Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rolling Hills Country Day School

Private | K-8 | 360 students

Where Tradition Meets Tomorrow
 
 

 
 

Living in Rolling Hills...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

It's pretty clear that all of the bad reviews are coming from ONE person that had a bad experience. I mean, no art/music programs?!? Did your child even attend Country Day??? My child has art AND music multiple times per week and is learning Mandarin and Spanish in Kindergarten. Name another school in PV that does that! The fact is, there is no other place that your child will be more completely educated from moral character, science, art, music, athletics, and academics than Country Day. If you are fine with your child only learning what some test scores need them to learn then go ahead and make another choice for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2014

The school ranks very low academically, school administration needs overhaul and change is needed. The leader is not the right person to run the school...pity to see the existing students in the school....there's better schools around the RPV area. Even those not in the school has nothing good to comment about the leadership of the school. Pity those parents who are in the school.


Posted April 14, 2014

Best school ever! My kids are so lucky to get to go here. They have such warm and nurturing teachers and administration. We are lucky to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

We started after the school year began and loved the school from the first minute! The admissions dir. is the sweetest and most proactive person we came in contact with in our entire school search. She made us feel at home and made sure my kid had some one to play with even before we were accepted into CD. LOVE our teacher. Best thing we have done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

RHCDS is an amazing place for children and fosters a love for learning. They obviously have the standard curriculum covered, but also go beyond and offer many other classes that youngsters crave to break up the monotony of daily school work. My child's favorite is computer, but Mandarin is a close second with the recent addition of this program for the lower grades. The teachers truly care about their students and want them to succeed. I love the feeling of community among the parents and the positive vibe on campus. They are definitely doing things right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

In September 2012 our son attended the middle school, finding the promise of a "welcoming & accepting " student body to be far from the truth. Being new arrivals we knew no one at the school or within the community. Sadly once school began we found the class to be non-inclusive, dismissive and at times bullying to our son. There were a few serious incidents that had to be brought directly to the Executive Director before any action was taken. The lack of response from an unclear administrative chain of command was shocking. RHCDS could benefit greatly from a "counselor" who parents could seek out if there are issues. There is a distinct sub-par language program and the science program is mediocre at best. There are wonderful facilities such as the computer lab and the pool which initially enticed us. No music/art program. Teachers were caring professionals but there are a few horrible exceptions. The Exec. Director has a no-nonsense approach which was very appreciated, although this is not supported by her 2nd tier administration. Parent community is very familiar, a tight knit group. We found cocky confidence + sports enthusiasm = valued traits here. Academics rank lower.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

RHCDS is an outstanding school and clearly the best choice for any parent in the South Bay or Palos Verdes Peninsula area. RHCDS provides an an academically challenging curriculum at each grade level, appropriate to the students capabilities. Before we chose a school for our children, we visited all of the local private schools and spoke with parents at each school. After these encounters, the choice was clearly RHCDS. Our family would love it if the school went through High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

One of the worst school ever and the team should be overhaul completely. The school needs a fresh perspective of a quality education. Feel sorry for the existing students who are in the school.


Posted July 30, 2013

Thank you to all of the parents who have given your support to our school via this website. As a teacher, I know how hard the faculty and staff work o make the educational experience for the students successful. We all feel so lucky to work in an environment where the parents and teachers work as a team. RHCDS is truly a special place!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 30, 2013

RHCDS is an amazing school. The teachers and administration are so caring and involved. The teachers give individualized attention, and know our children so well. The communication is incredible. Our daughter's teacher even came to her sporting event on the weekend to cheer her on. Thank you, RHCDS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

This school is such a great environment for my child. I love all the personal attention he gets, along with support and tools for him to be independent and self sufficient. They have such a variety in their curriculum, I feel it truly balances each student and allows each person to find success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

This school is a perfect fit for us. The faculty is warm and knowledgeable, and the kids learn about good character and strong leadership from each teacher they meet. They have wonderful events like Olympic Day and Multi-Cultural Day, but they don't do things for appearances. They don't expect us to spend thousands on costumes or on parties. They just help us teach our kids good morals on top of the best education you could hope to get. I can't say enough to endorse their programs and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

We love this school and feel its the best school on the hill! The teachers are great and our kids are so happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

We love Country Day! Our kids came from a neighboring public school and we feel like our children are in a place that is nurturing and safe plus we get an amazing education! We couldn't be happier with our experience. The faculty and administration are very supportive. We are lucky to have found such a place for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

Country Day has everything we want and more. Could not be happier with the teachers. My kids must see 8 teachers a week! Music, art, library etc. The list goes on and on. We have never experienced a school like this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Country Day is much more than a school. It is a second home! The teachers all care about my kids as individuals. As special, and unique. They are loved, educated and really are being shaped into great people, the school supports what we strive for at home. They have art, music and incredibly small classes! 20:1 does not exist in any public school. We have 12:1 for my kindergartner! Worth every penny. And ended up cheaper than public when you add all the extra classes I had to pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2012

My kids have gone to public school and were lost in the massive class size (at least 30:1)! At Country Day class sizes are much smaller and the kids can really learn and the teachers can really teach. The kids here want to learn and they don't have the discipline issues that the public schools do because they don't have to put up with it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

This is an outstanding school. The teachers care about the school and each individual child. There is great communication and middle school parents can check their child's grades on the internet daily. If there are any problems, the teachers have always communicated them with me and my child before it gets to be a huge problem. Science labs and SmartBoards have been added when other schools are cutting. I feel my child is receiving a well-rounded education. Something to note: don't come to this school thinking you can write a big check and get your way... that is the problem I believe some of these negative reviews stem from. Country Day doesn't take big donations or have special donors, which makes it a much more even playing field for parents at a private school (where often the biggest donor gets the biggest say). Some folks don't get this and get mad when they demand their child be put in a different class or be given different work than what the teacher deems appropriate. Unfortunately (or fortunately), those people tend to feel negative and leave. I for one, am glad the administration doesn't let these parents run the school with their checkbook as they'd like to do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

This great school creates lifelong learners. They learn different techniques for organizing their time from elementary through middle school - learning important planning skills along the way. Students also learn and grow through public speaking in their classrooms and in front of the school several times each year. I have seen my child and each classmate rise to the occasion. It builds confidence and is a great life skill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This is a really wonderful school with high tech gadgets in the classrooms and teaching good old fashion values. The teachers and leadership are warm and truly seem to care about the kids. They know every child by name! It seems like every year the school spends money to improve something to benefit the children. My daughter loves the school very much and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 21% 11%
Hispanic 4% 52%
Black 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Karen Shipherd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • www.rhcds.com
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (310) 377-9651

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Town and Country
Palos Verdes Public Schools
Montessori

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$16000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School
Marymount High School
Peninsula High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26444 Crenshaw Blvd
Rolling Hills Estates, CA 90274
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 377-4848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rancho Vista Elementary School
Rolling Hills Estates, CA


Rolling Hills Montessori School
Rolling Hills Estates, CA


Peninsula Heritage School
Rolling Hills Estates, CA


Chadwick School
Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA


Morning Star Academy
Palos Verdes Estates, CA


Soleado Elementary School
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT