Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dana 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Bad idea! Not wise to run a middle school for 9-11 year old children. The teachers have over a 150 students, so if your child struggles in any academic area, they will fall further behind. Sadly, the teaching staff at this school label children "Not diploma bound", which means DO NOT help this student as they are not on track to graduate high school. Many teachers at this school need to retire and should not receive a pension, as they did not teach, but simply passed everyone on down the road!

Dana 2

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately the new principal has sunk this school. He is extremely difficult to talk to and spends a great deal of effort to avoid talking with parents one on one. He does not appear to have concern for individual students. He is dismissive, and I found him not truthful. The class sizes are extremely large. Some programs like the music and theatre are wonderful.


Dana 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a community member
This is one of the worst schools I have ever been to. Some reviews say the academics are too rigorous. Those people must have the minds of some primitive cave man! There is little to no homework, and a very small percentage of teachers are reasonable and expand from the moneyless void Common Core brought them into. The administrators are not helpful with conflicts, they simply give you a detention or Friday school (it's like a longer detention that's worse and is before suspension). If you want the real math experience or a decent science class, or any class for that matter high in quality and expectations, you'd best scrimp and save for private school!!

Dana 4

Posted April 08, 2015
- a community member
Well i am a 6th grader at Dana and it has been a really good experience. My teachers will take you for after school tutoring if you need it. They try to work with your schedule, and they keep your children well behaved. So I recommend this school very much. It will give your child a challenge.

Dana 4

Posted November 10, 2012
- a parent
Fifith grade is not too young for the middle school experience at Dana! They rise to the challenge quickly. Each of my kids at this school have had mostly innovative, wonderful educators. Science is disappointing (not hands-on, just textbook), and rotates weeks with physical education. Students get only one elective (non-core) class for the entire year (art, music, drama OR tech). No foreign language, sports, or elective choices on a semester basis. This is probably budget- and testing-related, but sadly, it results in less well-rounded students. The school is doing very well with incorporating student technology in the classroom. When attending orientation and open-house events, it was assumed we knew how things worked here, but we were new to the area. For those not coming from one of the feeder schools, attending the parent association meetings is the best way to meet some wonderful, energetic parents at Dana and to get information. Overall, a pretty great school considering the confines of being in the San Diego public school system!


Dana 2

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
My son is now in 6th grade at Dana and I really don't have one good thing to say about this school. The student to teacher ratio is ridiculous. They push the online correspondence yet it is not updated so it is little to no help. If your child is having any issues regardless of what they are and you need to speak to a councilor or teacher, GOOD LUCK. Both my younger children will not attend this school!

Dana 5

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
Love Dana Middle. Was reluctant to go to middle school so young, but it has worked out to be a wonderful transition. High academic standards and great elective curriculum. :)

Dana 3

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
Okay school but not for science. 6th grade science is only 4 days every 2 weeks!


Dana 4

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children went here. The teachers were hard working and fair. Both my kids were in music/band - the teacher had his favorites which was hard to swallow at times. Their school trip to Sacramento was great. The principle was engaged and the parent volunteers were amazing.

Dana 1

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
Our second child has just finished his 5th grade year at Dana and we are dreading 6th grade. I wish there was an alternative available to us. While we have found the academics to be fairly rigorous the delivery and the homework are not developmentally appropriate for the age of the students. Dana's staff and administration seems to think these kids can handle six teachers a day and two hours of homework a night. Unless you have a personal connection with a teacher forget about them responding to questions or comments. We continue to search for viable alternatives-it sickens my husband and I to think of another year of the same.

Nearby schools

Dana
1775 Chatsworth Boulevard, San Diego, CA  92106-3709
(619) 225-3897
Last modified Dana is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top