Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Soleado Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 445 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2013

Soleado is a lovely school if your child is above grade level. With the exception of one first-grade teacher, Burson, no one appears to know how to differentiate learning. As a former reading teacher and a classroom teacher with a master's degree, It is disheartening to see my grandchild being pidgeon-holed by a teacher who is new to a grade level who is very defensive and probably just holding her head above water. This seems to be a wasted year.


Posted September 12, 2013

Currently, all 3 of children attend Soleado. It is a fantastic school and I could not be happier. The teachers are really caring educators that bring out the best in my children. My children have all had wonderful teachers. I'm saddened to read some of the negative remarks about the former principal. I know he is a caring administrator and great educational leader, in fact the best I've ever encountered. Furthermore, I was very disappointed that he has moved on to be principal of Miraleste instead of Ridgecrest where my children will be moving on to after Soleado. My children are happy and learning. I hope that funding remains available to continue the music, art, and phys ed. programs. Again, this is a fantastic school and should be the benchmark for elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

We just finished our second year at Soleado. This is a high achieving school with a very diverse student body. Teachers are very dedicated. Principal is involved in everything from quality of teaching to greeting everyone and being involved with all school activities. Parents are very involved. Everyone works together well making it a warm and supportive environment for the kids. We feel blessed to be in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I've heard this is a great school. I agree to sign in for this school. I will become a teacher for this school too. I am very excited.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

This is such a great school, the principal is great and really involved in the school, with the parents and the students. My daughter is in Kindergarten and she LOVES it!! The teachers are really patient and experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

I could not be happier that my child attends Soleado. The Principle, Mr. Allen, is an amazing leader and a great role model for the students. He inspires teachers, students and parents. In fact, many of the teachers in the district do their best to send their own children to Soleado. The academic standards are excellent; the moral and ethical codes of the school are excellent. We have had an amazing few years at Soleado and look forward to more. i am shocked to hear of the negative review below, but based on the author's vitriolic attitude, which is not a reflection of the culture at the School, I imagine there is another side to the story. Regardless, I could not be more pleased to have my child be a part of the Soleado community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

The principle is very disrespectful . His name is Mr Allen. Get a new principle !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

Reality check, and I'll also speak for those parents who have even shared negative disappointing comments with me about Soleado, except they wont speak up 'against' this supposedly high rated school, NOT! I had to UN-enroll one of my kids, not because he was bad but because he was bored, not learning to his capacity. Teachers tend to complain to parents a lot, which means teachers cant handle the situations or learning problems that arise. The principal has had the nerve to call me for very inappropriate insinuations and personal matters which have wasted my time several times. I have reached my last nerve with his uncalled for attitude, hence I've taken the time to finally give this real review. He seems to have been offended or taken my child's removal from 'HIS' school too personally. Don't be fooled, he may seem nice and geeky but he definitely is annoying in a discrete manner. This school tries too hard with its image because underneath it all that's all it is, IMAGE. But I understand parents here have to pride themselves with the school their children are required to attend. Yes its RPV, I did expect quality w/humility but hopefully Soleado realizes its not just about IMAGE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I have 6 children and moved around a bit due to my husbands military duty. So I have experience as a mom of a WIDE range of elementary schools over the last 25 years, including private schools. THIS school is by far my favorite. The teachers are all deeply passionate about what they do and love their job....you see it in every single thing that every single one of them do! The Principle, Kevin Allen, is by far the most involved, caring, passionate and motivated leader I have ever come across. They all work as a family and strive to make sure that every single child is getting exactly what they need--AND--in a safe, kind environment teaching, through integrated programs and principles, important life lessons, values, morals, compassion and kindness as well to their students every single day. The parents are deeply involved and excited to participate strengthening everything else that is going on as well. All of that makes an enormously beautiful school and experience for the children, parents and staff as well. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. !!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

We moved to Palos Verdes specifically for the schools and could not be happier with Soleado. We've been a Soleado family for five years and have two children here. The teachers and staff are caring and attentive. There are numerous levels of learning for all types of students. Whether a student needs further challenges, a little push or a lot more help to get up to grade level, this is a place that focuses on every child, not just the top or bottom learners. In addition, I have found the parent community very supportive and friendly, which is much appreciated for a two-worker family with no family/nanny support. Finally, as someone of multi-ethnic background who grew up in mid-LA, I get that Soleado is not some people's ideal of a "diverse" school. But be realistic; you're looking at RPV, not LA. According to 2010 census data, RPV is 62% Caucasian, 29% Asian, 8.5% Hispanic and 2.4% African-American. By comparison, Soleado is very diverse. Not to mention, "diverse" comes in many forms. Not all Asians, for example, are the same. To me, what matters more than the statistics is how Soleado teaches tolerance, kindness and acceptance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

My daughter attended Rancho Vista last year, and although it is also a good school, Soleado is superior! For starters, the principal is fantastic! I like how he takes the time to get to know each child. The teachers are also wonderful. The classroom architecture creates a feeling of unity and the teachers work together as a team. I only wish that the Yard Duty staff was more helpful when it comes to conflict resolution during recess. This is one area in which Rancho Vista excelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

I went to this school from 3rd grade through 5th. I am now 21 and in my 4th year of college. I loved this school. The teachers and staff were always kind and welcoming-of course there was drama with the other girls, but that's a given. Whenever I had any drama with the other kids, I always asked a teacher or the principal for help and they ALWAYS made things better. I cannot emphasize how much I grew from attending Soleado, how much I learned, and more! Truth be told, I only remember the 50 states because of a song we were taught in "Big Room"! If I could, I would give Soleado 100 stars :)


Posted October 3, 2011

I have a 3rd grader and kindergartener at Soleado - my 3rd grader has attended the school since D-K. My wife and I moved to the Palos Verdes area because of the schools and we couldn't be happier with Soleado.The principal, Mr. Allen, is highly involved and truly cares for the kids. I think he knows every child's name - how many schools can say that??? The diverse backgrounds of the students at the school has been a fantastic influence on our children. Additionally, the teachers are wonderful - positive, caring, motivating! it is evident from how much my kids love school and enjoy learning that they are doing lots of things right at Soleado and that we made the right choice in sending our kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

I am a fifth grade teacher at Soleado Elementary School. I have taught there for four years and I love it. I was sad to see the review from a parent saying the school is terrible. To anyone who reads that, take your time to come in to our school and get to know the staff. We do believe in diversity and in making school a positive and engaging experience for all of our kids. I love my students and I know they love me!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2011

I am shocked at the comment that cultural diversity is a lie at Soleado. While the plurality is comprised of Asians (45%), 35% are caucasians, Latinos are 5%, African Americans are 4%, Filipinos are 2% and multiple races about 9%. At least a dozen languages are spoken by the families and students in the school and there is a good mix of people from varying ethnicities. I have a 4th grader at Soleado and my son who is now in 8th grade completed his elementary education there. Both my children have received excellent education from teachers who are extremely competent and deeply care about their students, and the principal and his staff are absolutely wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

too many negatives to list. 2nd and third grade teachers are the only positives here. Prides itself on cultural diversity, which is a lie. Don't let the smiles and the sales pitch fool you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

my grandaughter is a student there and she loves her school...she has had good and really great teachers....the principal is the most involved and dedicated I have ever seen....


Posted September 16, 2009

I love my daughter's school Soleado Elementary for so many reasons. I guess the first and foremost is it's principal Mr. Kevin Allen. He greets the children and parents always with friendliness, energy, and compassion. His positive energy is so enjoyable. The teachers are also exceptional! Every teacher we have had so far has been fantastic. Soleado is a lovely little school tucked into a lovely little neighborhood. The students/families comprise of a nice mixture of ethnicities and economic backgrounds, which makes us all very diverse. Everyone really works together nicely to get everything needed for our children. Soleado is a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

My first second grade children came to Soleado at the end of the last quarter. After attending a private school in Diamond Bar, CA. they have grown so much in that short period of time. They feel accepted by their peers and loved by their teachers and the Principle. I'm so glad I made the move that at first appeared to be drastic. Thank You Soleado for being a great transition for my little ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Great school with great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

965

Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

965

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females95%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females90%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females93%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females93%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner93%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females94%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Females100%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females93%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner92%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students95%
Females98%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 47% 11%
White 36% 27%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 5% 51%
Black 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gina Stutzel
Fax number
  • (310) 544-0916

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27800 Longhill Drive
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 377-6854

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Center for Learning Unlimited
Rolling Hills Estates, CA


Discovery World Early Education Center
Rolling Hills Estates, CA


Peninsula Community Church Academy
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA


Morning Star Academy
Palos Verdes Estates, CA


St. John Fisher Elementary School
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA


Chadwick School
Palos Verdes Estates, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT