Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miramar Ranch Elementary School 2

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
This school has great test scores and is in a beautiful neighborhood. None of that matters though if your kid doesn't want to go to school and is stressed out in Kindergarten. Did they learn a lot quickly in kindergarten, yes, but there was no time for fun. I don't want my child to hate school. Not enough time for lunch or snack, no running on the playground at recess, and kids who are afraid to make mistakes. I felt very unwelcome at the school as a parent except for financial contributions and filing tasks. I don't expect that most of this is unique to this school except that there may be more pressure to get the kids ready to score well on tests.

Miramar Ranch Elementary School 4

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of a kindergartner, this is my first year impression of MRE listed as thumbs up or down: Thumbs up 1. Great parent involvement and many activities for parents to be involved in. 2. Nice campus. 3. Active and engaging principal. 4. Good enrichment classes for arts and science. 5. Really good PE teacher. 6. Strong core of parents who run the FFA. 7. Positive learning environment with some good teachers. 8. Friendly parents and kids. Thumbs down 1. Overcrowded classrooms with one teacher. 30 kids to a class is absurd. 2. Allowing too many kids to "Choice" in or bus in. If the school can't manage a reasonable class size for the neighborhood kids, they should not let kids from outside the neighborhood to attend. This is not a knock against the "Choicers" as they are good kids but rather an unhappiness with policy. 3. Front office staff could be better. One, in particular, is just plain out rude and is lucky to have a job. 4. Miserly ungrateful parents who didn't contribute to the pledge drive. With 710 kids, the pledge drive should have easily raised more than $63,000. Any parent who didn't contribute at least $200 should bow their head in shame.


Miramar Ranch Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
I love this school because it has a great community feel. The teachers, staff and families all have a close relationship and it feels like a big family.

Miramar Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
The moto for this school is "Work Hard, Be Nice" and the students, teachers, administrators, and volunteers all live up to it. The school is a fantastic environment for children to grow with both rigorous academics and plenty of time for the children the move around and play. The school offers science, music, P.E., computer instruction, and art (through a parent-volunteer program) in addition to the regular curriculum. My son is only in first grade now, but I am confident that he will continue to grow and thrive at this school.

Miramar Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Miramar Ranch is a great school with impressive state testing results, good teachers, and a very involved Family Faculty Association that raises money for science, music, art and lots of other programs the district does not provide.


Miramar Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Miramar Ranch is a fabulous school from the teachers to the principal and the volunteers! I've had several kids attend Miramar Ranch and the teachers did a great job preparing them for the next grade as well as middle and high school as far as academics, time management and organization. Our principal is outstanding! She has a fun personality, is great with children and has the respect of the teachers. The volunteers are an amazing part of the school providing lessons in Art Corps, Character Education and choir - creating well rounded children.

Miramar Ranch Elementary School 3

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the reviewer who said that this school could be great but it is not. Parent participation is high. Hey have a great running club that many students arrive early and participate in. The campus is beautiful and the parents are friendly. There are some GREAT teachers at this school and then there are some that should not be teaching. Example would be the kindergarten dept. This is not addressed to all the kindergarten teachers. But my child's teacher never smiles and always looks frustrated with her job. My child does not like her teacher because "she is mean and yells at us." This is my child's first impression of her formal education and this is the best that MRE can do? Also punctuality at this school does not seem to be important either. Longer after the 2nd bell rings there are so many kids leisurely walking to their classrooms. Same faces everyday so obviously the teachers and principal aren't bothered by this.

Miramar Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Miramar Ranch is an outstanding, nurturing place for your child to be. Many of the teachers are highly-experienced and dedicated professionals that combine hands-on learning with high-expectations. Teachers really collaborate across their grade level to make sure they are doing their best to meet the needs of the students. In addition to classroom time, students benefit from library visits, a science lab, a computer lab, art lessons, character education lessons, assemblies, visiting professionals, and field trips. Parent volunteers on campus are a common sight. We have been at the school for seven years and are quite happy.


Miramar Ranch Elementary School 3

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
This school could be excellent-it is good. It does have excellent teachers in each grade level, but getting them is the challenge. Why there are not strong teachers in all rooms at such a great school, I still don't understand that. I have heard teachers that yell- I find that unacceptable! They ask for money for this and for that, help with this and for that all the time, but when you need help for a better placment for your child or share your concerns you get ignored-that is sad to me. You'll find the own teacher's kids to be with the "best felt" teacher's rooms---so good to know. They tend to split up a class in some grade levels every year- I feel better planning could avoid this. They don't seem to feel that is a disruption or area they can fix for the kids. A class change isn't always the right move for every child. The janitor is AWESOME! Friendly and welcoming and knows everyone! Limited field trips is disappointing. Paula in the office is class act! She is a so wonderful! It is a good school it could be MUCH better. It should make families concerns number one and start moving in the right direction.

Miramar Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2012
- a parent
I am extrememly impressed with Miramar Ranch. My son attended for two years (kindergarten & first grade) and the experience has been beyond positive. The community of teachers and parents make this school successful. We are relocating and my son is sad to be leaving Miramar Ranch, as am I.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miramar Ranch Elementary School
10770 Red Cedar Drive, San Diego, CA  92131
(858) 271-0470
Last modified Miramar Ranch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miramar Ranch Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top