Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trabuco Mesa Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 668 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

This school is wonderful! The teachers and staff care for the children and their learning. The children are friendly. PTA is very involved. The school does offer music for 5th and 6th grades. There are lots of activities throughout the year. Campus is beautiful. Also, Mr. Roberts is an excellent educator/teacher. Highly recommend Trabuco Mesa Elementary. We'll miss it there. My only recommendation to the school would be shade covers on the playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

This is our families last year at Trabuco Mesa, as our youngest is promoting. We feel truly blessed by the amazing teachers, staff, and leadership at this school! Thank you for the excellent education you have provided to our family. We will always shine with Bulldog Pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

Please make sure to advocate for your child if you have concerns from their test grades in class and STAR testing results! Legally any requests for testing your child for developmental concerns has to be completed within 90 days. I have learned that children aren't looked upon as having problems until they are two or more grade levels behind. Unfortunately, with the cheating scandal which ensued in NorCal this year, delayed our STAR testing results and are of no use if there are any learning concerns now that the school year has started. I was extremely concerned about my sons Math and English test scores over the last 2 years. Assured by teachers he was fine. Come to find out he tests two grades below where he should be and is going into 7th grade this year. How is that acceptable? Unfortunately our children are suffering from the budget cuts and I will be keeping a close eye on my 4th grader because I'm not thrilled with the teacher he was assigned this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

My son has completed 1.5 years at this school. He started 1st grade for the spring Semester and had Mrs. Walloch as a teacher. She was absolutely wonderful. She helped my son adjust to the new class really well, and encouraged the children in her class to try harder than they were. For second grade my son had Mrs. Kuritzky. She was new to the school. Unfortunately she and I did not see eye to eye on the academic expectations I have for my son. She relied too much on parent volunteers, too scatter brained and barely taught the minimum. During the parent teacher conference she didn't even have a grade book to show me how my son was doing. She didn't even require the students to do a research project. The book reports are NOT book reports, but are just simple questions that can be answered in one sentence. Her lack of communication with the parents was insane. Her main excuse for things was "what do you expect, they're only in second grade". What do I expect? I expect my son to be challenged, and for a teacher to actually teach. Needless to say I was EXTREMELY disappointed with her as a teacher. All I can do now is pray that my son has an amazing third grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

Teachers are excellent and very dedicated to their students. Too bad that cannot be said of the principal. Children who learn and look differently are being pushed out of this school, and no one questions what is going on or why it's happening. This school is going downhill fast. Where is the principal? She's hiding in her office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

Just simply I can say the tearchers , principal and their stuffs are wonderfull . Because I join last year and they are so cooparetive with me and my son I am just happy with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

Trabuco Mesa was an excellent 5 star school under the tenure leadership of Mrs Westmoreland, who was an anchor to the teachers and students, She instilled fairness and equity, The new principle is more like a sarcastic weight who belittles when children ask for direction, report injustices ,or who are unique in their own ways. There is also favortism by some teachers & principle in "attitudes" portrayed which isnt a good example from adults..there is some out of control bulling & profanity circling w/ very little discipline to halt it. If the new principle only had the vision to see how she truly could make a difference in the lives of all our children by leading by a Godly , Good and positive example. There are many good teachers at Trabuco Mesa and great kids, yet the spirit of the campus has changed..The school was always positive prior with my children there for several years, the new princile seems to care more about being right and being liked than truly leading, The school has slipped from a 5 star rating to a 3 ...One of the best features of Trabuco Mesa is the after school TLC program led by a very excellent staff witht great supervision and excellent leadership !.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

My children have been to 4 elementary schools in the district over the years, and Trabuco Mesa is by far one of the best. Mrs. McGrew is wonderful and very involved in every aspect of the school. To the person who posted the negative comment in March 2011, sorry, but your kids need to be able to pass standardized tests and learn basic grade level skills. This is not the principals fault, this is a State requirement. It sounds like you are more upset with the education system and are putting the blame on the principal which is wrong on so many levels. If you want you kids to be creative, take them to the park, museums, do art with them at home. They are at school to get an education. Writing with foster their creativity. So will the may projects they are assigned over the years. If that's not good enough for you and you are not willing to be responsible enough to hold them to basic standards home school them or by all means find a charter school that caters to your needs. Unfortunately for you charter schools want children with strong academics so your children will likely fail in this environment too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

Since the new principal came on board this school is going down hill fast. She does not care about children or the school. She is a newbie and out to prove something. Help We need a real leader/ caring professional to step in. As for the teachers instead of worring about state test scores they need to worry about teaching the skill first. It's a shame that our teachers are no longer caring or creative instead they are forcing our youth to be robots and if you don't conform you are out or considered a problem. What happened to freedom of expression and thought? What happened to finding a childs strength and helping them blossom to their full potential. In Orange County all they care about is there pay. What happened to making a difference in a childs life? One great person can make a difference and this school does not have it. I feel sorry for the children and hope some one can make it change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

My son goes to Ms Kyna's class & we are so happy for a wonderful foundation she gives for my son. He's on Pre-school & he enjoy & look forward going to school because of the positive experience he gets from his school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

Don't let the looks or the location of this school fool you. The teachers only teach the kids to pass the state tests. They are not concerned about making sure that our kids get a proper education. My child is now in the 6th grade, and I have not once heard from his teacher about his grades, yet I have found out that he is getting below average grades on his homework and testing. To me, that is poor teaching. Communication is poor with the parents. I'm sick of my child coming home telling me that they are being told the school is broke so they are taking away a lot of their activities. Depressing. I'm glad this is his last year there. I was hoping the new principal of the school would have made a difference, not make it worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

I love this school because it cares. We have wonderful teachers who go above and beyond the norm and a terrific principal who makes it a point to know everyone. It truely is the best school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

The teachers are wonderful. Like all schools we are going thru hard times financially but most of the parents are willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

great school...always friendly, helpful, understanding, and an outstanding staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

Trabuco Mesa has an excellent staff that works very hard to provide a balanced education for every student. Every Friday morning the entire school has a flag assembly that the students all seem to enjoy as well as all of us parents! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

Trabuco Mesa is wonderful school with great staff. I'm especially happy about the unexpectedly high amount of diversity of students that attend. My daughter is entering first grade this year, so we have limited experience, but so far have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Hello, I have 2 children currently attending Trabuco Mesa Elem. and we couldn't be happier with our choice of schools. The last school my son attended we had a hard time communicating with the teacher and my son started falling behind. Now he is doing much better and is getting the attention he needs to accelerate. My kindergartener is doing well too. Enjoys the classroom, staff and new friends. There are many programs offered to children to aid in challenging subjects. I do wish there was more offered for music and sports for the younger children. The school has an excellent after school program offered by the school district called TLC. My kids love going, have made lots of friends, and have enjoyed doing the art activities and sports. This school all around has helped my children love school and learning. Thank you Trabuco Mesa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

My daughter loves Mrs. Miles (1st grade). TM has a great staff and lots of special events for the kids and for the family - Beach Blanket Blast, music concerts, book fairs, etc... The music program was great this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

The Talk program is excellent. The Teachers offer creative and fun activities to improve the children's speech abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

For children who have little to no special needs, especially mental health, I'm sure the school is very good. However, my experience in trying to obtain necessary services & supports has been extremely frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

917

Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

917

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females94%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state73%

Math

All Students89%
Females94%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females77%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females86%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females89%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability63%
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state94%

Math

All Students92%
Females93%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disability78%
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females85%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females78%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability82%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students89%
Females87%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability82%
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females71%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females67%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 28%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 5%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/AN/A
English language learners 11%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Caryn McGrew
Fax number
  • (949) 858-5476

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21301 Avenida De Los Flores
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688
Phone: (949) 858-3339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Robinson Elementary School
Trabuco Canyon, CA


Cielo Vista Elementary School
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA


Trabuco Elementary School
Trabuco Canyon, CA



Montessori At The Park
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA


St. John's Episcopal School
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT