Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
88 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
Our children have been attending Canterbury for 5 years now. We are extremely happy with the education they are receiving. Our kids love their teachers and their classmates. The classes are small, usually between 10 - 14 students, which allows plenty of attention for each child. It also gives the teachers ample time to monitor behavior which I feel is lacking in the public schools. The kids are taught from an early age to respect each other and the environment around them. I believe the school is above the curve in most subjects. The kids are fluid types by the end of third grade. Spanish is taught as a foreign language from an early age. The principals are focusing a lot of effort introducing technology into the classroom as well. The school is very affordable relative to other private K-8 schools in the area. They also offer a sibling discount. The tuition covers everything. No fund raisers, door-to-door sales, or mandatory volunteer time. The school is run extremely efficiently while maintaining a caring and comfortable environment.

Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2010
- a parent
My child just started Kindergarten at Canterbury this year. We are very pleased with the strong math and reading programs. The environment is very positive and classes are small. It has been a great place for our child!!


Canterbury Elementary School 4

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has attended Canterbury for 3 years and I can say it is truly an exceptional school. The quality of teaching is excellent. All the teachers show a great commitment and personal approach. They maintain a very disciplined approach to education. If you desire less structure this is probably not the place for you. The only drawback is a lack of after school activities.

Canterbury Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
We as a family love the great caring teaching invirenment

Canterbury Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2007
- a student
Great school academically, a wasteland in the areas of sports or creative activity. I left this school several years ahead of public school students intellectually, but several years behind socially, and with no work ethic. Behavioral discipline is enforced strictly, but the lack of a more rigidly structured curriculum left me almost completely without the ability to turn in homework on time. The small class sizes and the fact that schoolmates rarely live in the same neighborhood make socialization an issue. Also, the owner/principal had quite a temper. Hopefully she has softened a little by now.


Canterbury Elementary School 3

Posted June 08, 2006
- a parent
I have question about some teachers ability to teach effectively there.

Canterbury Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2006
- a student
Canterbury is (relatively) better than most schools in the area. However, in the higher grades, there are few teachers, and most don't know their subject material well enough to be teaching. There are no extracurricular activities, and there is little, if any, parental involvement. On the other hand, spcial classes are available for advanced students, and the school is very, very safe. This school can only be considered to be a good school compared with the other schools in this area, and it is certainly not on par with other private schools in the state.

Canterbury Elementary School 3

Posted September 05, 2005
- a student
I think canterbury is a good school academicly. Other than that they don't have any sports progams or music classes. Also if the parents try to get involved the principal won't allow it. The kids there have no freedom. If your looking for a school that has more variety canterbury isn't that school. Other wise it is a good school.


Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2004
- a parent
Great K-8 year-round private school that features one class per grade with no more than 20 students per class. Excels in math and reading. Almost without exception, all graduating 8-graders make it into the high school of their choice, and are able to take honors courses in math and english as high-school freshmen. The school operates from September through August with 4 breaks (roughly equal to one summer vacation), during which day care is available. School is open from about 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. to accommodate working parents. The student body is co-ed, and extremely diverse ethnically. The small, personal atmosphere allows each student to work at their own pace when appropriate, use state of the art learning programs (everyone has computer access), and to know everyone else (enhances comraderie and safety). I would highly recommend this school to anyone serious about giving their child the best education possible!

Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2004
- a parent
I am completely satified with the education my son is getting. He is working two grades above the local public school. The teacher to student ratio is excellent, allowing for individual attention when necessary. The teachers are dedicated to the students. Discipline is very strict, but with understanding of the student's age. The teachers are always available to talk about the student. Report cards are quarterly, broken up thirds when progress reports are issued. This allows for constant review of progress and the ability to observe problems before they get too big. Truly the best money I could spend on my child's future.

Nearby schools

Canterbury Elementary School
3120 Shane Drive, Richmond, CA  94806
(510) 222-5050
Last modified Canterbury Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top