Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Redondo Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 462
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Beryl Heights Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
If you want to attend a school that is run by parents then this is your school. Good luck trying to ever "change" anything..the old school PTA is stuck on what they do with the same people doing it every year. New parents beware!! Teachers are excellent they seem to really care about the students. Majority of the parents that I talk to or see seem to spend more time there then their children..cut the cord people!! I get disgusted listening to the same group of parents brag about how they demand special treatment from the teachers. Here is a tip..the parents are bigger bullies then what they are complaining about.

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Beryl Heights is the best elementary school ever!!! The principal, staff, teachers, parents and students are caring and involved. It is affiliated with many wonderful organizations such as Beach Cities Health District, Blue Zones Project, and The Friendship Circle, creating a very healthy environment in which to learn and grow.


Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Beryl Heights is a fantastic school and I am so happy my 3 kids have such a wonderful environment in which to learn. One great thing about Beryl is that they are affiliated with the Beach Cities Health District Programs, which bring wonderful programs and trained docents to every grade level. These programs include Gardening, Nutrition, Walking School Bus and more! Each morning, the kids exercise to get "moving" and get their wiggles out together - such a great way to come together as a school and start the day united and focused! Our principal - Mrs. Mohr is a wonderful leader and truly cares about and gets to know all of the kids. The teachers care about their profession and it is a great community!

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school. The teachers really care and have such commitment to the school and community. The parents are really great. Strong PTA. Mrs. Mohr the school Principal is phenomenal. My kids have really thrived at this place and learned respect and character and great discipline. The office ladies are awesome too. 5 stars

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Very close knit community, with great principal and excellent teachers. Transitioned my very advanced child from private school environment to this public school in 1st Grade. Very wary at first as to whether boredom/lack of challenge would be a problem. It's not! Teachers do a great job of differentiation, and meet each child where they are. Very high level of parent participation, and a great variety of extra-curricular activities on campus. We love it!


Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
We have been at Beryl for two years and are absolutely happy and impressed. The teachers are outstanding, the principal is amazing (she knows every student's name!), and the PTA is very involved. It is a smaller school which is ideal for us - lots of individual attention and you get to know everyone.

Beryl Heights Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Beryl is a small school with lots of individual attention for each student, a hard working team, and great kids.

Beryl Heights Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
I Think is one of the greatest schools in the south bay area and is really great to see how the school score. Is important for parents to know that our childrens are going to one school who really cars about them.


Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
Beryl Heights is the number one elementary school in Redondo Beach. The API score is 921, second highest in RB by a few points. This is on par with top schools in the state. The comparative school rank is 10. In fact, the school down the street that is a lot bigger and only 6 points higher in API is only rated 8. Lastly, the ratio of social and economic disadvantaged students and students with disabilities relative to overall students is very uneaven in Redondo. Especially compared to the school with the highest API. These two factors are considered major contributors to low API scores. Therefore, I believe that the teachers, staff and principal of Beryl have done an oustanding job with the students. The lack of after school programs are a result of less funding and not enough parents willing to pay for the programs.

Beryl Heights Elementary School 5

Posted June 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beryl Heights Elementary School
920 Beryl Street, Redondo Beach, CA  90277
(310) 798-8611
Last modified Beryl Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Beryl Heights Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top