Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vista Preparatory Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
This school cares about their students safety and their health. They take care of their students with love. The help to solve problems.

Vista Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
I am very grateful for Chico state house. Every teacher in the house works very hard to keep their students safe and well educated. They have a very good system of working together, and are great at creating a bond with each student in their class.


Vista Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
I want to say thank you to my teacher Ms. Shannon at this school! Before 8th grade I was failing, I didn't want to do my work, and I hated everyone and every thing in the school. I didn't want to listen and to be honest, I didn't care if I graduated or not this year, but then I came to her classroom and she showed me the good things about wanting to graduate. She showed me how to appreciate the finer things here and it really helped me to get over the fact that I didn't like this school. The graduating 8th grade class of 2016 was the the first test of guinnie pigs to try out having the 6th grade at a middle school, And I honestly think that we turned out okay. We are all graduating so I think our teachers did good. I love this school and I hate it sometimes but I know that i have had a great three years here thanks to my teacher Ms. Shannon. I love her so much she is caring, thoughtful, kind, and the best teacher in the world. I don't know what I would have done without her this year. She helped me get through being bullied and having a stressful time with the horrendous testing. I think that she is the best teacher I'm ever going to have in my whole life . I honestly just want to thank her over and over and over again. I know that i have given her a rough time sometimes in the year but I love her so much that i feel bad about it afterwords. I just want to say thank you, thank you, thank you for everything you have done for me.

Vista Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a teacher
I want to thank Ms. Shannon, She is one of the very few teachers who cared about me, and my well being. This has been my first year that I get good grades, because Ms. Shannon pushed me to do my very best, now I know I'll be ready for high school. I have had a wonderful 8th grade year.

Vista Preparatory Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
I don't think this school's office staff develops respect in it's student or its students parents. They often have a bad attitude and are very rude to parents and students asking simple questions.


Vista Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
not all the teachers but a lot of them, like Ms. Shannon and Mr. Osborn. They are both incredible. they are great with the students and their teaching skills are very effective

Vista Preparatory Academy 3

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
I love and hate this school but my teacher has made this the best for me. The secretaries and nurse in the main office are rude but are good otherwise. But other than that I do love this school.

Vista Preparatory Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a teacher
I am an 8th grade teacher at Vista Prep., finishing my third year working there. I love this school, the students, parents, my administration, and my peers. I think that your experience anywhere is what you make of it, whether it's school or a career. Vista is a canvas still being painted. Is it perfect? No, but what school is? I put my heart, soul, and brain into enhancing and integrating my curriculum, my connection with all of the students I have contact with, my communication with everyone, and in providing a safe, engaging, and positive classroom environment. The climatic and cultural changes that Mr. Scharaga and Mrs. Holland facilitated here the past 3-4 years have changed this campus from one of serious negative behaviors, to one of resounding respect, kindness, and support. I have followed their lead, doing what's right and best for our students, whether it's in the classroom, or out on our campus. Their "vision" matched mine, and I have been dedicated to the improvement and implementation of ideas that will enhance Vista even further. I am relentless in my pursuit of the best of everything for my students, spending nights, weekends, and vacation time researching, working, and writing my own materials to provide the best instruction for my 8th graders. There are others like me at Vista, too. I will be here until I retire, dedicating myself to the academic, social, and emotional betterment of our students. Teaching and being a memorable role model is my passion, and my reason for loving my career. It is the hardest, most stressful, yet best work I can imagine, and the most worthwhile in terms of the lasting effect I can have on a person's growth. I even commute from Chico every day, adding over an hour to my day in order to work here. I am blessed to do what I do, and I choose to do it at Vista Prep in Red Bluff.


Vista Preparatory Academy 1

Posted November 20, 2015
- a student
The school is of abysmal quality compared to my last decent school. They offer awful lunch, which is overpriced as well, average snacks, and substandard breakfasts. The cafeteria, recently built, looks nice, but it's the only nice looking thing about the school. The grass is faded yellow, and trash is everywhere. The gym is average, and before the cafeteria was built, it was used as a cafeteria as well, along with (always dirty) outside tables. And this is just the quality of the school itself... not even the school part of it. The classrooms are divided into "houses" to "help get along with people older/younger than you", and you go to lunch and events with this group. Worse, you're stuck with the same kids all three years. Sixth grade, new kids, yaaay! Seventh grade, same kids, and maybe a few moved or new ones came. Eighth, ugh. Same kids, with minimal changes. No new opportunities to get new friends in new classrooms, and you hardly see any kids your age not in your house. I have a friend in a different house, and I only ever see him occasionally walking to the gym or library, at the Wednesday lunch break, or before/after school. Speaking of library, it doesn't even have many new books, mostly really old and uninteresting stuff. Wednesday is an odd day, we get out at 12:45 compared to the 2:47 of the other weekdays. Last year it used to be 2:45 all days except Monday, which was 12:45. I personally prefer Monday short days. The lunch is cramped up with more houses out than usual, and the line for lunch is longer - it doesn't shorten until 15 minutes before the break is over. The classroom is abysmal, and the kids I'm stuck with are insane. The classroom is never focused no matter what the teacher tries to stop the chaos - and she can't do much. I hate this school, and not for the learning part of it - oh no, I don't mind school work. I hate it because of the people there, and its abysmal quality. If you can, avoid it.

Vista Preparatory Academy 4

Posted January 14, 2014
- a community member
I am an 8th grade student at Vista Preperatory Academy. I was enrolled in Vista the last year the mascot was Vikings, and this year when they changed the school. Last year, the school was horrible. Nothing was clean, everything wasn't working properly. But it was still a great school. We had class periods like any other middle school, and it was a fun environment for students. Over the summer the district decided to change the school for the better. They changed the mascot, the colors, the paint on the buildings, and how the system is runned. Now instead of class periods, we have 'houses.' Each 'house' is made up of one 6th, 7th, and 8th grade class. You have one teacher all day long, and it sets an easier learning environment. Students get along, and though they have had to cut some extra curricular activities to afford it. It has made the school a better place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Preparatory Academy
1770 South Jackson Street, Red Bluff, CA  96080-4505
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (530) 527-7840
Last modified Vista Preparatory Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top