Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mariposa Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 570 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

My son and daughter have attended for one year, this school is amazing! The Principal Mr.B knows every single child. He is very involved with his school and takes a lot of pride in running it as well. I am always informed of what is going on with the school, by email, automated voice messages, teachers, memos and flyers. I can really see the difference in my son and daughter with the level of academics. My daughter is in Transitional kindergarten and she is at the level of a 2nd grader. My son came from Smiley school in Redlands (yes a great school ) except Mariposa is a 10 and it shows in the grades, school, teachers and staff! I am so proud of my kids school. This is why my husband and I made the sacrifice to buy a house within the Mariposa district (right down the street). What can I ask for a school with a TOP TEN RATING and amazing neighborhood, Jewel of the Inland Empire!!!!!! Regards, Esmeralda Rendon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

This is our fourth year here at Mariposa Elementary in Redlands! We were excited and emotional as we felt we won the lotto upon entering kindergarten. We have not been disappointed. Our son is now in third grade and the atmosphere here is one of a family. A true genuine welcome back from other parents, staff and admin. after summer vacation. The educational curriculum and rigor have always met or exceeded our expectations. The children are held to high standards and that is what sets them above the best. At Back-To-School Night we heard that Mariposa was recognized nationally for their awesome PTA. Home and school partnership are truly exemplary here at Mariposa! It is a great feeling to send our son to school everyday knowing that he is in a safe and a very well loved place! Mr. "B" and his staff: clerical, custodial and certificated really make Mariposa a wonderful place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

As an anonymous student who will remain unknown on this site, I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!! The teachers are wonderful and will always push you to do your best. The PTA is really awesome. And the principal is perfect, just perfect! We recently won the distinguished school award in 2012 and have gotten the highest CST (California State Test) scores in the district every year for longer than I can remember! We also include the GATE (Gifted And Talented Enrichment/Education) and other great programs. Plus, we have running club, jr. and monarch chourus, YMCA day care, fitness Fridays, fall festival, a Halloween parade, and A-thons to raise money for our school. I highly suggest this school for your child!


Posted June 13, 2013

Mariposa is an awesome school! Fantastic teachers, wonderful principal who knows you by name, and such a positive learning environment. Not only does Mariposa offer strong academics, but here, teachers, staff, and PTA are dedicated, creative, and generous of their resources and time, donating much appreciated after school 'extras' like choir, GATE, run club, garden club, and sports events they are not compensated for due to budget cuts. Our children are fortunate to excel in such a well-rounded educational experience we are grateful for an extraordinary public school like this. Thank you Mariposa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Our family has been at Mariposa for 9 years. How blessed we are!! All nine years have been filled with stellar teachers, a challenging and encouraging learning environment, welcomed volunteering, exposure to the arts, and a great sense of community. The principal has been supportive and is a fearless leader when it comes to leading the teachers and supporting the families during these tough economic times and budget cuts. Our family is honored to be part of the Mariposa Community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

This school is AMAZING!!! Teachers are warm and friendly, parents are highly involved and administration is always there to listen. We have attended Mariposa for kindergarten and 1st grade and our child has had the time of his life! We were SO worried about putting our son in public school because we've heard horror stories about all of the education cut backs and how awful schools had become. This school has been able to retain the most amazing teachers and had a very warm attitude through the whole political mess. Our little boy has grown leaps and bounds and never been happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

Mariposa is an outstanding school. I have a third grader and first grader and we all love Mariposa. I'm very impressed with the creativity and initiative the school has instilled in my kids. For example, in my third grader's class project, she had to do the research on European Hornets, make the insect model using natural material, add one more visual aid, choose the related background music (she chose to compose and play her own music.), select costume,and present the report as a character other than a third grader. So this science project actually covered science, visual art, music, performing art, and presentation skills. And the best of all, she did it all by herself, with fun! They do have lots of fun. So far this year, the third grader had musicals, talent shows, many fields trips and parties. The school and PTA sponsored many enrichment activities, e.g.,chorus, band, art , Chinese,fall festival, Reflection, Fitness Friday, and many assemblies. My first grader also loves the school and the teacher. She had grown so much academically and on her independence. And the principal, I'm just amazed that he remembers all student's names! How can we not love Mariposa?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Stellar school, super parental support, tremendous teachers, and great administration. Many, many happy parents and kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Outstanding job for another wonderful school year. Our 2nd grade teacher was a blessing for our child. He progressed wonderfully throughout the year. We appreciate the time and effort the PTA members, parents, staff, and principal put into this school and each and every child. We are thrilled with the approach to education being taught at Maripose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

We could not ask for a better school for our kids. The teachers are top notch and the principal is amazing. He is very involved in everything that goes on at the school, and pays personal attention to each student. There is a real sense of community at the school, and the teachers work hard to meet the individual needs of each student. My family loves Mariposa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

"Cheers, Cheers for Mariposa School; we're all a family! The teachers are first-rate and learning is always great! Mariposa School is number one! " This is the beginning of Mariposa's school song, which is song by the whole school every Friday afternoon at flag assembly! We really are one big happy family; the parents are welcomed to volunteer; the office staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and you cant say enough about our Mr. Bohlender -- lovingly nicknamed "Mr. B"! He knows every child by name and cares about all the children. I've even seen him in the pouring rain directing traffic and carrying children through deep puddles! Our school has a wonderful emphasis on the arts, which is so enthusiastically shown in our latest "A-Thon" video, which is posted on our school website. My children will be entering the fifth grade next year and I am very emotional about leaving Mariposa and going to middle school. The memories and experiences my children have from this "Most Distinguished School" will hold a cherished place in my family's heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

What a huge blessing Mariposa has been to our family! When we entered public schools 3 years ago we had no idea that a public school could be so amazing with so much to offer. The principal is an phenomenal administrator who wants the best for each child and does what he can to meet the needs of every family. The teachers are highly trained with many years of experience. It's a happy place all year long that always welcomes parents and family members on campus. There seems to be an open door policy with each staff member, they have been more than accommodating every time I need something. We are thrilled to spend many more years at Mariposa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

We have 2 children at Mariposa. When we first moved to Redlands school district from out of state, my first born went to her "assigned school". We were not happy and went school shopping. Mariposa welcomed us when we came to visit the school with open arms and we have had that experience ever since. Are you are interested in a school were the teachers love to teach, the principal is kind, intelligent and caring, and the parents are always welcome? Then this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Mariposa is a great school! Everyone in Redlands wants a transfer is their children can attend the best school in the area. There is amazing parent involvement, the PTA is outstanding and our Principal knows each and every child by name. Although Mariposa has high standards for the students, it also promotes the Arts. Every class has the opportunity to perform in a play or music performance. The Office Staff is awesome! Everyone who works at Mariposa strives to make it a positive experience for parents and children alike!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Mariposa is the most awesome school we have ever attended. My oldest child attended two private schools in Redlands and when we started at Mariposa I knew I was throwing my money away for all those years. My middle child has just competed the 3rd grade( he has been a member of this school since kindergarten) with the most amazing teacher ever! He has had grown so much this school year it is unbelievable. I will never waste money again on private school tution when we have this amazing school in our neighborhood. I would also like to point out that each and every member of the staff is amazing. Our wonderful principle knows each and every child by name! I couldn't ask for a better education for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

We had a great experience at Mariposa during Kindergarten. But, jumping to 1st grade, the teacher was a bully and the principal did not correct the situation. In addition to that, I have to say that I was very dismayed that the staff was so so wrapped up in test scores. I received notes and emails about the same upcoming tests (this is 1st grade mind you) and my child received admonishments in class to "study hard for the test." My child developed anxiety over testing at this school. There are more important things to develop in 1st grade than a person's ability to take a test. How about fostering a life long love of learning? There are other schools in Redlands that are great and don't put so much pressure on the little ones to perform. There is a difference between having high expectations, which is fine, and culturing a child to respond to high pressure, which is not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Mariposa is above the rest. My son is in 2nd grade and because he and several classmates are very advanced in math, they created an accelerated 3rd grade math. My son again is in 2nd grade and has already learned division. The teachers are amazing and the Principal is the best there is. The principal knows all the parents and in the mornings he greets everyone and he is always involved in every activity the school is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

I LOVE MARIPOSA SCHOOL THE TEACHERS ARE 100% COMMITED TO THE STUDENTS. THE PRINCIPAL IS AWESOME. IF YOU LIVE IN THE AREA CONSIDER YOURSELF BLESSED THE GARDENS, TRAILS, CREEK AND MURALS ARE FANTASTIC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I love Mariposa School because they support me in my efforts to raise a conscientious child. The kids get recognized for keeping their school clean. They plant gardens and weed their school campus together. They teach ways to conserve energy and cut down on pollution. Their teachers and principal are A+ too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This is the best school! I went here as a child and now my 8 year old attends. It is wonderful; the teachers and staff care so much about each child! There are so many parent volunteers that teachers get extra help for the select children that need it most. This way the teacher can concentrate on the whole class and not just one or two students that are behind and need more assistance. I am so fortunate to be a stay home mom with a very bright child. This means I get to be a volunteer and assist with the children that are not reading at their appropriate level. I can not say enough good things about Mariposa... It feels like a huge family and not only my son, but I have made some amazing and long lasting friendships here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

936

Change from
2012 to 2013

+13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

936

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females93%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females86%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females76%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females87%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females94%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females86%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females88%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females86%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students92%
Females88%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 27%
Hispanic 24% 51%
Asian 11% 11%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30800 Palo Alto Dr.
Redlands, CA 92373
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 794-8620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Pathway Christian
Redlands, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT