homeschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

I'm a student here and i think no i know that it is a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

Dodson is not the school you think it is. Parent's beware the school is far from perfect and I don't know how it received the score it did. The previous ratings must have been written by teachers. If you are not a straight A student, the school can't help you get there. If your child has an incident at the school be prepared for the Administrative staff to turn their head the other way. Let me just get to the point, your child must be an A+ student with outside help. Dodson teachers are on a freight train of teaching and they will not stop to help. If you not know the work forget about it. The help, care, and attention is just not there. It's just another poor LAUSD SCHOOL, that's been over-rated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

As a former student of Dodson Middle School, I would have to say that this has been the best school I have attended so far in my academic career. Dodson provided me the foundation I needed not only to excel in high school but also in college (UC Berkeley). I learned how to study, what to study and even learned how to play the clarinet! While in Dodson although I struggled (because of the course load and the intensity of the gifted magnet program), I came out greatly prepared for high school. I am very grateful for Dodson Middle School; it has helped to make me who I am today.


Posted April 3, 2008

We're a military family living in San Pedro's USAF housing and have a son attending Dodson. The school structure, like most in this district, is old & worn with 'temporary' buildings from the 1960's. The best situation for your child at this school is placement in the gifted program, and then being placed in the top tier of this program (they select the top 40 math students in the 6th grade to start Pre-Algebra). The two core/block teachers for the Pre-Algebra designated 6th graders are outstanding. To our amazement our son has had a wonderful experience and thrived this school year. Since the 'gifted' classification and high math scores open the best doors in the Los Angeles Unified School District, I suggest enrolling your children in a Kumon or similar extra-curricular math center if you anticipate being stationed in the Los Angeles area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2007

I'm a student her at Dodson and I like it a lot. My only problem is that some of the teachers don't give you a chance to get better,they point a finger at you.I love participating in all the activities they have during school and after like:drama,dance,cheer,running,football,music,chorus,and art.I love Dodson because now I understand science more than anything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2007

Dodson has its achievements and shortcomings. Some teachers set a reasonable, swift pace in covering the criteria. However, not all the teachers are so forthcoming. Some lag and drag at the information, which causes students to forget the material. Yet others do not explain the material well at all, and are puzzles why their students receive such low marks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2006

I think that Dodson needs a better reading program. A program like Fleming Middle school has. Power reading programs teach the kids to appreciate reading and promotes good writing habits. A must at Dodson. I am considering pulling my son out of Dodson for this reason. The concern of the leadership at Dodson is very low. Especially when it comes to warning signs of bad behavior from a child. The teachers call the parents but the counselors do not return calls or show up to meeting when asked. There is no time to help parents solve problems that your child is having in class. Kids and parent needs are not met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Excellent free public school. A little crowded, however the quality of education among achools in the same level in superior. Very good music department. Music teacher has a personal relationship with all music students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2006

My son attended Dodson, and he liked it there very much. The teachers seemed good and eager to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

854

Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

854

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

538 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

539 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

626 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

556 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
31%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

557 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females76%
Males71%
African American73%
Asian100%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability35%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state72%

Math

All Students71%
Females73%
Males70%
African American73%
Asian94%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability34%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females72%
Males63%
African American79%
Asian75%
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state70%

Math

All Students63%
Females62%
Males63%
African American72%
Asian82%
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
Females64%
Males57%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state66%

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females69%
Males61%
African American70%
Asian92%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state65%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students21%
Females25%
Males18%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability30%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only22%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate16%
Parent education - high school graduate17%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state26%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students62%
Females61%
Males64%
African American73%
Asian100%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Science

All Students69%
Females67%
Males70%
African American79%
Asian100%
Filipino94%
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
White 16%
Black 10%
Asian 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 2081 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
66%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
69%
 

Students

This school

 
62%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
86%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
88%
 

Students

This school

 
51%
 

Employees

This school

 
78%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
64%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
57%
 

Employees

This school

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
67%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
67%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents35528%
Students168892%
Employees3830%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Vladovic
Fax number
  • (310) 832-4709

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28014 Montereina Drive
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 241-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Christ Lutheran Church And School
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA



Miraleste Intermediate School
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA


Crestwood Street Elementary School
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT