Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Marshall Elementary School 1

Posted April 10, 2016
- a community member
took my son to school 10 min to 8:30 and the principle told my son to wait outside of the open gate because they will not let kids in early and then she told me im front of my son if i drop him off early and he gets kidnapd it wasnt the school problem because parents should not drop them off a couple min early then she said if i have a problem with it go make a complaint she needs to be fired

James Marshall Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
Inconsistent. Teachers told us they would be giving homework and yet I only see it occasionally. Who knows? I've asked other parents and they have offered the same opinion.


James Marshall Elementary School 2

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
They bully and shame the children. When I have tried to address the issues they blame the parent, the child, the schedule etc. No one takes responsibility for their job here. They are educators, but they seem to think they know better than everyone else without regard for the community. Teachers are very inconsistent and unprofessional. The principal is unresponsive for the most part, likes to do the "it's all about me" attitude. In general, very disgusted at their behavior in general.

James Marshall Elementary School 2

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
I am going to let the scores speak for them selves. Go to the test scores on the left hand side open and read. Please remember that you are looking at. The bar charts below tell what percentage of students are performing at or above grade-level. that is a quote from the page. Remember at or above! Now do a tiny bit of math. If 58% of students are at or above then 42% of students are below or shall we say failing. Just have a look at the numbers that way and it will tell you just how poor this school is doing. The average is 60% passing and 40% not passing. Remember NOT PASSING. Not at grade average, below standard, failing. Your odds then are 4 kids out of 10 are below state average. Now what do you think of the school.

James Marshall Elementary School 2

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been going to James Marshall for 2 years now - I am really considering on transferring her to a different school, I read the reviews before but I wanted to give the school and staff the benefit of the doubt since it is situational and different for everyone but I have actually experienced various problems with the staff throughout the two years that my daughter has been going to James Marshall. The principle along with her minions including Tina are complete joke! On one occasion, they had drop the ball when my daughter needed to be sent home due to an emergency but instead of following protocols, they don't know how to handle the situation, could be pure laziness or they just don't know what "professionalism" is - The reviews are here for a reason and the district need to do something about the principle and the staff here, do a random evaluation where they don't expect it and see what is really going on behind close doors. It is sad, when a situation arises and when confronted with the situation, they show no respect or concern for the students whatsoever - can you just imagine what it's really like when the kids are in a one on one conversation with them?


James Marshall Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Bad experience . I would suggest patents to visit School district to confirm. Principle and lady at the office Named Tina are unprofessional. My son was supposed to start school there went on the day school started his name was cancelled from the list. Very rude and unprofessional .

James Marshall Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
after reading other parents reviews of this school ;before my child started in 2012, I was did not have a positive way of thinking about this school. Once the school was put on the list of schools that could have been closed and I saw how the community of Rosemont rallied around this school to save it from being closed, I started to notice all the positive qualities. I hope for my two younger kids to receive Mrs Bridgham for kindergarten she is an awesome teacher and has taught my oldest a lot. I look forward to seeing my kids grow at this school.

James Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. The staff is outstanding. The kids are very safe. The staff does parking lot control before and after school to ensure saftey for the kids. They have a great ptg alwya planning events for the year.


James Marshall Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
I wish I had listened to all of the bad reviews about this school.If you send your child her,make sure you put a recorder on them or they risk being the target of abuse.If you file complaint,they will terrorize your child in retaliation & everyone up to the district will disregard proof/complaints,say you & your child are the problem,& tailor their lies to fit any new proof that is presented.Even the staff that knows what is going on who seem to show some guilt do not have enough backbone to protect the kids.They tell the kids that their parents can't help them & that it is not important how they feel about discipline.Any request you make to protect your child like requesting that you be present when child being questioned,they deliberately speak to them alone & threaten consequences for obeying parent over staff & coerce them into confessions.They administer unusual punishments not documented & then lie about their existence when questioned by press.Yard Duties scream in their faces.One staff member quit due to the treatment of students.My daughter has thrown up at night from dread of going there.There is no protection for students or parents rights.Pray one with ethics/power come

James Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
My 6th grader ended up being bused to this school when the elementary school she should have attended was full when we moved to Sacramento. Although I couldn't believe the School District was making her ride "the short bus" for 45 mins to and from school, we actually had a very rewarding experience with James Marshall. I have to say that the school Secretary was hands-down THE BEST at the entire school --- or any school my kids have ever attended. It was so apparent that she loves her job. She took my daughter to the cafeteria and found her a buddy to partner with for the day. My daughter's teacher was wonderful as well. She's off to middleschool this coming year, but we'll miss James Marshall.

Nearby schools

James Marshall Elementary School
9525 Goethe Road, Sacramento, CA  95827-3202
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (916) 228-5860
Last modified James Marshall Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top