Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Redlands Christian

Private | K-8 | 416 students

Our School is best known for educating students in the truth of God's word.

 
 

Living in Redlands

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

My child attended RCS until pulled and placed in a public school. No one would budge to help modify lessons to address learning needs. No one knew how to deal with sensory needs. They also kept wanting to label my child as ADHD when that infact was false. My child was constantly singled out, and put down. My child's art work and classwork was never shown because it was different. I also did not appreciate how it was ok for the students to not include my child. Once pulled we realized just how far behind this school is. They state they are at and even above grade level but that is not true. Students at the new school knew far more than my child. My child also finally received appropriate modified education as well as appropriate modifications and help. My child has true friends who really care about her, not fake friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

The philosophy of a Christ-centered education is more than apparent here. The expectation is that each family will be delivering the same Bible based message at home to their children as they are receiving at Church and at school. Absolutely the type of school and leadership that our family values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

RCS has a great community feel where the students and families are well known and feel integrated. Not only has the school kept the "specials" (music, art, computer) but values them highly and encourages active involvement. The academics are appropriate for developmental levels with creative projects at every grade. Gifted students' are stretched without just piling on extra work and yet slower movers get the help they need as well. We have been nothing but impressed with the character and leadership of each teacher our children have had. I highly recommend Redlands Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

ALL of my daughters have attended RCS at one point or another. My wife and I are constantly amazed at how God works in and through the teachers and administrative staff and feeds into the lives of our kids. They come home singing songs of praise, reciting bible memory verses AND excited about what they are learning in math, social studies and the arts! We are SOOOO thankful for the godly leadership at this school and the safe environment for our kids to learn in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

If you are looking for a Christ-centered school, with small class sizes, dedicated staff, excellent sports programs, and participative parents, then Redlands Christian is the school for you. I drive my three kids from Yucaipa to Redlands each day becasue we support and belive in the Christian education they recieve. I can't think of anything better to spend my money on than my kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I am a public school teacher who sends his kids to Redlands Christian. I am frequently asked why I send my kids to Christian school. Unfailingly, my answer is that I am not afraid of public schools, and I would not send them to any Christian school, but Redlands Christian provides such a wonderful community, dedicated teachers, and excellent programs that I just can't imagine depriving them of the opportunities, relationships, and Christian growth that they have at Redlands Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

All four of my children have or are attending Redlands Christioan school. Two of my four have graduated from Arrowhead Christiona Academy. These schools have given my childern a sense of confidence and superior education. Two of my four children are at a university and have maintained no less than a 3.8 GPA. The educators have been diligent in providing an excellent learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Disappointed with lack of discipline for students. There is a lack of communication from administration. When talking to administration, things did not get adressed and had no solutions. After 3 years, still confused about things that were going on, even though I did volunteer alot on campus. The 2nd and 3rd grade teachers were awesome and that is the only reason we stayed. Classes were large, almost 30 students. My child is now attending public school and loves it. They are great and my child is learning what she needs to get into a college. RCS was a disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

This s our second year at RCS. I am so happy the Lord led us here. The Holy Spirit is genuinely at work here.the parent evolvement is amazing. Academics are great. Arts, sports, music all are so good at RCS. Most of all they are building a lifelong foundation in Christ Jesus. All the students are help accountable for there actions. Very " others " oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I love this school have been there practically my whole life still there but graduating this year from 8th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2008

Like many schools, RCS does not offer a strong gifted program : It is a pull-out class once a week where they do word puzzles. The fifth and sixth grade teachers received complaints about their preferential treatment of the girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

The teacher to student ratio is excellent. You will not find low numbers in the public school system. There are a number of extra activities for students like track, football, baseball, basketball, cheerleading, singing/acting, and music. Parents are very involved in the school. There was a huge turnout to open house night and everyone of them cares about their child and his/her education. Parents are a key part in the childs education at this school, especially since they pay for the tuition. The children are very well mannered and respectful. There is also extra work for students who are advanced as well as on-site special ed resources. I also like that the kids are not taught to the stupid state test! They are getting a well rounded quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Academic programs at RCS are acceptable, probably better than local public schools, but not as challenging as I was expecting from a private school. Most of the teachers are excellent, but are not given the tools needed to challenge the students to do their best. There tends to be a heavy focus on working with kids with disabilities, but not pushing the kids academically who excel. There is an adequate availability of extracurricular activites. Parents are always welcome on-campus and they tend to be willing to be involved, which is great considering that most of the parents have to work to afford the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

My children love to go to school everyday and the teachers provide a loving and comfortable situation for them. The academics philosophy is to find the best curriculum rather than a faith based curriculum and the teacher's then integrate faith, which I feel is the correct way to appoach Christian education. My child has the opportunity for music and PE once a week as a Kindergartner, which is great. The the sports start at 4th grade and there is a good variety. It is difficult as a new parent to the school to become involved. There is a lot of tradition and when your new it is overwhelming and the communication is not very informational. However, I have found the teachers to be very open to parent involvement in the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2005

In my opinion, the quality of the programs is dependant on teacher. Some are quite good and dedicated to the students. I have mixed feelings as to the overall 'quality' of the education for the college bound... but they generally have the kids' best interests at heart. It was probably one of the few 'ok' schools in an area with few decent and no exceptional schools that I could locate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

This school is by far the best private school in Redlands. It has a level of academics that are by far higher then any other school around. The parental involvement is exceptional and the class size and teacher amount is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

RCS is a great place to learn. The school is now PreK through grade 8 (not K-9). There are two sections of each grade. Parent/school communication is superb! Go to the Holland Festival for a good taste of the level of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Redlands Christian School has caring & committed and highly educated teachers. The school has been in Redlands for over 75 years. Children at RCS are respectful and are foremost taught about God!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 26%
Hispanic 30% 52%
Black 15% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 11%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. William Johnson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Special education
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • https://vimeo.com/66764183
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
First Lutheran Children's Center
Christ the King

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arrowhead Christian Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1145 North Church Street
Redlands, CA 92374
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 793-5172

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT