Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Woodcrest Christian

Private | 7-12 | 540 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Riverside

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $265,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2011

Our two children have attended the Day School, middle school and high school since 2001 when we first moved to Riverside. Our goal was to enroll our children in a smaller Christian school where they could excel academically while being led by faculty and staff with similar values to my wife and I. The teachers are well prepared and genuinely care about the kids. The campus is safe and clean and the class sizes are appropriate for each grade level and subject matter. All of this contributes to an environment that is well suited for learning and preparing kids for their next step in life. My daughter graduated from the system in 2010 and just completed her first year at the college of her choice. She was well prepared for college and that preparation was reflected in the grades she earned during her freshman year. I would recommend this school to anyone searching for the qualities that I have described above.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

This is a great school system! Both of my children are "lifers" meaning they have spent there entire elementary (Riverside Christian Day School), Middle and High school careers here. My eldest daughter is currently in her first year of college and feels "very well prepared". The leadership from the school board, superintendent and principals is balanced, well measured and always "approachable" . My wife and I have felt that we received excellent value for the money spent in tuition here, which by the way, is mainly in the middle of what private schools charge in the area. If you are seeking a well balanced, spirit led college prep education for your kids, this is the place to go. Don't let the expense stop you from inquiring, I know they have several scholarship programs available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

We decided to send our son to Woodcrest after homeschooling him for 3 years. He has made a splendid transition. The small, clean campus is great. As parents, we appreciate the high moral standards and dress code. Mr. Smith the administrator is amazing. He really understands this age group. The teachers are strict yet encouraging. We have high standards for our childrens' education and Woodcrest has held up to its end of the bargain. We look forward to sending our daughter there next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

Anyone who writes anything negative about this school is not making an informed statement. It is not just about Woodcrest being a Christian School. It is about all the students, teachers and parents all being respectful of each other. I have 2 children currently enrolled and I could not be more pleased. Awesome place for young people during the tough Jr High and High School years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

My son attends this school and frankly when he started there in 7th grade I had my doubts about some of the teachers and policies. No school is perfect and I found the administration and the teachers very open and willing to address my concerns. I am more than happy my son attends this school and I am glad he is there rather than anywhere else. The administration staff is very nice, respectful and willing to help. I have no met any other principal better than their Jr. High principal. He is very wise and on top of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Horrible school. Horrible school. Christian academics? Sure..They have bible are the teachers christian like and devoted to being an example for their students to follow? Absolutely not. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

I graduated from Woodcrest in 08 and would not recommend another private school to anyone. They are spiritually and academically minded, pushing their students to achieve even their loftiest post-high school goals. The teachers genuinely care about the students as well. I will never forget the cards I received from my teachers when my grandma passed away. The small environment also makes friendship and discipleship easy. Great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2009

My daughter is new at the school and she was accepted from day one! The administration really cares about the students as well as the staff, we are very much here to stay!


Posted March 3, 2008

Love, Love, Love it. My daughter is getting an amazing education and the sports programs are phenomenal! I highly recommend it. Worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

My Children go to Woodcrest. After being in the public school system for 14 years, I can tell you this is a GREAT school. I drive 40 minutes each way to get them there. Why? Here a few reasons I chose Woodcrest..It's Christian based. There are large enough classes that my children can have a lot of friends. Teachers have degrees and have their jobs based on performance. They have most sports. There testing scores and the percentage of kids that go to college is around 95%. Not to mention if a student breaks the rules or does something wrong they take care of the situation instead of worrying if they will be sued. When I drop off my kids I know they will have the education they deserve. I think the only thing I would There isn't anyway to meet other parent. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

Woodcrest is an excellent school rated by academics and athletics as well as the arts. Parent involement is unusually high! Students are friendly and respectful. We couldn't be more blesssed to have had our son in this school system for 4 years now as he is entering his junior year and will graduate in '09.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

I had a personal experience with the principal of this school. He was very un-professional and tried to explain his 'dictatorship' values to me. After explaining to him my authority as a parent and as a peace officer, he suddenly changed his tune. Other than him, it is a very nice school with high academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James Sullivan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18401 Van Buren Boulevard
Riverside, CA 92508
Phone: (951) 780-2010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT