Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nehemiah Christian Academy

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2009

It was awesome I enjoyed my time there and will visit everybody. They have a great education and teachers. I look at my new school and it is not the same so make the right choice vote nca.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

Calvary Preschool is a great school. My daughter is learning so many things and is very smart and well advance thanks to Ms. Mosley and her supporting staff. They children learn everything from saying grace, singing gospel songs, bible verses etc. and the rate is very good too. Our income has decreased due to unemployment butr we are making the extra effort to keep her in this school. She is going to kindergarten in September and I am looking forward for that. Thanks to everyone at Calvary for the love, care, and concern for my child and every other child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

For us, Nehemiah is a safe haven for our children, and a guarantee that they will receive an excellent education! The teachers are not only qualified to teach them, but concentrate on the positive aspects of their personalities as well. They love them, and see in them what God sees...that they are unique individuals, with qualities and gifts that He has given them. Besides providing a stellar education, many extra-curricular activities are available, such as: music, gymnastics, graphic design, to name a few. The principal is an excellent 'hands-on' leader and an extremely effective communicator. She and the teachers are also very adept at giving extra help to students who need it. Volunteering is fun; this school makes it easy, since the principal, teachers and entire staff are friendly toward the parents, treating them with respect. We are back for 2007-2008 after one year away, because we all missed it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

We had many choices to select from for our daughter. After narrowing the search down to two we took a tour of the schools. Nehemiah has such a wonderful atmosphere. After enrolling our child she started to learn so many things. Our daughter was enrolled from 2004-2006 and we must admit we miss this school. We have enrolled our daughter into a public school and can easily see that Nehemiah was very strong in its academic curriculum. The teachers are very caring and knows the children by name as well as the staff. Parents are very much involved in the many fundraiser and events. We wish the school served thru 12th grade as we would love for more children to experience the wonderful faith filled atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

We had a child enrolled from 2003 to 2006 in Preschool and Kindergarten and we were very pleased with the environment of Nehemiah Christian Academy. Our son felt love and cared for each day and he learned so much in those three ears. We live in West Sac and drove him there everyday just because of the quality of the education. Now that he is in the first grade (in West Sac), he is reading and doing math on almost a 2nd grade level. We are extremely pleased with the education and foundation he was given at Calvary Preschool and Nehemiah Christian Academy. Thank you Ms Quinn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

Academic programs, leadership, extracurricular activies, teachers, all excellant. I have two children that attend, and they are both above average studets. The Justiniani Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

The preschool starts at age 2.5 years and the elementary school goes up to grade 6. I moved my two sons to the Preschool from one of the most expensive Montessori schools in Sacramento. This school provides more structure, direct phonics instruction, mathematics practice, with demonstrably caring teachers. The preschool students even have homework. Character education and manners are taught and reinforced. Great potty training by teachers. Principal is sharp and communicates with parents well. After just two weeks, both of my toddlers were speaking more clearly and saying the Pledge of Allegiance. I can afford to send my children to any school in the Sacramento area (I have visited over 10 preschool programs)and I chose Calvary Preschool at Nehemiah Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

The Abeka curriculum is wonderful. This school is a blessing!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2005

Nehemiah Christian Academy is an awesome school where they put the children first. They focus not only on academics but they also teach the children how to have a personal relationship with the Lord. Their freindly staff all work together to ensure a fun and safe enviornment for the children. They truly work to meet the needs of the working parent, having 'extended day' program through the Christmas and Easter breaks. Students having difficulty in any area recieve one on one tutoring ensuring that no child is left behind. The principal is an awesome leader and keeps close watch over all things concerning the school and the students. Bi-weekly progress reports keep the parents up to date on the students progress and parents are welcome to come in and help out. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son attends Pre-K here. Nehemiah has great teachers, a great curriculum and a nice learning environment. Kids really excel in this stable Christian environment. I am truly impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 100%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3201 Del Paso Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95815
Phone: (916) 922-2033

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT