Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Sacramento, CA
Students enrolled: 1,828
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Luther Burbank High School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
I'm glad my husband and I made a wise decision moving to the Sacramento area a few months ago. We decided to put our son at LBHS.. At first I was hesitant and letting him explore the experience he love being there. He is a freshman and loves coming home with no or little homework. Everything is done at school and having him attending there has made him change academically drastically. He's raised his grades and increase his GPA.. I am so proud that my child is mentally happier being here..

Luther Burbank High School 5

Posted September 13, 2012
- a community member
Luther Burbank is the best school evaaaaaaaa! Yeaah! Go Titans. We are the best. PS; this is not from a Burbank student.


Luther Burbank High School 5

Posted September 13, 2012
- a teacher
Luther Burbank High School is the best kept secret in SCUSD! The school is structured in small learning communities which affords smaller class sizes, high accountability and it affords teacher and students to build respectful relationships with each other. The after school program is exceptional. Students and teachers work together to create a successful and challenging academic environment; work to encourage a culture of respect and service to the community. Students in the Law & Social Justice Academy are youth leaders in the community and provide invaluable services to many govt agencies and communnity based organizations through their dedication to community service. The ASB students capture the true spirit of self-discipline and dedication. They enhance the high school experience for all LBHS students. The after school Teen CERT (Community Emergency Response Team) program is the most robust and active Teen CERT program in the Sacramento area providing students the opportunity to train and deliver assistance during emergency situations. The students and adult leaders across the campus are truly dedicated to securing success for our community's youth. Go TITANS!

Luther Burbank High School 1

Posted February 17, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from there June 13, 1969, sixth season since opening September 1963. Already then the school was in trouble in more ways than one; last time I stepped foot on campus was March 31, 2000, felt like was walking into Folsom Prison, really scary!

Luther Burbank High School 4

Posted January 27, 2011
- a student
Although this school is not the best school, I sincerely believe that it has progressed significantly throughout the years. I am currently a senior attending Luther Burbank High School. At first, I was hesitant to attend this school. However, I now strongly believe it was one of the greatest choices I've made in my school career thus far. Due to the International Baccalaureate (IB) Program, students now have the option to take rigorous and academically challenging classes. Not only has the academic classes improved, the community in the school itself has progressed. When I see the students, I see motivation. I see future leaders. This is also evident within the amount of new clubs and after school programs that are now available on campus because of the dedication of the students and caring staff that use their time to make it possible. In addition, I believe our unique diversity of students also contributes to the richness of this campus. Just because it isn't the best school doesn't mean that it will forever be handicapped. It doesn't mean that progression is impossible. Change can happen.


Luther Burbank High School 1

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
I was a student at Luther Burbank High School when it was an okay school. It has progressively gotten worse. The students that do manage to escape LBHS are grossly unprepared for college. I was in the AP program with a 3.7 GPA, and still needed to take remedial math courses in college. The AP courses were not challenging, and they chased away the good teachers. Do not send your children to this school, they will spend the rest of there adult lives playing catch-up.plus alot of Gang,Violence,Drugs etc... Dont Want Your Child Going To This Nasty Dirty School!

Luther Burbank High School 4

Posted November 08, 2009
- a student
It's a cool school had a bad reputation but it shoudn't we have been getting better and improved overall have gained alot of friends and learned alot so come to Burbank you will enjoy it GO TITANS!!!!

Luther Burbank High School 3

Posted August 14, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Luther Burbank High School 1

Posted July 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Luther Burbank High School 1

Posted January 18, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Luther Burbank High School
3500 Florin Road, Sacramento, CA  95823
(916) 433-5100
Last modified Luther Burbank High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Luther Burbank High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top