Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Richmond, CA
Students enrolled: 88

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
Our children have been attending Canterbury for 5 years now. We are extremely happy with the education they are receiving. Our kids love their teachers and their classmates. The classes are small, usually between 10 - 14 students, which allows plenty of attention for each child. It also gives the teachers ample time to monitor behavior which I feel is lacking in the public schools. The kids are taught from an early age to respect each other and the environment around them. I believe the school is above the curve in most subjects. The kids are fluid types by the end of third grade. Spanish is taught as a foreign language from an early age. The principals are focusing a lot of effort introducing technology into the classroom as well. The school is very affordable relative to other private K-8 schools in the area. They also offer a sibling discount. The tuition covers everything. No fund raisers, door-to-door sales, or mandatory volunteer time. The school is run extremely efficiently while maintaining a caring and comfortable environment.

Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2010
- a parent
My child just started Kindergarten at Canterbury this year. We are very pleased with the strong math and reading programs. The environment is very positive and classes are small. It has been a great place for our child!!


Canterbury Elementary School 4

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has attended Canterbury for 3 years and I can say it is truly an exceptional school. The quality of teaching is excellent. All the teachers show a great commitment and personal approach. They maintain a very disciplined approach to education. If you desire less structure this is probably not the place for you. The only drawback is a lack of after school activities.

Canterbury Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
We as a family love the great caring teaching invirenment

Canterbury Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2007
- a former student
Great school academically, a wasteland in the areas of sports or creative activity. I left this school several years ahead of public school students intellectually, but several years behind socially, and with no work ethic. Behavioral discipline is enforced strictly, but the lack of a more rigidly structured curriculum left me almost completely without the ability to turn in homework on time. The small class sizes and the fact that schoolmates rarely live in the same neighborhood make socialization an issue. Also, the owner/principal had quite a temper. Hopefully she has softened a little by now.


Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Canterbury Elementary School 3

Posted June 08, 2006
- a parent
I have question about some teachers ability to teach effectively there.

Canterbury Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2006
- a student
Canterbury is (relatively) better than most schools in the area. However, in the higher grades, there are few teachers, and most don't know their subject material well enough to be teaching. There are no extracurricular activities, and there is little, if any, parental involvement. On the other hand, spcial classes are available for advanced students, and the school is very, very safe. This school can only be considered to be a good school compared with the other schools in this area, and it is certainly not on par with other private schools in the state.


Canterbury Elementary School 3

Posted September 05, 2005
- a former student
I think canterbury is a good school academicly. Other than that they don't have any sports progams or music classes. Also if the parents try to get involved the principal won't allow it. The kids there have no freedom. If your looking for a school that has more variety canterbury isn't that school. Other wise it is a good school.

Canterbury Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2004
- a parent
Great K-8 year-round private school that features one class per grade with no more than 20 students per class. Excels in math and reading. Almost without exception, all graduating 8-graders make it into the high school of their choice, and are able to take honors courses in math and english as high-school freshmen. The school operates from September through August with 4 breaks (roughly equal to one summer vacation), during which day care is available. School is open from about 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. to accommodate working parents. The student body is co-ed, and extremely diverse ethnically. The small, personal atmosphere allows each student to work at their own pace when appropriate, use state of the art learning programs (everyone has computer access), and to know everyone else (enhances comraderie and safety). I would highly recommend this school to anyone serious about giving their child the best education possible!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canterbury Elementary School
3120 Shane Drive, Richmond, CA  94806
(510) 222-5050
Last modified Canterbury Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Canterbury Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top