Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Redwood City, CA
Students enrolled: 407
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mckinley Institute Of Technology 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
i love McKinley its a good school for you kids and they will learn so much here

Mckinley Institute Of Technology 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
McKinley Institute of Technology is a small family of wonderful teachers, an amazing office staff and kids that are happy to be there. I have been part of this family as a parent and volunteer, and I feel blessed that my kids have been and are part of this school. The teachers really care about the students, they want to help them succeed and be great. The office staff is always welcoming whether you have a question or simply want to wait for the bell to ring to take your child home. The principal and vice - principal are involved and motivating to the students and staff. The children themselves seem to be responsible and helpful when they see help needed. Everyone involved with McKinley Institute of Technology is there because they want the best for their kids and the community, and they believe that M.I.T is fulfilling that role for them.


Mckinley Institute Of Technology 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
I love this school great teachers my son is behaving much better and is doing well in class

Mckinley Institute Of Technology 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mckinley Institute Of Technology 1

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
Leadership is lacking. Put downs, teasing and rude behavior are accedpted as 'normal.' No community building activities. Events are not well attended and there is advertising and or push to bring about school spirit. AS sport activities are non-existent.


Mckinley Institute Of Technology 2

Posted October 14, 2007
- a parent
There does not seem to be a disciplinary action procedure schedule in place. There are good teachers there, but a lack of support from administration.

Mckinley Institute Of Technology 2

Posted December 04, 2006
- a parent
There are great enthusiastic teachers, and there are some terrible teachers. You just really need to stay on top of the teachers.

Mckinley Institute Of Technology 5

Posted February 15, 2006
- a teacher
Thi is a great school with wonderful teachers and an amazing landscape of students.


Mckinley Institute Of Technology 4

Posted August 17, 2005
- a parent
We are very happy with McKinley's AVID program. The Darrow's run a wonderful program and the kids visit several colleges. The AVID class includes college prep work and guest speakers. The electives include KMIT a video broadcast elective for 8 graders. The kids learn hands on by creating there own videos in 6th and 7th grade. There is also a wonderful web design elective. Music is taught twice a week and kids are pulled out of PE and electives. McKinley has their own gym, separate cafeteria and old time auditorium. The campus is shared with North Star and Newcomer Academy 3 - 8th grade. MIT and North Star stager start times. All three schools share the library which is open 8:00 to 4:00 p.m. daily. The is an active Parent's Club which raises money for field trips, teachers grants and assemblies. The Principal is very active and great to work with. We reccommend this school!

Mckinley Institute Of Technology 0
no rating

Posted November 24, 2004
- a parent
I believe the principal has done a great job of working well with the teachers and guiding the academic curriculum and student expectations in a school with a very culturally diverse population. Because this is school of choice, almost all parents, regardless of background, care deeply about their chilren's education and are as involved in their academics as they are able. As a parent who values parent participation and input, though, I feel limited as a parent, outside of fundraising, and I feel the students should have a little more opportunity for autonomy. Extra-curricular pportunities for students include Tech Challenge (w/Tech Museum), sports, AVID (college prep), Citizens Academy, drama.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckinley Institute Of Technology
400 Duane Street, Redwood City, CA  94062
(650) 366-3827
Last modified Mckinley Institute Of Technology is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mckinley Institute Of Technology Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top