Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
St. John Fisher prepared my daughter for public high school. She is taking several honors classes in her Freshman year and is doing exceptionally well. The grading scale at the school is higher than the public school standards ex: 92% is a B+ at SJF so the area high schools in both PV and Torrance are always happy to have well prepared SJF students enroll in their schools. I would highly recommend SJF for families looking for an affordable private school education.

St. John Fisher Elementary School 1

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
The quality of the school is going down. Mrs. Hudani (principal) was able to bring the school into a better position years ago but unfortunately, she is human and plays politics and favorites. More and more incompetent teachers. Science fair projects are being pushed so the school can compete at the L.A. Science fair and make the school look good (based on a select number of students whose parents are doing the project). Meanwhile the actual science curriculum is being placed in the back burner until Feb. She is also powerless or unwilling to fight for the parish school when it comes to pressuring for use of the common places like the gym and Barrett Hall. So much drama in this school it is pathetic. The bigger donors for the parish act like they're stockholders and the PTA is just a puppet to please the principal. They need a serious look at their slogan because they only care for a few.This will be my last year, I am taking my kids to another parish school.


St. John Fisher Elementary School 1

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
This school breeds bullies & very mean kids, because there are two sets of rules . . . one for the bullies and one for the rest of the kids. Because of that most kids turn out broken and mean. Its sad.

St. John Fisher Elementary School 1

Posted August 09, 2014
- a parent
In an environment that is supposed to support learning and the philosophy to love and serve the Lord and one another, they are failing. They aren t creating an open, supportive, fun learning environment that all parents want for their children. The school prides itself on winning the Blue Ribbon Award back in 2010 which is a great accomplishment, but how the school administers work to the students is painful. The school has many on line tools but doesn t require the teachers to use these tools so homework is given by some teachers verbally, some on a black board in which the kids are expected to write it in their agenda, some is given via their on line portal called SchoolSpeak. Because there is no consistency, kids are often lost on what is due and when and an enormous amount of time is spent managing the HW, (calling other students, etc) vs doing the work. Teachers change dates of tests constantly and do not coordinate with other teachers on when big assignments or tests are given, so studying is done too early or you end up with 4 tests on one day. When brought up the schools attitude is that s life and not what you would expect.

St. John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
SJF is amazing and Mrs. Gradoville in 3rd grade is the best teacher I have come across in my sons schooling and my own. This schools ability to work with all different types of children, teaching them to be great students and also great human beings is far superior to any other school in the area. The kids are kind, the teachers are loving and the principal is the perfect combination of firm and friendly. I love having uniforms and look forward to all 3 of my children going to this school.


St. John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
St. John Fisher is such an amazing school! Our son moved his 5th grade year from another school in the area and we couldn't be happier with the academics, the teachers, the principal, the great families, etc... I could go on and on. Our son is a completely different kid, because of the warm, encouraging, stable environment at SJF. I thank Mrs. Hudani for running such an incredible school. There is a saying... "Your school is only as strong as your principal". In this case, I can attest that Mrs. Hudani is more than just strong... she is loving, caring, kind, firm, and fair. If you are looking for a school that encourages every child to be who they are and excel at what they are gifted with, then this is the school for you! Every child has a place at SJF, whether you are an actor, an athlete, a musician, or a scholar there is a place for you here. I am forever grateful that we were lead to SJF. Our decision to move our son to SJF has altered his life and who he eventually will become.

St. John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Small, family-oriented environment. Very rigorous academic standards that teach the kids to seek, value and love learning. The school offers numerous opportunities for learning and growth. The moral and spiritual values are useful for life. As with anything, you get what you put in. Parent involvement is highly encouraged and if anyone sees a wrong being done, Principal Hudani's office is always open and in my experience, and to my knowledge she has attended to every single student-related concern brought to her attention.

St. John Fisher Elementary School 2

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
Totally agree with one of the comments on this site. "This school has been a big disappointment." Student academic achievements are mediocre at best. The school parent environment is very clickish. Have seen a middle school student being bullied yet the school or the principal did nothing to help. If you are looking for a good loving, motivating, and learning environment for your children in a private school setting, this is not worth your money


St. John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
My daughter joined the school this year as an alternative to public middle school and we couldn't be happier. The middle school teachers are excellent (kind and nurturing) in dealing with this age group which isn't always easy. The school is very strong in math and science. My daughter went from hating science to loving it. I'm certain the middle schoolers will be well prepared for high school.

St. John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
St. John Fisher School is a K-8 private school which received national recognition in 2010 as a "Blue Ribbon School of Excellence." Together with faculty, staff and parents Principal Hudani has created a cutting-edge environment conducive to learning at every level. The schoolwide learning expectations emphasize caring, personal responsibility, and integrity. With these character traits, the students are encouraged to work within their family and among their peers to care for each other and their larger community. This is truly a special place to go to school and is a really affordable option when compared to other private schools in the area. The teachers are wonderful and the children are very prepared for high school when they graduate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Fisher Elementary School
5446 Crest Road, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA  90275
(310) 377-2800
Last modified St. John Fisher Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. John Fisher Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top