Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Balboa City School

Private | K-12 | 65 students

college preparation, small classes, computers, multimedia, gaming

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $326,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2011

Balboa City School, made positive changes in my child. I said upon begin there and now, I should have moved here earlier; instead I hope that he would have been "accomodated" in the public schools. I hoped, and I hoped... Having, both ADD and an LD my son has taken a ful load and has greater self esteem and confidence. He know nows success and hold his head high. The Director, himself suffers from ADD, he is accomplished and has and does recognize students for their strenghts and talents are always encouraged. The focus on problem-solving and critical thinking, not memorization is HERE and this is of great important for all children, but even more for the students that attends this school. I raise my hat and say job well done!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2010

At first I thought this was a terrible school. Mostly because I was not used to such direct communication from the administration. When my son was first starting at Balboa City School he would still lie to me and say he had no homework and the school always called. At first I believed my son. That led to some friction with the school. But we had some meetings and got everything straightened out. What I was so impressed by was how the counselor did not yell or even punish my son even when though my son was trying to make him and the teachers look bad. But pretty quickly, probably within ten days my son started to do well and I continued to get notes home saying how well he was doing! Never before did a school or a teacher take such an interest in my child's education. The result is phenomenal. All his standardized test scores have gone up by a great deal. The school is very very organized and structured and the really helps the students know what they should be doing. Another thing I like is that they do not give three or four hours of homework a night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

I am a former student of this school, and since I have ADHD and didn't really succeed in other schools I seemed like a fit for the school. I was wrong. The classes ran at snail's pace, so that a half a semester's work was stretched throughout the entire school year. The teachers were either exceptional or awful. I commend the wonderful writing and poetry program at the school; the teacher was wonderful. The wonderful feel of going to school in the city and being able to walk to Balboa Park for PE, and everything good about this school is overshadowed by the mainly awful instruction and hostile environment caused by the students and the administration. I understand how this school can be a fit for some, but for me and many others, it is not.


Posted May 20, 2010

Balboa City School have wonderful teachers who are dedicated to helping students realize their potential within a small classroom setting. They are very open to working with both student and parent which is rarely seen today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I am a private educational therapist. I appreciate the approach on meeting individual needs through the comprehensive program at Balboa City School. With OT on site, dedicated counselors and teachers, and small class sizes, the students truly receive the support they need to realize their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

this school has been soo good for my son!They have counselors on campus at all times, if the kids have problems they are there to help in a moments notices. Good Teachers and one on one education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

The teachers at Balboa City School really go out of their way to accommodate students' learning disabilities. Teacher, counselors, and other staff work well as a team to assist students and parents. Additionally, Balboa City School keeps their classroom sizes to a minimal, so students receive a lot of attention from their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Balboa City school has not only educated my loved one, but stimulated her to think about decisions and policies of the school, and then speak her mind when she disagrees. Staff interaction with her allows her to express her opinion and then asks questions so she can more fully support/express her feelings. She is growing into the type of person who will be a great contributor in all areas of life!


Posted April 28, 2010

An amazing turnaround for our son. I agree with all of Kathy's remarks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Balboa City School provides one on one personalized attention to each child in each class. They also develop self esteem, goal setting, and academic ambition in each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Interaction of students, parents and staff sets the standard for all schools. Outstanding!!!!!


Posted April 27, 2010

I love how this school is accommodating to students with special needs! :) There are tons of hands on programs that are beneficial to students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

In spite of my long time commitment to public education, moving our sophomore to Balboa City School was the most important decision we have made for him! Our public schools would not/could not help him develop needed academic skills and compensation strategies for his severe ADHD. He went to school every day feeling like a failure. His freshman year was a disaster as we watched him struggle without any assistance or intervention. We now have our great happy son back, thanks to Balboa City School! He is experiencing lots of success and his self-confidence has blossomed. Because he is with other smart special needs students and teachers who care about him, he is talking about his bright future. He knows now, what we always knew, that with the right support and skills he can be successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The school is a wonderful school and teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The students are very happy here. They learn a lot each day. They look forward to school. The get good preparation for college. There are lots of computers.


Posted April 27, 2010

I like this school becuase they have many services that help students grow as people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This is an AMAZING school. My daughter has struggled her whole life with schools, and at this one she has finally found a home, where she is accepted for who she is and is praised for her amazing intellect, not for her social status. the small classes are so great, there are 5 people in her class, not 50. It is a refreshingly original school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have watched MANY students excel and thrive at our school! Watching these students develop and grow is quite amazing!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2010

Constructive, effective environment for kids with learning differences. Saved my child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Dr. Parker, the principal and director, has a wonderful rapport with all of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Black 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2011)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2011)
Colleges most students attend after graduation university of California
California State College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Stephen Parker
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • WASC
Fax number
  • (619) 295-8886

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Direct instruction
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
university of California
California State College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2011
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 90%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 Hawthorn Street
San Diego, CA 92101
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 298-2990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

City Tree Christian
San Diego, CA



Museum
San Diego, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT