Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Sacred Heart

Private | K-8 | 137 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $170,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

My kids have been at OLSH since pre-school and I love everything about this school. The staff has dedication and love for the kids. Students are encouraged to take risks and get out of their comfort zone. They have sports like basketball, soccer and volleyball. Students who are in choir will get to sing during the school masses.They all participate in a yearly play and this school has taken home the Religion Medal in the 2014 Decathlon. In terms of Academics each student is evaluated and given the appropriate curriculum. Since the school is Catholic faith based your children will not only learn about God they will learn about love, compassion, humility, justice, peace, prayer, service and to have a personal relationship with Jesus. At OLSH you feel like you are part of a big family. What's missing at OLSH is funding due to low-enrollment and I think it's based on the location but nonetheless, it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

This school has focused little on CST testing which is vital to future high-schoolers education. The education and expertise they offer is in no way compared to a traditional middle school, There are few classes and most of the middle school teachers are under-qualified. If you want your student to get a good education, I recommend another school. The don't have any band or art. There are only a few extra curricular courses offered. Though the staff members are amazing, looking at a broad spectrum this is not enough to get your child into an amazing school, future-wise. This school will bring you closer to God.


Posted November 10, 2011

teachers are excellent, staff are very nice and helpful. teachers as much about passion as it is about reason. It's about not only motivating students to learn, but teaching them how to learn, and doing so in a manner that is relevant, meaningful, and memorable. It's about caring for your craft, having a passion for it, and conveying that passion to everyone, most importantly to your students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

my kids are attending this school for 2 years. teachers are nice and well taking care of the kid, staff very friendly and helpful. they are willing to help you when you need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

I was a student at this school a couple years ago, and the staff is great. The school make sure you are good. But, whats not very right is that it cost quite some money and when you can't afford they lower it down by making the parents of the student that doesnt have they money clean up classrooms and more. Like a janitor. But I dont know if the school still does that it was a long time ago.


Posted March 4, 2010

The staff is extremly caring and friendly....all three of my children attended this school with no problems. They bent over backwards to help me out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2009

This school is amazing. I went here got my education and everyone is friendly and nice.The school may be small but it is a safety environment to be in. I went here for 3 years and now my sister is attending this school and she loves it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

This will be my son's second year at this school and I can't wait to get him out of it. They are incrediably disorganized and spend exorbitant amounts of money on things that are not dire to a child's education. While expecting the parents to raise huge amounts of money, on top of what they pay in tuition. They spent thousands on a series of books that are not essential to furthur a child's education. I put my son in this school for him to get an education. It has after hours care which I really need, and it is close to home. Those were my main reasons for putting him in this school. It being religious was not a priority for me. I will be respectful of what they do, but I do not like them trying to tell me what I should be doing in my own home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

The teacher and staff community is very friendly, flexible, caring and family-oriented. We all care about helping each student reach their spiritual and physical potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 33% 11%
Two or more races 18% 3%
White 1% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rev. Duong Nguyen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4106 42nd Street
San Diego, CA 92105
Phone: (619) 284-1715

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT