Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grant Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter just started at Grant in the third grade this year. So far, it's been a very positive experience. She's very happy, made lots of friends and is learning a lot. She has a wonderful dedicated teacher and there is strong parental involvement. We're very happy to have her in Grant and look forward to keeping her there all the way through 8th grade.

Grant Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
TERRIBLE TERRIBLE-was so displeased we pulled our child and now elsewhere. No accountability what so ever !!


Grant Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at grant elementary cant teach. They also dont listen to what the parents say. If you say please dont give sweetsto your child they ignore you.

Grant Elementary School 1

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
The theachers cant teach. The students are stuck up and so are their parents. If you dont have expensive clothes ,stuff you will be judged. Its a terrible school.

Grant Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
Thank. You Melinda for everything you have done for my daughter roxy at school and church. Your a great friend Kathryn


Grant Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2015
- a teacher
This school has great racial and socio-economic diversity. There is a great sense of community and parent involvement. Grant has a very active PTA that hires professionals to supplement the science and art programs. Grant offers a variety of after-school programs and specialized classes. Teachers are concerned about their students, and students generally get along well. Grant has an excellent special education team and highly-trained teachers for GATE students. Grant is like a private school on a public budget!

Grant Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are active and involved in the children's education. The families have a great sense of community, and contribute in many, many ways to enrich the kids' school experience. With that said, there are cliques and occasional bouts of elitism and agenda pushing here and there. Nowhere is perfect. By and large a great school for anyone's children.

Grant Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
Grant has served my family well! The staff is wonderful. The parents are very involved and the children are very well behaved. A true jewel in the neighborhood.


Grant Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
Horrid school! The students are mean and judgmental, as well as very cliquey. The teachers are hypocritical and just cannot teach. I sent my daughter here for 7th grade and students from all grades talked behind her back and started rumors about her. Many of these students ,especially in 8th grade, do drugs and try to get 6th and 7th graders to do it too. This school is sick and a waste of my time. Don't do this to your child and send them here. This school is so overrated it makes me sick in the stomach. This school might have a good and high API, but that API doesn't mean a thing when the students are two-faced and snobby and cause my own strong willed daughter to try to commit suicide! I pulled her out immediately and am now going to send her to De Portala or Correia because of this horrible mess they call a school. Don't waste your time on this school.

Grant Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
We just love Grant!! I have 2 daughters in the lower grades& we couldn't be happier to be where we are. We have loved every teacher that we've been blessed with and admire the hard working staff & principal. When you combine those things with a large network of dedicated parents unafraid to get in there and roll their sleeves up, to me, it's a winning combination. The sense of community is remarkable. As are the value-added programs paid for by the very active PTA. Seriously, Grant rocks. Go Geckos!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grant Elementary School
1425 Washington Place, San Diego, CA  92103-1792
(619) 293-4420
Last modified Grant Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grant Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. Top