Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Camellia Waldorf

Private | K-8 | 134 students

We are best known for age-appropriate curriculum.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2010

Camellia Waldorf is a gem! Our child is learning in an environment that enriches his whole person and is the most developmentally appropriate education model we have found. I strongly encourage any parent to come and see what this amazingly caring, creative, inspiring school has to offer their children. We could not be happier with our experience at Camellia Waldorf.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

Camellia provides an environment where my children enjoy learning and are allowed to do so at their own pace. My child who excels at math is given work that challenges him, which is beyond what the others in the class may be doing. Another child who excels at reading is allowed to read at his own ability, but is also encouraged to assist others in the class with their reading skills. Camellia is a community. The other parents and the teachers are part of that community. We all support one another. I am so grateful to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

One of my children is about to graduate from Camellia Waldorf School, having been here since 1st grade. I feel so grateful for what he has experienced here - a very rich intellectual experience, with a profound grounding in history, literature, science, and math, all taught with a perspective on how these various disciplines have developed as human culture has progressed. This has been great preparation for high school, as demonstrated by high scores on standardized testing that is done in 7th and 8th grades. The parent and student community is amazing - every child, even the most challenging, is part of the community - there are no outcasts. My child also discovered his passion for music here, and it has expanded his world. I know on graduation day I will be very tearful - fortunately I have a younger child who will still be at Camellia next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Camellia Waldorf is a wonderful school that brings education alive for our two children. The children are happy and engaged in their play and in their learning. We moved our high achieving academic child from a public magnet school to Camellia last year and couldn't be happier with our experience. This a wonderful school community that is really worth investigating for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

Truly dedicated faculty, wonderful parental support, charming grounds, unparalled movement and music programs, awesome fieldtrips! In an ideal Waldorf setting, the teacher that greets your child at the beginning of 1st grade sees them through their 8th grade graduation. This gives an opportunity for these teachers to really come to know their students and develop relationships which would simply not be possible in a more traditional environment. However, this doesn't always happen and occasionally it shouldn't happen. Furthermore, there is no principal in a Waldorf school. Instead the schools are governed by the faculty themselves. Again, good and bad. Awesome when it works well but have seen it work not so well too. In the end I would say that Waldorf schools create individuals unlike anything else out there. Their students are recognizably unique and interesting and to know them is to love them. Each and every one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Camellia Waldorf is an excellent school that fosters imagination, creativity, discipline, and independent thought. The parents and teachers form a supportive community of adults, looking out for the well-being of all the children. Although art, music, and movement are stressed, they are tools for learning, not the ends themselves. The graduates from the eighth grade have been able to go into the high school of their choice and have excelled in the sciences as well as the humanities. Our children learn about tolerance and acceptance of all world cultures. Spirituality, not religion, is promoted, as the Waldorf philosophy believes in the education of the whole child, body, mind, spirit, and heart. As the student body is small, each child is given individualized attention and allowed to progress at the their own pace without outside artificial pressures and standards. Yet these children score well on standardized testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

When I first enrolled my daughter in this school I fell in love with the artistic and spiritual world that she was immersed in. The school events were magical for adults as well as children. As the year went on though my daughter began to get bored. She wanted to learn to read (they don't teach reading until 1st grade). Her friend next door was doing homework, so my daughter made up her own. I realized that she needed more than magic and art-she needed something to challenge her. Waldorf doesn't really offer much of that at her age level. Parent involvement was very good-we had gardening days and things such as that to keep up the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2003

Great school, where education is a journey not a race. Loving environment with care on the academics, arts and movement
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 26%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 6% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Shana Murray
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Sacramento Waldorf School
Christian Brothers
various public schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 Freeport Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95822
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 427-5022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

River City Academy
Sacramento, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT