Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Technology High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 27, 2016
- a student
Advisors are more like babysitters, very personal with students and very ineffectual in discipline and teaching

New Technology High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 27, 2016
- a student
Very very little homework, if given students won't do bother to do any of it


New Technology High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 27, 2016
- a student
Easy success is not realistic of further education, students have zero motivation because it is not needed

New Technology High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 27, 2016
- a student
Cheating is highly encouraged and rampant, students are given high grading for minimal to no effort

New Technology High School 1

Posted January 27, 2016
- a student
Do not enroll your student or come here unless it is your only choice, an education here will doom them if they wish to go in to any academics following. If you're a student, or your child is, who has the ability to do any amount of work, do not come here. If you are looking to continue on to college, even a community college, do not come here. Classes will not properly prepare you for any higher education. I left this school after one year, and found that I was heavily behind in math despite being one of the (very few) people who succeeded during class. Regardless of effort, students are given high grades or little incentive to work. "advisors" are babysitters, group work is difficult when every student is uninterested in work.


New Technology High School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a student
This is a school that requires students to think. They learn without knowing it. It's fun and

New Technology High School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started at New Tech as a freshman and will graduate this year class of 2014. I strongly recommend New Tech as a place that will help your child to grow in many ways - not just academics. New Tech's long school day (&;45 am to 3:45 pm) mimics the kind of work day our kids can expect when they enter the world of work. The expectations for independent work, self-advocacy and cooperation with peers are high. My daughter is an accomplished presenter thanks to New Tech, confident when meeting new people or making her case about something with an adult. The teachers have consistently supported and helped her with one-on-one tutoring and flexibility when she was struggling. She has significant LD's and had a concussion her sophomore year that caused her to miss 2 months of school. But with the help of the teachers and her own persistence she got through it all and has a 3.25 GPA. This year she's taking physics and pre-calc (her LD's make math very hard) and she's carrying a B. I strongly endorse New Tech's approach and recommend it highly.

New Technology High School 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a student
2013 Graduate. I attended this school for 2 years and had a rewarding experience here. The school is very small which is a plus. Staff actually have time to assist you when needed. They aim high for achievement. Failing is not an option. If you want a successful future and plan on pursuing further education after graduating, then I would highly recommend this school. I'm most grateful to have attaended this school. THANK YOU NEW TECH!


New Technology High School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
I had 2 kids gradute from this school within the past 2 years. This school has teachers that actually care about providing a great education to get your child the education they deserve. Both my kids are now attending UCLA. This school geers the students into college and achieving their goals. Thank you New Tech!

New Technology High School 1

Posted March 03, 2013
- a parent
My family was pulled to this school because of the project based approach and the idea of a small school community. We thought it might be a good fit for our son. Sadly, there were too many drawbacks for us to seriously consider this school so, after a semester, we pulled our son out. There are some good teachers and, as I've said, the project based idea is attractive but it is the students who are the main issue. The project based idea is not properly executed. Students do not need to learn the material, content competency is unnecessary, and grades are formulated almost exclusively on work ethic. What that means is that students do not need to really understand English, math or other subjects but they can simply complete homework and pass the class. Cheating is rampant under this system since students wait until the last minute to get work completed (there is no penalty for late work) and students work the system to pass the class.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Technology High School
1400 Dickson Street, Sacramento, CA  95822-3437
(916) 433-2839
Last modified New Technology High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Technology High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top