Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Loma Portal Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 411 students

We will promote an atmosphere that fosters creativity and self-reliance.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

Attending this school is like attending a little private school right in our neighborhood. First, the school itself is almost 100 years old with beautiful architecture. It's tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. I have had a child at Loma Portal for the past 7 years and have watched the test scores improve through the guidance of the principal who is always focused on the children. We live 5 blocks away and have made countless friends in our own neighborhood who would never would have known if our children didn't attend school here. My older children received a great education and are consistently on the honor roll at middle school. The Foundation and PTA put on great events - some just for fun and some to raise funds. The funds raised support things that benefit every child at the school - a computer lab, music program, new PE equipment, shade covers, a wonderful new amphitheater and time with a librarian every week. If you live in Loma Portal's boundaries, don't miss the chance to be part of your own community. If you are able to choice in - you should!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

This school is a little gem in a tight neighborhood. It's the perfect school setting to introduce your child to their primary education years. The staff is dedicated, teachers want to teach there and many have been there for decades. The principal is all about the children and passionate about the kids' safety -- to the point that could offend others. But she is truly a committed asset to the school, serving since 2007. The size of the student body is not too big, or too small at around 400. The amount of neighborhood children has increased so much over the last 8 years that now it is a very hard school to choice into for students outside the school boundaries. It has the highest % of neighborhood kids enrolled at their neighborhood school for the PL Cluster. If you live in the school boundaries, enroll - it's not worth the commute to choice out. Parents and children (including my 4 kids) benefit from the families they have met that live blocks away. For further thought, teachers at Dana Middle have repeatedly pointed out that students from Loma Portal Elementary come to 5th grade the most prepared compared to other feeder schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

Choosing to attend our neighborhood school has been the best decision we have made for our family. We are able to walk to school every day, and have gotten to know all kinds of families in our neighborhood. It has simplified our lives greatly and has given us the gift of time and community-connectedness. Most importantly, though, this sweet school has been so good for my children, who are having a positive, nurturing, safe, and academically strong experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

We absolutely love this school!!! Our daughter has. been at Loma Portal for 2 years now and we couldn't be more pleased with our Neighborhood School. The teachers are phenomenal! Parent involvement is encouraged on so many levels...from participating in the classroom to fundraising. There are so many ways to get involved! We are a military Family and love how many other military families their are in the school. The military kids club is wonderful and a wonderful way for the kids to connect with other military families. The school holds so many fun events throughout the school year for families! We really feel a wonderful connection to our school and community! We wouldn't send our kids anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

We love our local school, Loma Portal Elementary. The principal, teachers, and parent community are amazing. We are so fortunate to have such a great school within walking distance to our house. We would never send our kids anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

When considering Loma Portal, the community aspect is probably #1 in my heart. Invest your time, your money and your children in your community and the payback will be more than worth all of it! I did it, so I would know!! Go Dolphins!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

Both of our children are currently attending Loma Portal Elementary. It is a fantastic school with lots of parent involvement. Both of their teachers are AMAZING. My kids feel challenged and love going to school every day. We feel fortunate to have Loma Portal as our beautiful, neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

We love Loma Portal Elementary, the Teachers and engaging and dynamic. The parent involvement is exceptional we have had nothing but great experiences in the past 5 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

We have two kids at Loma Portal and both are testing off the charts in reading and math. It's all about fantastic teaching at Loma Portal. The teachers have taken extra seminars to prepare for Common Core - paid for by the parent organization. If you care about your child actually LEARNING - Loma Portal is fantastic. Love all the parent friendships I've made over the years, too! So great to walk my kids to school in such a great community. We are so lucky we don't have to choice in - we live here and love LP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

Best school in Point Loma by far! The teachers, staff and parents are really dedicated to learning. I have had children at this school since 2005 and every teacher we've had has been fantastic! I love the Spanish-style architecture and the layout - and a parent is spearheading an ecological school grounds master plan that is really going to transform the outside spaces. There is a LOT of parent involvement, which I love and feel that it shows how much the families care about their kids and the entire student body. I also love the Seminar program for those who test above GATE. The teacher Mrs. Magaudda is amazing. They have a real librarian who dresses up each year in a different theme - fairy princess, pirate, cowboy, etc. and her influence has really made a difference with my children reading every night. In the computer lab the kids are already learning the basics of programming in addition to typing skills and putting together powerpoint presentations. All the fundraising is centered around activities that bring families together . The spring auction is super fun as well as all the PTA/Foundation events throughout the year. Love that people walk to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

I have had children at this school for 6 years. It was our neighborhood school, and when we moved out of the area, we choiced back into the school rather then send them to our new neighborhood school, which was Silvergate, because we were so completely satisfied with the education our children were receiving. There is a lot of support from our community and parents. The school has a lot of fun activities and events for the whole family. The teachers really care and are dedicated professionals. There is a running club in the morning that all three of my kids participated in and LOVED. My oldest two are now at Dana and I have routinely heard that the Loma Portal students are better prepared for Dana because of our awesome 4th grade program, teachers, the computer curriculum, and the overall experience at Loma Portal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

My daughter loved Loma Portal especially her 4th grade teachers. They really inspired her to do her best! They also prepared her for the middle school experience by switching teachers. She was very prepared for Dana Middle School. Our family has made many wonderful friends through our ties with Loma Portal. I am so happy that she attended Loma Portal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

Loma Portal Elementary is a treasure! Fabulous teachers, Warm and friendly community, Involved families, Progressive curriculum with weekly rotations (music, computer lab, PE, and library) Plus a skilled principal who manages it all in times of drastic budgets!! Loma Portal is our neighborhood school - there was NO need to look anywhere else. If you live outside the school boundaries, hurry to get on the list to choice in. This is one of the BEST elementary schools within San Diego Unified!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Our family loves Loma Portal! This is my child's third year here and he loves going to school everyday. Principal Gerde is great! She is very available, approachable, and does what she can to address any concerns. She's here for your kids! There are so many childen/school activites that the kids have so much fun! We offer Everyone a Reader progam to assist with reading challanges. This allows students to excell outside the classroom also.Academics are such a high priority, but so is the idea of family. Loma Portal has a strong sense of community.From the students to the parents. Parent involvement is crucial at any school and our parents are phenominal.There are plenty of opportunities to involve yourselve as little or as much as you want. Our teachers are great and really do put the children first. I'm happy that we chose Loma Portal as our school and look forward to being here for the next 5years and creating so many more fabulous memories!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

I couldn't be happier with Loma Portal. My two kids love coming to school and look forward to it every day. The teachers are wonderful - the lines of communication are always open - and I feel like both my children are thriving. The school puts on so many fun activities for the kids - from Halloween carnivals to variety shows, family dances to spring music festivals - there is always something to look forward to. Academically speaking, I have one child in kindergarten and one child in first grade and I'm amazed with everything they're learning. I'm able to volunteer twice a week in their classrooms and while they're pushed to do their very best, the teachers make learning fun. Kids are also held accountable for their actions and are expected to respectful to each other, their teachers and themselves. Five stars and two thumbs up for Loma Portal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

My son recently went to this school. He went for first grade and 4 months of second grade before I finally had enough! The teachers are just ok, it really depends on which one you get. My son's first grade teacher was a space cadet and this second grade teacher seemed VERY overwhelmed and unpleasant. I had the following issues: the school changed my son's classroom from an all 2nd grade room to a 1st/2nd combined classroom 3 months AFTER school began for the year, without any notice to the parents. The mixed grade classrooms are NOT based on a kids performance but just based on the "numbers". This school is ALWAYS, ALWAYS,ALWAYS asking for money and fundraising. They target the more wealthy parents and push the poorer parents to the side. However the worst thing about this school is undoubtedly Principle Gerde! She is HORRIBLE! She is unprofessional, very confrontational, condescending and that's with parents! I hate to think of how she would treat a child in private. She has anger management issues and is on youtube hitting an individual on school grounds. Think twice because the "8" rating is down from the "9" it use to be. Your child deserves better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

We have been at Loma Portal for 4 years now. The teachers are all fabulous. The principal on the other-hand, is a bipolar nutcase. I have seen her call the police on several parents over what should have been a simple conversation. She is unapprachable and horribly unprofessional. The majority of my friends who started at this school have pulled their kids out and put them in other local schools due to her crazy antics. Sadly I won't be starting my 5 year old there next year with his brother and sister because I can't handle 5 more years of this crazy woman. Several of the parents have withdrawn from the PTA and don't volunteer anymore because she makes everything so complicated. Most of her staff hates her but stay because there is such a shortage of jobs. Many parents have gone to the school board with complaints but she seems to be protected because she has been in the union over 10 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

Loma Portal is a very special place. As both a parent of three LP students and an 18 year LP teacher, I have to say there is no other place I would consider sending my sons, or working. The community support and involvement is amazing, the academic programs are differentiated and appropriately challenging, the staff is innovative and the leadership supportive, the music program is vigorous and joyful, the computer lab and teacher are cutting edge, and our librarian is a true gem! LP's PTA and Foundation support each and every child through both their fund raising efforts and their presence on campus. Where else will you find professional men and women, retirees, and members of our armed forces taking time out of their days to read with children: at Loma Portal as part of LP's Everyone a Reader Program. We are truly blessed to have such a wonderful place to support and teach our children. I've been to many sites and have friends who teach at others, both within and beyond SDUSD, and would not consider sending my sons elsewhere. Our family LOVES LOMA PORTAL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

The August 18th poster is prompting me to write this review. How can you say the classroom was disorganized, yet the teacher was great? A bit contradictory. I toured several Pt. Loma elementary schools when making a Kindergarten decision 2 years ago, and Loma Portal's classrooms made my decision easy. They were by far the most organized, well decorated, and orderly. The teachers are amazing (lots of communication), the students are very respectful to each other and parents/staff, and the atmosphere in and out of the classroom is extremely conducive to a great education. I volunteer in my 2 kids' classrooms 2 days a week and sense the "good vibe" first hand. Parents have many ways to be included/involved. The PTA and foundation provide funds for many extras including a music teacher and computer lab. Parents not friendly??? I have never heard anybody say that about Loma Portal. I went to private school growing up, and this school is better in many ways................
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

I was not impressed with the school when my child attended there. The classroom was disorganized and the parents at the school were not very friendly at all! The teachers, however, were great and really cared about teaching and the kids in their classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

898

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

898

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females71%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females84%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females70%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state31%

Math

All Students71%
Females65%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females90%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females83%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 27%
Hispanic 28% 51%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian 4% 11%
Black 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Science club

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Glenda Gerde
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (619) 224-1352

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Golf

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Dolphin Club
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3341 Browning St.
San Diego, CA 92106
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 223-1683

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Rock Academy
San Diego, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT