Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Diego, CA
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Angier Elementary School 4

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Angier has some really great staff to support the community environment! The new(er) principal, Mr. G, is very hands-on and seems to really care about the kids. My child is enrolled in Kindergarten in Ms. Clarkson's K-2 class and is excelling in all areas. Ms. Clarkson is the epitome of a kind and loving kinder teacher who has all the right attributes to take care of the kids at this age. We love the rest of the staff in the office, nurses and other supporting kinder teachers that help in rotational days. The PTO and school events are usually well thought out and organized.

Angier Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
I really do love this school. My son went to Doyle in Kindergarten and his teacher didn't seem to even like kids. I didn't understand why she was teaching. My kid was getting bullied by kids in 1st and 2nd grade and I reported to the Vice Principal who did nothing. I even got the names of the kids. Angier is not like that. All the teachers seem to love the kids. His 1st Grade teacher Mrs. Lara and his 2nd grade teacher Mrs Fleck are the GREATEST. Both have kids and know what it is like to be a mom. AND the principal is ALWAYS on site talking to kids talking to parents. He comes out during walking club to ge the kids ready for start of the day. The flag ceremony on Monday mornings helps with the commaraderie of the whole school. My son is learning so much and excelling far more than he would have at another school. I LOVE ANGIER! It's a great school.


Angier Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Every year, this school has never ceased to amaze me. Last night was the school's back to school night and I was thoroughly impressed by the teachers and the principal. Parent involvement has grown every year. The principal, Mr. Gergurich continues to show his passion for the betterment of the school and it's students. The school has a partnership with YMCA for Physical Education (sports and swimming). The school also has a special education program. They also have a choir and music program. There are after school programs: cheerleading, martial arts and basketball fundamental. There is also a huge support for military families.

Angier Elementary School 4

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
FANTASTIC! My son had a great 2 years here. I was scared with the principal change, however he was the best thing that ever happened to Angier! We come from a state with higher standards & top schools and I was happy with Angier except his 4th grade teacher. The 5th grade teachers are both amazing! He had many friends and they understand the military life! This years PTO President was excellent. Too bad the middle/high schools that Angier feeds into are not so good. Our family will be relocating to an area with decent middle/high schools, but I'd recommend Angier without hesitation!

Angier Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Angier Elementary has an amazing principal. He is proactive for the children and their well being. He strives over and beyond for them and their families. He is constantly looking for new ways to improve and enrich the school as a whole.


Angier Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
My son and daughter have been students in Angier school for about 2 years y they are really happy, they have a lot of friends. As also this school has great and wonderful Teachers. Teachers who really care for students and they help them if they need some help. My children immigrated from a country where the people speaks spanish and they have learned English so fast because this school has good Teachers.

Angier Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has been at Angier for 3 yrs and she has had wonderful teachers. Teachers that really care if their students grasp what their teaching! Tamara Lawson

Angier Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
This school is awesome!!! All the teachers 'REALLY CARE' about their students. We have been everywhere in the US Navy and we were welcomed and my child feels proud to be a student here. The Principal Ms. Shaw is great ! Your child will be happy here.


Angier Elementary School 4

Posted April 19, 2008
- a teacher
The Principal is dedicated and takes important steps towards improving the school. Already since she arrived there, a safety patrol program has been put in place, a cross-walk has been installed for improved safety, a site-wide behavior plan has been created and implemented, the AVID program has been implemented, etc. All of this has been encouraged and supported by the current principal. The school also has a GATE program that has been consistently growing. The school works closely with the surrounding military housing office and support staff to support students and families.

Angier Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2007
- a parent
Great school, my daughter enjoyed every day of her kindergarten class. She cant wait to go back next year. Great military housing elementary.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Angier Elementary School
8450 Hurlbut Street, San Diego, CA  92123
(858) 496-8295
Last modified Angier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Angier Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top