Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Camellia Waldorf School 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
My children have received an education that has taught them how to think critically, problem solve, and ask amazing questions about life, relationships, and how the world works. Creativity is threaded through their problem-solving abilities, as well as through their artwork and how they play with others. I have two avid readers. They truly hold a love for learning about the world, whether at the Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum in San Jose (5th grade field trip) or at Full Belly Farm in the Capay Valley (3rd grade field trip). Moreover, they attend a school with a close community. We parents volunteer out of love for special events like Protected Path and Winter Faire, and also participate in ways to support the faculty and raise money for the school. Camellia Waldorf is diverse in terms of race, culture, and socioeconomics. This is important to our non-Anglo family with mixed-race children. Final words are that I am glad this option exists in Sacramento. Teachers are dedicated and committed. The Administrator is solid and accessible. With some recent changes (the school is moving to the Pocket neighborhood), the school is committed to the education and well-being of our children.

Camellia Waldorf School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
So far, with a middle school-age child, I feel the amount of homework daily and weekly has been just right. Periodic projects have been helpful in teaching my son to manage his time and pace himself through a longer process of gathering, analyzing, and presenting information. Having to do oral presentations and participate in plays have also been beneficial in building confidence.


Camellia Waldorf School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
I think Camellia Waldorf has a subtle way of developing persistence and determination among students. My daughter enjoys learning math and loves to read, and has become patient with the usual ups and downs of social relationships. My middle school-age son has progressed not only in academic subjects, but also in terms of his physical agility and ability. He has become a strong cello player as well, pushing past moments of wanting to quit altogether.

Camellia Waldorf School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
The teachers have been great. Very dedicated and attentive to details. They really care about the students and how and whether they are learning and thriving. If I ever have questions or concerns, I approach individual teachers for answers. The class teacher and other subject teachers for Spanish, music, and gardening have been accessible in my experience.

Camellia Waldorf School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Yes, in many ways. Students are taught to respect their classmates, students in other grades, and adults whether teachers, staff or parents. Each morning every child is greeted by their class teacher with a handshake and quick moment to connect. There are opportunities for group projects and team-building which also support mutual respect.


Camellia Waldorf School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Yes, toward all others -- classmates, students in other grades, teachers, staff, and parents and other adults. In addition, I think that the value of caring is also supported through the gardening program and experiences learning to care for animals.

Camellia Waldorf School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Yes, overall. If and when there are concerns in this regard, teachers reach out to parents to together address any issues; there are avenues for parents to initiate such conversations. The school has invested resources in a social inclusion program as well.

Camellia Waldorf School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Camellia is a remarkable place for children and their families. There is a strong emphasis on integrated learning that incorporates imagination, understanding, creativity, rigor, attention to detail, and a sound moral base. The curriculum is challenging but at a deliberate, appropriate pace that leaves children with an eagerness to learn more. The school incorporates a regular ritual of festivals and other opportunities for public speaking and appearances that build confidence in children and community more widely. Both the faculty and the parents are committed to creating an atmosphere that reduces a lot of the materialism, shallowness, and stilted social skills that come with an over reliance on TV, video games, and the Internet. I have two children there and I sense that this place is building leaders and well rounded citizens that our world sorely needs.


Camellia Waldorf School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Camelia are there because they really want to be. They carry a heavier workload for lower pay than many other teachers, but they have jobs they believe in. They are among the most compassionate, patient, and talented people I have encountered.

Camellia Waldorf School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
I know opinions vary widely here and I have no expertise. It also varies somewhat by teacher at Camelia. But, in my experience there has not been too much homework in the lower grades, but enough to develop some solid work habits and expectations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Camellia Waldorf School
7450 Pocket Road (as of Sept. 2015), Sacramento, CA  95831
(916) 427-5022
Last modified Camellia Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Camellia Waldorf School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top