Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Redondo Beach, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Beryl Heights Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
An amazing little community surrounds this school. A bunch of really great children attend all with parents that are kind and helpful. Unfortunately the leadership of this school does everything in their power to keep parents out of the classrooms. They will throw parents and bone here and there by letting them volunteer under monitored situations. With class sizes rising teachers need help. This reflects on the "factory style" methods used to teach students. This type of learning is very out of date and ineffective in this day and age. I can not say whether the teachers are good or bad because they basically are under a dictatorship. It's time for a change at Beryl and it won't happen with its current leader.

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
the most amazing thing about this elementary school is the hands-on attention by all faculty and the Principal Mrs. Mohr. they offer extra curricular programs and great support system for the students on a daily basis. Both of my children have gone there for the past 4 years and we could not be happier.


Beryl Heights Elementary School 2

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
This is a review for the Redondo Beach Unified School System at the district level. If you have a high achieving or gifted child who is grads K-2, then this district is not the place for them. When looking into weather this school system would be the right fit for my child who is performing well above his age, I asked what the school district does for children before they qualify for the GATE program in third grade. According to Educational Services, my high achieving child would be better off in a private school, as he would not receive any differentiating instruction in the classroom. I find the approach of giving cookie-cutter education unfair and it's certainly not a place where we will be sending our child. Most of the other districts have a cluster program that separates children into below, average, and above average performance groups in the classroom. According to Educational Services, there are no such clusters at RBUSD. It's one-size-fits-all learning here! It was certainly surprising considering the district's high ratings, but it's apparent that the district is only concerned with maintaing the status quo.

Beryl Heights Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
If you want to attend a school that is run by parents then this is your school. Good luck trying to ever "change" anything..the old school PTA is stuck on what they do with the same people doing it every year. New parents beware!! Teachers are excellent they seem to really care about the students. Majority of the parents that I talk to or see seem to spend more time there then their children..cut the cord people!! I get disgusted listening to the same group of parents brag about how they demand special treatment from the teachers. Here is a tip..the parents are bigger bullies then what they are complaining about.

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Beryl Heights is the best elementary school ever!!! The principal, staff, teachers, parents and students are caring and involved. It is affiliated with many wonderful organizations such as Beach Cities Health District, Blue Zones Project, and The Friendship Circle, creating a very healthy environment in which to learn and grow.


Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Beryl Heights is a fantastic school and I am so happy my 3 kids have such a wonderful environment in which to learn. One great thing about Beryl is that they are affiliated with the Beach Cities Health District Programs, which bring wonderful programs and trained docents to every grade level. These programs include Gardening, Nutrition, Walking School Bus and more! Each morning, the kids exercise to get "moving" and get their wiggles out together - such a great way to come together as a school and start the day united and focused! Our principal - Mrs. Mohr is a wonderful leader and truly cares about and gets to know all of the kids. The teachers care about their profession and it is a great community!

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school. The teachers really care and have such commitment to the school and community. The parents are really great. Strong PTA. Mrs. Mohr the school Principal is phenomenal. My kids have really thrived at this place and learned respect and character and great discipline. The office ladies are awesome too. 5 stars

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Very close knit community, with great principal and excellent teachers. Transitioned my very advanced child from private school environment to this public school in 1st Grade. Very wary at first as to whether boredom/lack of challenge would be a problem. It's not! Teachers do a great job of differentiation, and meet each child where they are. Very high level of parent participation, and a great variety of extra-curricular activities on campus. We love it!


Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
We have been at Beryl for two years and are absolutely happy and impressed. The teachers are outstanding, the principal is amazing (she knows every student's name!), and the PTA is very involved. It is a smaller school which is ideal for us - lots of individual attention and you get to know everyone.

Beryl Heights Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Beryl is a small school with lots of individual attention for each student, a hard working team, and great kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beryl Heights Elementary School
920 Beryl Street, Redondo Beach, CA  90277
(310) 798-8611
Last modified Beryl Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Beryl Heights Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top