Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Taft Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $312,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2012

I have know Taft Middle School for many years. My children have attended this school and all the negative comments are probably made by unhappy students or parents who do not get their way. Academically the school offers an A thru G curriculum. Highly qualified teachers and receptive administration to community and parents. Too many negative people express their unhappiness and not enough positive because they are happy and don't think they need to express concern. This is a great school with community support and very bright future.


Posted March 6, 2012

My son transferred here from a "really good" school a few months ago, and I have to say, I am more than pleased with this school. They have such a low rating and the other school is well over rated! This school does NOT have a bullying issue, and when there was even a concern of that, the teachers were quick to resolve it before it became an "issue." My son went from hating math to it being his favorite subject! Being at the "good" school didn't teach him anything bc the teachers were careless and the principal was not even aware of anything going on. With this school, any concerns you may have, they are quick to get answers and resolve any issues that may arise. The Principal is very nice and he is very involved. All the staff, from office, to cafeteria to the teachers are well involved and very nice. I have recommended this school to other friends as well as strangers and I am proud to say this school deserves a much better rating and this school is one of the best ones I've come across and I hope you give it a try if your looking for a middle school for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2011

There are alot of bulling in this school even if your popular. Also some or most children use innaproiate words. The teachers are great, but some students only about there grades and learning.


Posted April 24, 2011

Since most of these reviews are very old, I am compelled to update the general public. The school currently has an API score of 776 which is a steady increase in test cores over the last several years. The teachers are caring and compassionate...and working harder than most teachers in affluent areas. Yes, as in all schools, there are some discipline problems (which, by the way, stem mostly from the home environment.) If less than 5% of the students can create an entire reputation for a school, then there is something wrong. People may have an opinion about the school and its leadership but, please consider the source of such comments. Our Student of the Month Awards ceremonies fill the library every month and we just had four students win first place at the Science Fair. There are some fantastic things happening...come to the school to visit and judge for yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2010

Oh my. This school is ... ugh. Some of the people you meet here are great, and I've made great friends throughout my 2 1/2 years (just recently switched) But it is very unsafe at times. (weed? comeon now . )
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

Just less then a month of school left. I am so happy. This school is horrible, yes some of the teacher are great....but the lack of leadership here, is un-de scrib a ble. I have required some informations from the school and some of the staff here wouldn't know what end of a stump is if they were to see one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I have had nothing but problems with this school. There are several teachers there that have been great, but as far as the leadership and safety in the school I am certainly disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

The school is in the fifth year of the program improvement and has still not made any progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

Adivisory is nice because a lot of people need to build their character that's what we do in advisory. We are also working on how to be optimistic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2005

The schgool is good and has an excellent after school program but it lacks in the education programs compared to other schools in San Diego.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

I feel this school needs a lot of improvement, teachers need to take control. Problem children should not be allowed to stay in class they should be sent to the office. I feel the school also needs to communicate with the parents more often. My daughter did her state testing and scored 98 % way above her 7 th grade level, yet failded in all of her class. Now there seems to be a problem with this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

I feel that Taft is in need of a leader not a follower. The staff is afraid to grade students on what they do, because it may hurt their feelings. They have teachers that obviously do not want to teach certain subjects but have to fill in. Grand parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

Great school for military families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 6, 2005

this school is okay. its not so bad...counselers need to pay more attention to children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

I have been very dissappointed with the school. There is no music art or sports at this school. they have one choir class that has 10 students. there is also NO extracurricular activities. I am not sure what parental involvement is if there is any.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2005

I have been very dissappointed with the school. There is no music art or sports at this school. they have one choir class that has 10 students. there is also NO extracurricular activities. I am not sure what parental involvement is if there is any.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2004

It seams to me that they focus on the 6th and 7th grades. When they get in 8th grade they are forgotten. I understand they maybe getting them ready for high school, but their grades go down hill, and the support for the student, and parent is terrible. My child has been struggling since the first report card. I have asked for after school programs, Saturday school. I have sent notes to the teacher, no reply. They also hire subs to teach a class for almost a entire year, who is not even qualified to teach that class. I am very unhappy with this school. Now I understand why it is a No Child Left Behind School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

This school is a big diappointment this year, 2003-2004. The drugs, alcohol, gangs and violence are among some of the problems at Taft. The serious issue I have with Taft is the teachers that my child have, 'Do not care about their students!' My son went to this school last year and excelled. This year has left a sore taste in my mouth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2003

I am a student i go to taft and it's a wonderful school. i love it. i don't see how i am going to be able to leave it. i will miss it so much but this is the best school ever!


Posted September 30, 2003

The school is wonderful. After my divorce I moved with my sons from Delaware (Where the education system is awful and my oldest failed 6th grade and was failing it yet again) to San Diego where my oldest started at Taft. The school helped to turn his life around. He had fantastic teachers who reached out to him and it worked. In high school now he is a A/B student, on football, track, ROTC, Upward Bound, The School Paper, and the list goes on. Now my youngest son is in Taft and I am so happy with how the school is handling his education also. Thank you Taft for making a difference in my sons' lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

774

Change from
2012 to 2013

-12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

774

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
96%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
28%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
55%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females71%
Males61%
African American56%
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability63%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students38%
Females32%
Males43%
African American28%
Asian44%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented65%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students88%
Females100%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females71%
Males56%
African American58%
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability30%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females65%
Males55%
African American59%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability22%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students31%
Females30%
Males32%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented67%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate26%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduate48%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females57%
Males39%
African American45%
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state26%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students59%
Females67%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students34%
Females27%
Males39%
African American26%
Asian45%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability37%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state23%

Science

All Students46%
Females38%
Males53%
African American43%
Asian63%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate57%
Parent education - declined to state26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 38%
Black 18%
White 18%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
English language learners 15%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joel Spengler
Fax number
  • (858) 496-8138

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9191 Gramercy Drive
San Diego, CA 92123
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 496-8245

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Endeavour Academy
San Diego, CA


St. Columba
San Diego, CA


Pacific Mesa School
San Diego, CA


Grace Christian
San Diego, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT