Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Augustine High School

Private | 9-12 | 727 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $253,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2014

My only experience has been in the application process at Saint's. It was an extremely brief paper to complete which included demographic information and current school of attendance. We then received an email encouraging us (and all other prospective students) a chance to pay $50 to come play football for a Saturday afternoon so the coaches could get an idea of their talent. The interview at Saint's consisted of a 10 minute conversation with the football coach. There was never any information asked about my son as a person, his educational talents or his extracurricular activities. When comparing their average SAT scores to those of other private high schools I looked at, Saint scores were significantly lower. Saint's may be a great school, but the heavy recruiting of football players left a foul taste in my mouth. No thanks Saint's....I'm opting for a place that cares about things other than football.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

Best high school in San Diego County. Everyone top to bottom cares deeply about boys education. There place for every boy who can handle a rigorous curriculum. They enter as boys and leave as well educated gentlemen. My son LOVED the "Saints" experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

As a former alumnus, I am proud to say the tradition embeded in this institution is something I've only seen experienced by private/boarding school students from the East Coast. Having been 3rd generation to go through the halls, it meant a lot to represent such a fine school in all possible aspects. The Staff are always a cut above the rest, having prepared me very well for college, and the standards in extracurriculars are well above average. I would recommend this fine school to any person who desires an experience like a big 4 year university, in a small hs setting.


Posted September 16, 2009

A wonderful all-around school. Strong academics, varied activities for all interests, great athletics, incredible school spirit and community.


Posted August 20, 2008

My oldest son just graduated from Saints and my other son is an incoming junior. Many of my male family members (including my father) went here. This is an OUTSTANDING SCHOOL! For many years, 100% of the students graduate to college. How many public schools can say that? The school understands boys and how to teach to them. It is an all-boys school but this means that there is no distraction (from girls) on a day-to-day basis for the boys but the school is very involved with the all-girls high school close by, Our Lady of Peace. Both my boys have not only received an outstanding academic education, but the school reinforces the morals, values and ethics we teach at home. Even though my husband is not Catholic, he is the biggest fan of Saints. As parents, this was the absolute best decision we ever made! Terri P.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

Our son is a current student at the school. and we are very happy with the way he is turning out. The school truly 'gets' the need for an excellent academic program as well as the necessity for excellence in athletics. Case in point: many of the student athletes have GPAs 3.0 and above. There is something for everyone at the school. The families are a wonderful mixture of various cultures and backgrounds from throughout the county. You cannot go wrong with this school. It stands heads above both private and public schools where drugs are readily available and dominate the social scene.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

It's amazing that people can say that Saints has a high teacher turnover rate, when most of the teachers have been at the school almost 10 years, some having taught at the school for upwards of 40 years. In regard to an all male environment, Saints has had a long standing, close relationship with OLP, and the atmosphere on campus only fosters a close brotherhood among students. It's not as if you didn't know it was an all guys school when you enrolled your son!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

This is one of the greatest High school programs available and it is worth every penny. The demanding academics curriculum transforms the students into very responsible and capable men. The arts and sports programs are also excellent at any competitive level. The catholic fundamentals are very visible in the way they conduct themselves in their community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

Great school, great atmosphere, great community, everything is centered around the students, everybody wants to student to succed in school and in life, and after academics, the next point that the school enforces is extracurricular activities, as good and helpful to the student to become competent young men. And always the school wants and trys to involve parents to encourage their student to succed in all of their endevors. I loved going there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

It is a great school with great academic courses
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

I graduated from Saints two years ago, and although I am not a parent , I can safely say that I would not trade my four years at Saints for anything in the world. It is truly a place where leadership can be easily cemented in your child, and it will leave your son with an immense number of gratifying experiences. There is simply nothing like it. Parents, if you have an opportunity to send you son to Saints, do it, do it, do it! Your young boy will come out of St. Augustine High School as a man, a real man, a Saintsman.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 1, 2005

I cannot begin to say how much this school has done for my Son's development as a young man. He is a high achieving honors student who could have attended a number of public and private schools. We selected this school for the religious affiliation, and the fact that they 'get' boys. They understand how teenage boys ;earn and do an excellent job of teaching to them. The staff is Top notch, parents are amazing and wonderfully supportive. It is our extended family in every way. I cannot recommend this school enough. In todays world they are preparing men of Faith, Character, and honor. These ill be tomorrows leaders. Ethical, Compassionate, and educated men.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

Excellent experience, my son is a sophmore, his brothers are alum, they really have something special that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Terrific school. A real brotherhood in a world that is quite unstable. The School is very competitive in sports and academics. Just drive by a public school look at the dress code the morals of the students hanging outside smoking cigarettes. The G.P.A. standards. There is a mix of cultures at Saints which is truly needed. Tuition aid for those that are less fortunate. Three generation family of Saints and proud of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This school is worth every dime parents pay! My son has been there for 2 years and it has been a very positive experience. Teachers, staff and administrators show a sincere interest in each student. They welcome parents and have been extremely accomodating to any of our requests. The spirit of the school is fantastic. I don't know of a student that doesn't want to be there. All boys is so much less distracting than coed, and they see plenty of girls week-ends and at all sporting/social events. My son has more than enough contact with girls. Saints partners with OLP girl's school for many sport teams, drama, social and club activities. Guys really have more fun, are more relaxed, and much more focused on academics without girls all day. The students definitely enter as boys and graduate as men very prepared for this world of men and women! I have seen so many grads and know so many people here at Saints that are just outstanding human beings. There are no shortage of applicants for this school, they have a long waiting list of applicants. An academically challenging, displined but loving enviroment, and Catholic All-Boy school is not for everyone, so if you don't want that go else where. Not everyone can be a Saintsman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2003

Parents beware! The public schools are better. You will waste your money. My son has gone there for the last three years and besides the high teacher turn-over there are some problems with an all male school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 26%
Two or more races 28% 3%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Edwin Hearn
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3266 Nutmeg Street
San Diego, CA 92104
Phone: (619) 282-2184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Aseltine School
San Diego, CA


Garfield High School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT